Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calloway (Cab) School Of The Arts

Public | 6-12 | 919 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2013

Great Schoool. Fun loving children all highly motivated. Excellent teachers and administrators. Leads the way on how public schools can have both great teachers and motivated students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

great school all around. Hands down to the principal and the building chief working together to appeal children from all over the state. the staff members are super friendly and the kids at cab and charter are amazing, extreemly respectfull and mature for thier age. The chief operator over there does alot to keep the building clean and safe for the children. I wouldnt even question sending my child to cab calloway or charter for middle and senior high school. I personally have seen what its like at other public schools and this one is far different and one of a kind. keep up the great work!


Posted November 9, 2011

I have a daughter who attends this school. The academics in the school is outstanding. They have a very nice way to impart education, and it is working. My child's vocabulary has improved tremendously. The teachers are more goal oriented and do give a lot of leg room for assignments including accepting them for late evaluation , without being excessively penalizing about it. No problem about bullying or other non sense that happens in many schools. Good children very motivated to learn. They do place you in an appropriate learning group to complement your interests. No doubt that they have the best art program in the state but do not be fooled by its title as an art school. They share the same building with another great school, charter school of wilmington and they do a lot of co-ordinated programs together, including band and sports. Cab and charter compliment each other with their great programs and the students benefit from the great talent of teachers and students. Cafeteria offers wide menu including vegan and vegetarian for the palate . Admission to the school is restricted by audition to 2 art form and hence they are selective in who gets admitted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

I attended Cab Calloway from 6th grade until my senior year of high school, and I can honestly say it's a wonderful place. The education that I received there really helped to prepare me for college. The school offers a good amount of AP classes with very knowledgeable and helpful teachers. The last reviewer pointed out that some of the teachers are "boring and uninspiring," but you will find that at any school, and likely in greater numbers elsewhere. I had a lot excellent and passionate teachers at Cab, many of whom I still visit today, two years after graduating. It's a really fabulous school with smart and talented kids (and great DSTP scores) and I would definitely recommend it to anyone with a serious interest in the arts and education.


Posted April 14, 2010

I must disagree with many of the reviewers here. My son is in 9th grade, his first year at Cab, having been in private school until now. He is extremely happy at Cab, but his grades have been erratic--classes he should have no problem with, he simply finds the teachers boring and uninspiring. They can't seem to bring their subject matter to life enough to make him care to do much work. These classes are very large and while teachers claim to make themselves available, the limitations they impose on that availability make their claims no more than lip service. My son is involved in performing arts, and while it's wonderful he gets to practice his art every day, in reality the productions and the talent in this school are sadly no greater than in any other public school. The building, in spite of all the upgrades, is depressing and ugly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

I am in 8th grade here at Cab.I knew the second I walked in my first day that this is where I wanted to be. The academics are great, with very helpful teachers everywhere, and even helpful students.You will hear every statment imagineable about Cab, and mine is that it is the best place ever.Help is always given when asked for, and the programs are top-notch. The best part about Cab is the social acceptance. You can be yourself here and no one will be mean to you. If someone is, they get labeled as a jerk and they get made fun of instead, for being mean. Anyone who says this isn't the place to be obviously doesn't belong here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2009

Cab Calloway Middle is a great school to learn more about an art subject that you wouldn't normally learn about in a regular school. The discipline, safety, and behavior is enforced by the principal, teachers, and other staff members at all times. It is a fun school with lots of activites and great teachers. I recommend this school to anyone and everyone with a love for learning!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

i was just thinking of sending my child here and it sounds like an exclent schoo!!!!


Posted August 13, 2009

I have twins entering 8th grade. I have to say the same as most. Awesome school. Can any mom of girls say their daughters never came home with a problem from school. I can. So far so good. I keep waiting for the issues that girls can have in school to show up. But we've never had a problem here. The teachers are awesome. One problem was with social studies, my daughter didn't think she was learning anything, however when we do trivia or game questions, she seems to know an aweful lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

this school is awesome you can be who you wanna be here
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

My daughter is a 6th grader at CAB - and she loves it! I thought being in a big school would be too much for her to handle (since she came from a very small elementary school in Middletown), but she has blossomed so much. Switching class, using a locker, her rotating schedule - all has helped her develop a since of responsibility. Since starting at CAB she has become more out going. CAB allows the students to be themselves and not be ashamed. The students can express their love for music, dance, drama, art, and band, etc. without being ridiculed. At CAB students also excel in Math and Science without feeling ashamed of being smart - and having the fear of being labeled a Geek / Nerd . My daughter loves learning and CAB nourishes her quest for knowledge daily. I am a true believer that Studying varies Art Field challenges the students on a level that in a regular setting they would not be challenged. She has always been a shy child but CAB pushes her to step out the box. My daughter is doing wonderful (All A s 3rd MP). The teachers are great; you can reach them ALL the time. I consider myself blessed to have such a wonderful group of people helping me mold and shape my beautiful and brilliant daughter s future. Thank You CAB Staff and Teachers. Submitted by a Very Pleased Parent 4/20/2008!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

I love it here. Mr. Mazz is very nice. The only con is that there are so many annoying girls in this school. I try no to lose my head.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

im a new 6th grader and i absolutely love it here!!! when you start at cab everyone is so down to earth and warm!!! i reccomend sending your child here, you wont regret it!!! the teachers challenge you, and teach in awesome ways!!! thank you and apply your kid here ASAP!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

As the parent of an 8th grader who is in her third year at Cab, I am very pleased. The teachers are very caring and willing to work with parents. Communication is wonderful! I can email a teacher and they reply quickly. We are looking forward to High School at Cab.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

My daughter loves this school. She is academically gifted and has managed to get challenging courses. Of course the arts are what really shine and I am glad my daughter can spend time every day singing and drawing. The teachers all seem to be happy they are teaching there and not somewhere else. The students all have a sense of school pride and spirit. I whole heartedly recommend the school with two caveats: one, they could improve the discipline and two, they could improve the parent/school communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

'Fun and exciting while educational as well!' Cab Calloway is the school for children who have a talent in the arts. I am an 8th grader at Cab currently. I personally very happy with teachers and happy spirited kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

We are very pleased with Cab in all aspects, from the creative teaching to the support giving to the students it is an excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

My daughter is a rising seventh grader in the CCSA middle school. Her sixth grade year was excellent in many respects. Having arts as an integral part of the curriculum and the overall school environment is a great fit for her interests and abilities. CCSA is also very strong academically. As a talented math student she was well challenged by being able to take pre-algebra. Since CCSA is a magnet school, all of the kids are there because the want to be. Along with solid behavioral expectations that are enforced compassionately, this results in far fewer behavior problems and thus a more positive learning environment. The sixth grade teaching staff is uniformly solid, and most are well-loved by the kids. I expect that her seventh grade experience will be no less positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

I currently attend Cab Calloway School of the Arts as Freshman. I have attended Cab Calloway since 6th grade. This is a flat out amazing school. The best teachers, principal, etc. At Cab Calloway everyone's like a big family, and everyone gets along. All the students at Cab Calloway are honors, and are very talented. The students who are not honored students are one's who slack off, because the teachers at Cab care so much about the children that it's unbelievable especially the middle school teachers. If you are a Vocalist, Dancer, Musician, etc. I would recommend Cab Calloway School of the Arts the place for you to go, and this is coming from a Carnegie Hall performer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2006

When I decided to come to Cab in the 7th grade (now I am currently in 9th at Cab), I was overjoyed about how much my life changed. The teachers were great and the students even better. Due to this, a comment that a parent made about her student's experinced surprised me. All the 7th grade classes are in one hallway (except science) and the notice the parent should have asked to to see the students tests and such. Also, Mr.Edwards requires a signature from parents on a sheet with test grades, therefore it's not the teacher's fault. It's the student's and parents' own fault. The teacher can't always be there to hold the child's hand through life. Most middleschool teachers only teach one highschool class, which trust me, isn't much harder than teaching rambunctious middleschoolers going through puberty all at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
African American86%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Other race>=95%
Low socioeconomic status83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed93%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
African American82%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Other race91%
Low socioeconomic status71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed88%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male93%
African American91%
Asian>=95%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Other race>=95%
Low socioeconomic status91%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed>=95%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
African American82%
Asian>=95%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Other race>=95%
Low socioeconomic status76%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed87%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English86%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female85%
Male70%
African American60%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Other race95%
Low socioeconomic status54%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed81%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female92%
Male95%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status79%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed94%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male81%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status67%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed81%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students68%
Female66%
Male74%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status45%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
African American>=95%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status94%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed>=95%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English>=95%

Math

All Students93%
Female95%
Male88%
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed95%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female88%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed92%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed93%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students77%
Female75%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status75%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed79%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 69% 50%
Black 2 16% 32%
Hispanic 1 8% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Two or more races 1 0% 2%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Ranked 2nd in State based on State testing (2008)
  • Ranked 3rd in State - Delaware Today, 2009 (2009)
  • Top 1200 Schools Nationally - Newsweek Magazine (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:25 pm
School Leader's name
Fax number
  • (302) 425-4594

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Our parents are involved in a multitude of ways. they participate actively in their students' education. they volunteer countless hours toward assistance with set building, costume, makeup and set/lighting design for major productions, supervision of students for evening events; after prom coordination, teacher appreciation activities; chaperones for various activities, field trip support; athletic boosters, band boosters, theatre boosters, and an active ptso to name a few. there are so many ways to be involved! we welcome and encourage parent participation; this is a critical component to the success of our students and school programs.
More from this school
  • The school environment is one that welcomes students from all walks of life. One of the greatest assets of our school is the camaraderie between students, the acceptance and welcoming of diversity, and the strong relationship between students, staff members, and families.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Delaware
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 North Dupont Road
Wilmington, DE 19807
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 651-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Odyssey Charter School
Wilmington, DE


St. Thomas the Apostle
Wilmington, DE



Ferris School for Boys
Wilmington, DE


Tower Hill School
Wilmington, DE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT