Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 4

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
My Daughter has been there since they opened and she enjoys it very much. They have many extra curricular activities like band, athletics and clubs. The teachers are better than most of Christina School District (which isn't hard). There have been growing pains, and the class sizes are a bit too large per teacher. They are big on common core for the state of DE. We are not sure about that curriculum, but I am sure the competent teachers there will do their best to make sure the students learn and comprehend. The PTO is awesome and many parents are involved.

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
This is my son's first year in this school, so far I love it. All the staff is wonderful .

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 4

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of an ASPIRANTE since the inception, I can attest to the phenomenal growth of this school. I am very impressed with the curriculum and activities offered which include but are not limited to; QUEST, band/choir, athletics, Chinese lessons, boy scouts, Girls on the Run and a plethora of clubs that are available to the students by their choosing, these vary by the grade level and can include the Lego and chess club, the game show club and even yoga! This helps cultivate well rounded pupils! School's trademark is that it is a bilingual & college prep curriculum. I wish English speaking parents were given more opportunities build our own literacy in Spanish as well - so we can also be more involved in working with the students in their immersion process. Multiple subjects, including math come home in Spanish. My biggest qualm is that some teachers are young and new grads but they are very easy to work with. Just like many of the previous reviewers, this school is very family oriented. You will soon learn many folks by name and they will know you also. The school really encourages parental involvement, & the school's administration team is awesome.

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 4

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
I would definately recommend this school for anyone looking for a friendly atmosphere where the kids enjoy learning. My son is currently in 1st grade and I am excited for my other son to begin kindergarten next year!

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
Aspira is an amazing, inspiring place to learn!! I have 2 munchkins, 1st and 4th grades, and they are quickly becoming bilingual in addition to being challenged in all academic areas. So pleased with the faculty and staff - can't say enough good things!!!!!

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
My son is starting his fourth year(K-3) at LAAA and my daughter is starting her first. Our family is very lucky to have found this GREAT SCHOOL! There is a sense of community and I feel that my children are being challenged by this great group of educators!

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
The faculty, leaders and parents are thoroughly committed to the success of this school. The curriculum is rigorous and challenging and it has fostered an environment where teamwork and collaboration are critical to it's continued success. My children love Aspira!

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a teacher
Excellent school and great place to work! I wish this school was available to me when I was attending school! :)

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a teacher
This school is a caring community with a focus on excellence and children as a whole. The families, staff, students, and instruction are all great and it's such a fun place to be!

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely love the faculty, staff and school "family". Everyone truely cares and is passionate about this school and it's quality education. They are definitely the leaders of the pack when it comes to a model for education. The immersion program is absolutely amazing to see in progress and the results are astounding. We feel so lucky to be a apart of LAAA and can't wait to see what the future holds for this fabulous school and community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Las Americas ASPIRA Academy
326 Ruthar Drive, Newark, DE  19711
(302) 292-1463
Last modified Las Americas ASPIRA Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Las Americas ASPIRA Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top