Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
Yes, students and staff are vet friendly toward one another. The teachers model respect and the students show mutual respect.

Forwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
Students are in inclusive classrooms with regular and special education students. All students treat one another with mutual respect.

Forwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
The school has a positive behavior support program that reduces discipline by reinforcing and rewarding positive behavior. The culture of the school is warm and welcoming.

Forwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
The staff is friendly and knowledgeable! Want a great neighborhood school? This is the place!

Forwood Elementary School 2

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
This is the school that made my son hate school. Years later in the appo school district, and we are still undoing the damage forwood did. Forwood doesnt allow the kids to move or burn energy throughout the winter and then the staff complain about how many hyperactive kids they have (recess is sit quietly and draw time if the weather is anything but perfect). The staff wouldn't tell us about the problems with our son or respond to our emails asking how things were going until situations reached crisis level. Then we'd get called in and they would "diagnose" him with any number of SEVERE mental disorders including borderline personality disorder!!! (Hint: they're grade school teachers, not psychiatrists. The professionals were appalled the teachers would even dare suggest such a diagnosis!) Absolutely awful school for my child. It was a cyle that repeated EVERY year that we were there. We moved to appo, and my son has flourished in comparison and almost likes school again. All the "forwood issues" we had just ceased to exist. I always blamed myself for the troubles he had in elementary school. But the night and day difference between our experience at forwood and cedar lane convinced me the school had a lot to do with it. Basically if your child isn't low energy and naturally subservient, this school won't know how to handle them and will do a terrible job educating them. Even if you know your child can be a handful and try to stay involved, they'll cut you out of the process as much as possible while they mishandle the situation as badly as they can muster. The staff was childish and rude when confronted about their refusal to respond to our emails and the principal was condescending and angry the few times I spoke to her. I remember asking myself why someone who didn't seem to like kids would be a principal at an elementary school. I really don't understand the positive reviews here. I guess everyone's experience is different. Ours was definitely not a good one.

Forwood Elementary School 5

Posted December 21, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Forwood for the past 3 years. It is such a wonderful place! As a teacher myself - I tend to be picky about the education of my own kids. She is consistently challenged and encouraged to succeed! Keep up the good work!!!

Forwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. Both my kids go to it and the teachers and staff are wonderful.

Forwood Elementary School 4

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
Forwood is a fabulous true neighborhood school! My children have attended for the past 5 years and have experienced many wonderful teachers. Most of their experiences have been positive, but there is always some room for improvement. You will have good and bad teachers in whatever school your child may go to. However, I feel that parents are extremely involved and heard when it comes to the decisions in their child's education. Great school!

Forwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
We have only had a student attending Forwood for going on 2 years, but we are very happy with teachers, administration, and support staff. The atmosphere is positive and nurturing and I am pleased how engaged my student is. GREAT school!!

Forwood Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
I have been a Forwood parent for the past 7 years. My children truly enjoy attending school here. I feel that we are very lucky and have some exceptional teachers who always go out of their way to help the kids. Our administrative staff is wonderful as well and although they may not be perfect (no one is), they seem to get better every year. My kids have gotten involved in different activities that are offered after school and enjoyed them. I feel that we are a wonderful school community and I'm proud to send my kids here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Forwood Elementary School
1900 Westminster Drive, Wilmington, DE  19810
(302) 475-3956
Last modified Forwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Forwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top