Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gallaher (Robert S.) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Great School.Teachers are very kind and helpful. Overall I am very much pleased.Overall very much happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I am very happy with Gallaher.My daughter has been doing great in the school.They always helped her to improve where she lags.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2012

Gallaher has been absolutely fantastic with our autistic daughter. After a year of regression in a "special" school with the Christina School District we felt hesitant about yet another school. The staff at Gallaher has made it their business to know our child and the IEP she has is literally the "Bible" as far as her educational program is concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

This school has frequent staff turn over. Which is always a problem indicator in any school. A school is only as good as the supports for all students and documented actual progress. They lack support for children with iep's in addition to classroom support for teachers. If your child is an average learner, they will do OK, standard researched based programs that, "Anyone can teach, based on the scriptured nature of the program", Haha. Expectations for LD children and children from poverty are low and not alotted instruction that is taught effectively. Your child will be aged out of the school system without being prepared for society or to thier ability. If your child needs support other than a typical learner beware..no expectations or low expectations, support varies with teacher. Not a school that is fair to all children, which is the bases of NCLB. They teach to the test, which is the explaination for the blue ribbon award. To a concerned teacher or parent, recommend going to the Brandywine school district special PTA website, read the article about low preforming schools that embraced NCLB. Inspiring. Good Luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

I am very pleased with Gallaher. My child's teachers have been wonderful in helping her learn and develop. They have always seen the best in her and worked to help her improve where she needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Gallaher is the hidden jewel of DE. Though my kid is now in 7th grade in a so-called "superior" school district, IMO there's no better school here than Gallaher. Their test scores are always among the highest in the state. They were 1 of 4 DE schools to receive 2010 National Blue Ribbon Award. I got to know many teachers though volunteerism; they had an excellent and caring staff. (Only 2 I didn't care for, out of maybe 100?) Strong enforcement of their "PAWS" program (Practice problem-solving, Act responsibly, Win respect, Show kindness). Staff very much respects the tremendous parental involvement here. Though they've lost some wonderful staff (due to retirement or career opportunities), I still feel so strongly about the excellence of this school that when I ran across this site, I HAD to brag about Gallaher. LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I love Gallaher Elementary. I currently have two children attending the school. My daughter is in the third grade and she is soaring like an "Iron Butterfly". My son is in the fifth grade and he has an IEP and is doing a wonderful job. The school has made all the necessary arrangements to help my son, and as a parent it is necessary to make sure I do my part as well. As a parent I will always advocate for my children because they are the future. Adriane Anderson-Strange
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

I love it! The school has always been one of the highest on testing scores. The physical education teacher is creative and energetic. Academics are #1 priority in the school. Carrie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

This is a good school over all. The parent/teacher involvement is very good. I have had two daughters attend this school and also myself when I was young. However, they do not follow the 'no child left behind' rule, I think this is an area they should highly improve. I was told by her 1st grade teacher that my daugher would be held back if she did not get tutoring and that I would have to pay for it. I was also told that even though she was failing she did not qualify for their after school/summer programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

I love Gallaher! I had a problem with my son's teacher for in the beginning of the 2003-2004 school year. I spoke to the principal, he was transferrred to two wonderful teachers! My son did an excellent job on the DSTP! My son is no angel, but the teachers he has had, have really worked very hard with me to keep him on track!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

I love this school. My daughter has been attending this school for four years and has been successful every year. She has a hearing problem that all the teachers are aware of and have been so helpful in her success. She has rated well above the state and national test levels every year. I credit this to all the hard work her teachers have given her(also the hard work we do at home). I would like to also say that the school is very organized. They have alot of family nights and exibits that allow thte children to feel pride toward they're hard work. I have had a conference with the principal and found her to be very helpful. She is a very qualified person to leave in charge of your children. Teri Capuano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

This is the best elementary school in Newark. Focused on academic excellence, safe-loving and nourishing environment, wonderful team of teachers and support staff for all the kids. My daughter loves to go there. She will be graduating this year and very proud of her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter loves this school and I love this school also. They reallly take time out for the kids and I am going to send my 5 year old to this school this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

Well, I have three little ones who attend here, and they love it and I love it! The techers are great, the new principal is just okay, although I highly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female78%
Male67%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status64%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I71%
Special edn/a
Regular ed76%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male83%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I79%
Special edn/a
Regular ed83%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Female66%
Male56%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status59%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title I62%
Special edn/a
Regular ed70%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male66%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status62%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title I69%
Special edn/a
Regular ed77%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English70%

Social Studies

All Students63%
Female68%
Male56%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status57%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I63%
Special edn/a
Regular ed71%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Female88%
Male68%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title I79%
Special edn/a
Regular ed85%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students68%
Female74%
Male61%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status66%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title I68%
Special edn/a
Regular ed76%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English69%

Science

All Students55%
Female60%
Male49%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status50%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title I55%
Special edn/a
Regular ed61%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 39% 50%
Black 1 34% 32%
Hispanic 2 19% 13%
Two or more races 1 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lee, Jacqueline A.
Fax number
  • (302) 454-3484

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 North Brownleaf Road
Newark, DE 19713
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 454-2464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT