Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mckean (Thomas) High School

Public | 9-12 | 850 students

McKean High School is best known for our EDTV cable & 88.1FM radio stations
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted Wednesday, August 13, 2014

This is my 13th year as a McKean Highlander. I served this community as a teacher, coach, and administrator. This school is such a special place because of the amazing staff that creates a family-like environment. Students can find their niche aas they explore our many opportunities of extracurricular activities in a very inclusive and accepting environment. From our state of the art culinary program to our student-led part-day preschool program to our Cable TV and FM Radio station; our Career and Technical Education Programs are some of the top across the state. Not only do we offer eight career pathways, but we have around 20 Advanced Placement and College Dual Enrollment course offerings. Our Distance Learning Lab, allows students to take courses not offered at McKean and taught by quality instructors across the district. Not only to we offer opportunities for students to achieve great things; but also, we provide a great deal of interventions and supports for struggling students. Through programs like Best Buddies and Special Olympics, McKean has a culture in which peers support each other and embrace our differences. Come stop by and see for yourself, the great things that McKean can offer you.

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2012

McKean is a great school. Bullying is everywhere but in the past years McKean has really stepped up to the plate on doing there best to take care of every student. They have cleaned up their act and have built new improvements to make the children feel comfortable being there. They have more clubs and organizations than any school I've heard of. The teachers and staff made a huge difference in my high school career and if I could go around thanking every one of them I would. McKean is a grand school.


Posted August 28, 2012

I cannot believe this school is rated 4 out of 5. It must be the bully students or their parents writing the reviews. My granddaughter (on her first day of high school there) have her lunch taken from her and things thrown at her in the cafeteria. She was called names and left in tears at lunch. WHERE WERE YOUR TEACHERS? WHERE WAS THE ON-DUTY POLICE OFFICER. You don't have to worry about my granddaughter we transferred her out of their - DAY 1. In speaking with others "within the feeder zone" they looked to private school rather than sending their kids here. I have 6 more grandchildren and you can bet they won't be going to McKean. You should be ashamed I had to give you a star to get this on-line - you get ZERO STARS!!!


Posted August 23, 2011

This is the best decision i ever made for my child. she's going to keep going here until she graduates. I LOVE MCKEAN !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The schho has improved in recent years. Me a current sophmore believes that the Honors classes are challenging and the teachers make learning fun. The vilence in the school is a lot lower then the past years. With having a zero tolerence policy it helps make our school safer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

i dont not prefer that you let your children go to this school it is a very unsafe enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

We have been very happy with this school. The honors curriculum is excellent and the ninth grade academy is just such a terrific program. I don't know why more schools don't do this. I agree with one other poster that there are some tough kids and kids who are not very interested in learning. But the school makes every effort to keep them under control and keep parents informed about discipline. The principal is very accessible and open to parent ideas and feedback. And the responsiveness of the teachers is just superb. Any question, concern, they are back to you ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Overall the school is above average. The honors classes are very challenging. High expectations and the students in honors are well behaved and there to learn. Compared to the one other school we have experience with, the kids in the AP classes here seem to be the kids who belong there. They don't just try to shove everyone into AP and honors. The college prepatory classes have discipline issues. Mainly kids being so noisy and disruptive your student can't concentrate. Part of attendance zone is from a tough area of the city and it shows. They seem committed to fixing discipline issues. Most of the teachers have been good to excellent. Very few bad apples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

As parents of a female, ninth grader, entering public school for the first time in her educational career, we are pleased with the overall situation and experience at McKean. Our daughter was able to make friends easily and to adjust to high school much easier than we anticipated. We feel that the Freshman Academy helped our daughter in her transition from a small, private, middle school to the more populated, public, school system. We are impressed by Ms. Gross' leadership as principal and willingness to involve the students in actively promoting academic improvements and personal achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

Excellent school overall. No violence or major problems. I felt safe there and Don Keister (princ.) and Don Odom (Vice princ)were on top of there students and faculty.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Female46%
Male27%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White40%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status30%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title In/a
Special ed5%
Regular ed47%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English38%

Math

All Students32%
Female37%
Male27%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White35%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status29%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Title In/a
Special ed10%
Regular ed39%
English language learners (ELL)7%
Proficient in English33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female64%
Male53%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status51%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Special ed17%
Regular ed66%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English60%

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status38%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Special ed24%
Regular ed53%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English51%

Science

All Students13%
Female10%
Male17%
African American<=5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
White21%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status9%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Title In/a
Special ed<=5%
Regular ed15%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English14%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Stanton Middle School
AI duPont Middle School
HB duPont Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 47% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 21% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 18% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 12% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Delaware
Delaware Technical College
Delaware State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Educational diagnostician
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Super Stars in Education (2014)
  • Super Stars in Education (2012)
  • AYP Excellence (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jefferson Awards (2014)
  • Jefferson Awards (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • HVAC certification
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Marching band
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:25 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mattix, Brian
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (302) 992-5525

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Construction / building
  • Culinary
  • Early Childhood and Radio/TV
  • HVAC certification
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Plumbing
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Educational diagnostician
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Credit Recovery Program
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • DECA
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are small enough to get to know each student and help them grow, yet big enough to offer extensive opportunities of a comprehensive high school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Delaware
Delaware Technical College
Delaware State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 47%
4 year college - 21%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 18%
Workforce - 12%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 McKennans Church Road
Wilmington, DE 19808
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 992-5520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Towle Institute
Hockessin, DE



Sanford School
Hockessin, DE


The Tatnall School
Wilmington, DE



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT