Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concord High School

Public | 9-12 | 1099 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2010

I really love this school. The teachers are great and so are the courses, I wouldn't want my high school educuation from anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2009

I've worked at Concord for 5 years now and it is truly a special school. The staff are dedicated professionals who care about the students in their classes. The school promotes an atmosphere of 'family' in everything we do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2008

I am a former student and overall I enjoyed my time at this high school. The courses were as challenging as they could be with consideration to the fact that many students were there to pass, rather than learn. There are not many options in regards to Foreign Language...when I graduated in 2007, only Spanish and Italian were available.


Posted October 13, 2006

Parent of a former student and a former teacher. The core subject teachers are very good if going to college. The electives are ok for the top students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Concord high is one of the best public schools in the state of Delaware. I went to concord high and it was most outstanding four years of my life. I always will remember Mr. Harvy too for staying on our heads and I respect that. I give concord high 5 stars and I will also love concord.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2005

I attended several years ago. A solid school, and honors level classes provide plenty of growth opportunity for top students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 29, 2005

The money for the rennovations was ruined by the state's 'lowest bidder' system. None of the clocks match and random sounds come from the speaker system at times due to the 'quality' bell system. The principal is not very involved. The school is made to have a silver lining through good atheletic programs. The auditorium being called a theatre, and the word for the year has been 'flexibility' for the last three years-Currently a junior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2005

I have two children in Concord, and I am very pleased with the school. Academics are very strong, and a wide variety of extracurriculars (band, sports, vocal, drama, etc...) are available. An excellent overall school with a good record of safety, a good mix of student peers, and a very nice 'personality'. I would rank Concord among the best two or three schools in northern Delaware. (Any rumors you might have heard about Delaware public schools do not apply to Concord. Visit it and see for yourself.) When we moved into this area we used the GreatSchools information to select a school. We chose Concord, and have been very pleased with our selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

man concord is awesome i love it. i'm currantly a junior and man its great... the rennovations werent that great other than the auditorium. i love that thing. great sound and lighting board. a fly system and an awesome curtain... obviously you're hearing this from a drama nerd but oh well.. and the music department is great but after my class graduates there will be no more music department 75% of the marching band is juniors that cuz we rock the socks but its also really sad. same with drama after my class there is no more drama department. so if your kids are involved in music or drama please please please send them to concord we need them.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female74%
Male69%
African American48%
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Other race82%
Low socioeconomic status53%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Special ed15%
Regular ed78%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students68%
Female70%
Male67%
African American45%
Asian>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Other race91%
Low socioeconomic status54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title In/a
Special ed10%
Regular ed75%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female82%
Male73%
African American58%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Other race86%
Low socioeconomic status56%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title In/a
Special ed18%
Regular ed81%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students64%
Female65%
Male64%
African American47%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Other race81%
Low socioeconomic status37%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title In/a
Special ed11%
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students39%
Female41%
Male38%
African American23%
Asian40%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Other race47%
Low socioeconomic status24%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed41%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 59% 50%
Black 1 31% 32%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 6% 3%
Hispanic 2 3% 13%
Two or more races 2 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lambert, Ann
Fax number
  • (302) 529-3094

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 Ebright Road
Wilmington, DE 19810
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 475-3951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brandywine High School
Wilmington, DE



Archmere Academy
Claymont, DE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT