Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 625 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2013

I am actually a graduated student from Heritage and I loved it there so much. There are teachers there who I still talk to and I'm in high school now. I would say heritage is a fun school with a good learning environment. The other kids are nice, the teachers are friendly and caring, and the school is just great overall.


Posted November 25, 2012

I have sent three daughters through Heritage and recommend the school strongly. However, you have to be an involved and engaged parent to maximize the benefits of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

My daughter is in 5th grade and has attended Heritage for four years. It's a great elementary school with a wonderful principal. She's very dedicated and heavily involved including in almost all of the extra-curricular activities of which there are many. The academics are good, and there are opportunities to participate in many after school programs to enrich young children's experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Both my daughter and son have attended Heritage and I could not have wanted a better school. The school has helped them both to succeed and do great in junior high and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

i love Heritage! i used to go there and all of my teacher's were awesome! The principal is very organized, friendly, and profesional. The school is also great because the teachers worry about your education and they go over a lesson with you until you understand it! Heritage is also very fun!


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter just started K this year. I am pretty disappointed in this school. First she was threatened by another student with scissors. I called the principle and teacher about this, they said they would address it and I have never heard a follow up to this day, 4 wks ago.I was waiting to pick her up one day and she was not in the cafeteria, I asked the teacher where she was and they did not know. Frantically I ran to the office and they did not know where she was either. I ran to her classroom someone finally tracked me down to tell me she was now in the cafeteria. This happened again with another parent 2 wks ago. There are 24 kids to 1 teacher, no aid. unless a parent comes in to help. Noone who works here smiles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

My girls are in 3rd and 1st and I absolutely love them being there. Mrs Ennis is wonderful. So happy she is so involved, knows the students, and loves the kids enough to care. My daughters teachers have been great! They have learned so much from them and are excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

The school does not intervene appropriately when student teachers can not perform well in the classrooms. Students struggle to learn from such teachers . The school needs be in better control of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Heritage is changing after the principal Ennis took over. Some good changes are: more young teachers are hired and new after school activities are offered. On the other hand, while some of the parents are interfering with the school life way too much, the rest of the parents do not have ample opportunity to be involved. The principal does not let parents to choose teachers in advance anymore, but let some parents to switch teachers afterwards. As for the academic life in Heritage- teachers do not have time and resources to help advanced students to achieve further. Special attention is paid only to kids who fall behind, which is very common practice not only at Heritage, but all around the state of Delaware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

This is the best school in Wilmington area. Principal Ennis is phenomenal; not only as an educator, but also as a human being. You're always listened; no matter how busy she is. Mrs. Maguire is the best teacher of all. Thumbs up for Heritage Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

This school is so wonderful. The teachers are very caring & the principal is phenomenal. The principal walks around the school & is involved with her students rather than sitting in her office with the door shut like it was when I was growing up. She is right there with the children & the children LOVE her (as well as the parents)! The teachers really know their students & really make it a team effort along with the parents to make each child's school experience a successful & profitable one. The PTA is terrific too. There are tons of involved parents who just make it such a great school to be a part of. We feel so fortunate that we are in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

My son is in his second year at Heritage, it's been a wonderful experience all the way around. The teachers and staff are attentive and caring, the parents are involved and the students learn in a very nurturing environment. My first grader says 'Heritage is the best--all the teachers care about all the students', he loves it there. The extracurricular programs are great--there are school plays, assemblies, skating nights, sock hops as well as community support that the children participate in such as helping foster families, mitten trees and gathering donations for the families of soldiers in Iraq to make phone calls to their loved ones. All around it's super!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

My daughter attended from Kindergarten until the 5th grade. She would have stayed until 12th if they would've had the grade levels. No one could've received better at that school. Every person was loved and respected. The principal, Mrs. Sullivan, knew all her students and cared for each one immensely. Each teacher, staff and employee were totaly dedicated. The 'Special Needs' teachers are the best of the best...there are no comparisons! They prepared my daughter for her future and gave her a thirst for knowledge that no one else could. Thank you Mrs. Dean, Ms Lenz, Mrs. Monaco and Ms Tuohy! Thank You Heritage for doing a very fine job in educating my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status65%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed82%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status59%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed75%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status77%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed92%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed83%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English79%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female86%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed93%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female89%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status90%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed89%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status70%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed80%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students51%
Female46%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status30%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed54%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 79% 50%
Black 1 10% 32%
Hispanic 2 6% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1 3% 3%
Two or more races 1 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2815 Highlands Lane
Wilmington, DE 19808
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 454-3424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT