Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Beloved School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2012

Did you know they offer Pre-K and they will be going on their 3rd year with offering the program. The school itself seems to have a hard time remembering that the Pre-K program is part of the school!!! We had high hopes, but in the end they disappointed us. Good luck to all who get into Pre-K...teachers are great, but being accepted as part of the main school is another whole side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

I am a student in eight grade and the new science lab, is awesome, and a big improvement. the science teacher is teaching high school biology to improve us in the future... she is the best teacher in the wholewide world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2009

As a current student, I think our new principal, Mr. Hart, is a major improvement. Unlike our last principal, he is involved and cares. The school is made for your average student. If you need extra help, go somewhere else. When graduating, everybody comes out the same product.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2009

The new administration and overall focus on a well balanced student is worth sending your child to this school. The parental support and high expectations on academics, community service and faith make this a great choice for your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I am a former student of this school and i can tell you it is not good at all. It is extremely conformative and does not allow any individuality to occur. The teachers also teach at a level that is too difficult for some students to grasp. They don't explain things thoroughly enough and expect students to understand everything the first time it is said. They also favorite students whose parents are involved in the church, no matter how bad the student is. All in all, i would no recomend this school to anyone and strongly suggest finding a better school.


Posted January 21, 2008

I am a SJB alum and a current student at the University of Delaware. At this school i learned things that i use daily in college. I made a solid group of friends and they are still my best. friend
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2007

I will say that SJB is a good school for a mainstream child or better than average student. The classes are large and if your child requires too much help, he or she may not get it. The school boasts high testing scores but that is easy if you only accept good or better than average students. I also did not care for their early language curriculum for K-3grd. it seemed counter intuitive to reading and phonics matching up odd sounds to various letters in the alphabet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

Frankly, I am disgusted with this school. The teachers are not up to par. I would not reccomend this school to anyone. My child went there and learned nothing of value about life in general. Only the SJB way of doing things. The principal cannot make any decisions on her own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I am a former student of SJB, now senior at Salesianum and next year to be attending the United States Naval Academy. This school is not only a great short term investment but also an outstanding long term investment as well. As said by someone else, bad students become ex-students quickly. Although you will always have your 'bad apples,' there is enough good within the halls of St. Johns to set someone straight. As for teachers and the quality of the curriculum, I have nothing but praise. I started Salesianum in the highest possible phases and now, the end of senior year, I have taken 9 AP courses and validated a whole year of civilian college (though Annapolis couldn't care less about validations through AP programs). If you are still wondering what's best for your child, ask around and do research, because this is a very important decision for their future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2007

My daughter just started at St. John's this year and she loves it. I struggled with sending her to public or catholic. It was a huge decision for me. I finally decided on St. John's and I am so glad I did. The teachers are great, caring, supportive and professional. It was definitely the right decision for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

The only dissappointing thing in this school would be the class size is too large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2006

I am a former girl from St.John the Beloved School and I absolutely loved it there. They have the greatest sports teams which were always on top and those eighth grade and seventh grade teachers will definately prepare your kids for highschool, even college. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Excellent catholic school. Total dedication to learning. Strict discipline. Students who are problems become ex students quickly
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 50%
Hispanic 4% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 32%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wilmington
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

905 Milltown Road
Wilmington, DE 19808
Phone: (302) 998-5525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Stanton Middle School
Wilmington, DE


Central School (The)
Wilmington, DE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT