Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dickinson (John) High School

Public | 9-12 | 765 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2012

I just graduated from Dickinson last Spring and I attended the High School all four years. Mr. Murphy was just starting out when I started and let me tell you he has truly had made Dickinson a second home to me and others i'm sure. Every high school has it's good and bad but Dickinson has really sky rocketed these last four years. I am proud to be a Dickinson RAM of 2012. I am also proud of the staff and teachers for helping me and others when it was needed.


Posted October 28, 2011

My son has been attending Dickinson since his freshman year. My son has had interpersonal issues throughout his freshman-junior time at Dickinson. The teachers have always been supportive in helping him work through those issues and gain a better understanding of himself. This year my son has not had any behavioral problems and is academically attempting to excel. The only problem that I have come across is that some of the teachers will "hold grudges" on students who have had issues in the past. I have three younger children and I plan on sending all of them through Dickinson high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

I was concerned with my daughter going to Dickinson. I had heard many stories about the school that left something to be desired and was reluctant to keep her in her feeder pattern vs. choicing her into another school within the district. I attended the Back To School meeting prior to her Freshman year to learn more about the Freshman Academy and am here to tell, our choice to be a part of the change at Dickinson has done us proud! We have had support on ALL levels from day 1 and I am very comfortable and confident with the faculty and academics. My daughter is now a sophmore and we have every intention of being a 2014 graduate of John Dickinson High School. GO RAMS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

My daughter is in the IB Program and the teachers in the 9th grade academy were great. They would stay after school every day and there was always some available to help with academics. The school would contact me every single day if there was a reason, and the reasons were usually to deliver good news! These types of calls never cam from our prior schools. I cannot say enough good things about Dickinson. I heard a lot of stories about the school before my daughter went there, but none of them were true. I think the school is great and my two younger children will be going there in the future. I just hope they keep the same staff that they have there right now. The people make all teh difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

My son attends and is doing well because we have him enrolled in the CP/AP/Honor classes. Most of the kids in the general classes do not seem to care about their education and thus disrupt the rest of the class. Also, the school has gone through 3 principals since 2007 without even notifying the parents. The school also doesn't enforce the dress code policy - When I have visited the school I've seen kids with clothes that are clearly not approved, and there seems to be a large amount of kids just walking the halls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

the school isn't as bad as people make it out to be, the teachers are great. no matter what level of classes your in. im not saying dickinson is the greatest school but people are make it out to be a nut house when it really isn't. fyi, im a student, i go there. so i know what im talking about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2007

I think Red Clay failed the students of John Dickinson when they took Mr Lasorsa from them. He had the most respect for the kids and guided them to success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

The administrators are tyrants. They talk a good story but don't really enforce the rules. Nor do they support the staff. Example: no one is allowed in the halls the first or last 10 min. of a period. So why are all of those students in the hall? Adminstrators seem to have no control over kids. They are so busy trying to be a buddy to the kids and 'understand' that they don't understand that basic behaviors and courtesies are necessary no matter who you are, what race you are or where you live! Dangerous atmosphere. I crawl along the hall edges to avoid danger!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2005

Seriously, when i started there as a freshman, things seem to be under control, but since i've been there, it has really started to go down hill. I would never sent my child there. No way. Not a good atmosphere, too many students that like to push past you in the hallways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2004

Naw i think that Dickinson is a great school for students to attend for playing Basketball. My son Cornel goes there and he says that their sports program is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female62%
Male47%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status49%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title In/a
Special ed24%
Regular ed60%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English54%

Math

All Students55%
Female57%
Male54%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status49%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title In/a
Special ed15%
Regular ed64%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status48%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Title In/a
Special ed13%
Regular ed58%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English55%

Math

All Students49%
Female45%
Male53%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status49%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Title In/a
Special ed38%
Regular ed50%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English50%

Science

All Students22%
Female22%
Male21%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic<=5%
Multiracialn/a
White37%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status15%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed24%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 38% 32%
White 1 38% 50%
Hispanic 2 20% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Two or more races 2 0% 2%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Murphy, Byron
Fax number
  • (302) 992-5506

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Milltown Road
Wilmington, DE 19808
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 992-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Mark's High School
Wilmington, DE


Central School (The)
Wilmington, DE


Right Choice (The)
Wilmington, DE





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT