Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ursuline Academy

Private | PK-12 | 510 students

Our school is best known for the development of the whole person.
 
 

 
 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $249,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

I have gone to Ursuline for 6 years now, I am currently in my Sophomore year. Over the summer I came to realize that Ursuline no longer cared about how well individual students preformed, it is all about the amount of scholarship opportunities they get in sr. year. I have ADHD, and while in lower and middle school, I got plenty of help. In my freshman year i felt i no longer needed the help from Ursuline, so I stopped asking for it. And this year (10th grade), I began to feel I needed it because of the class load, and I went to administration to ask how I should go about getting a tutor for my classes, and their response was something along the lines of 'That isn't our job.'. Many of our teachers have no respect for us students, I have been sick and in the hospital for three years now, and I never had a problem with making up work, and this year my teachers were so very uncooperative to help me out in any way. The English dept. hasn't held a position for more than two years in about 5 years, If i was to take the SAT English section, I am confident I would fail if I had not gotten extra help on my own. I have decided to leave Ursuline, because I still need assistance.


Posted December 6, 2013

As an Ursuline grad, I can say Ursuline used to be a great school. Not anymore. Unless your child is perfect, uber organized, never forgets anything, & you, the mom, are driven to be the teachers' pet, then this school is not for you. They have forgotten that their students are still kids & are not perfect. Kids forget things, they make mistakes; everyone does. Ursuline does not allow for those mistakes. They have taken the idea of accountability & put it on steroids. You will not get sympathy or understanding. The curriculum is designed so the girls are buried under homework & have little to no time for outside activities, let alone time with family. And, That s okay. Ursuline needs to stop looking at SATs as the guideline for how & what to teach. Everyone has to take all the basics (& more) over again in college; why not teach the girls how to learn & to enjoy learning. I suggest Ursuline change its attitude. Start being a loving, welcoming, healthy environment again. Love the students, encourage them, & embrace their differences for real instead of just only on the website. These are all smart girls with wonderful potential. Why beat them down to teach them they are strong?


Posted July 22, 2011

My Daughter just completed her first year at Ursuline High School. She is a very shy, smart girl. At the other schools she has attended she found herself not challenged academically and socially withdrawn. Ursuline challenges her academically and encourages her to open herself more socially. We were very concerned that the school would meet our expectations, but I have to say it has never disappointed us. The principal is absolutely amazing and doing a great job. One last comment, this school is on the cutting edge when it comes to technology which was very important to us. All the kids have laptops and the classrooms are state of the art. This school is expensive but worth EVERY penny for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

Ursuline provides an excellent college preparatory education to girls. It offers a healthy variety of AP, honors, and art courses. Ursuline has an incredibly challenging curriculum and attracts some of the brightest, most academically competitive girls in the state. The strong academic rigor, the nine AP courses I have taken, the all girls education, and the personal relationships with teachers have enabled me to achieve all of my goals college wise. I am attending one of the most selective liberal arts colleges in the nation. My only gripe with the school is that it places a strong emphasis on memorization and spit-back rather than fostering a deep, intellectual love of learning. While rote review is important for the AP exams and contributes greatly to the students high scores, it can lead to boredom and a lack of desire to learn. Most teachers are at least solid but there are a few that need to be taken care of. The new principal is wonderful in dealing with students and parents and solving problems. I believe it is a wonderful place for any student looking for a serious college preparatory curriculum with the benefits of single-sex education.


Posted January 2, 2011

Ursuline might sometimes be looked over because of its small size, but in my experience, my daughter could not have picked a better place to go. The teachers are always available to help her, but the school is focused on preparing the students for college. My daughter's classes feature a lot of long-term assignments and independent work. I believe this prepares my daughter well for college and the staff at Ursuline along with the counseling department are all very knowledgable about college expectations. A variety of AP classes are offered. The counseling department takes care of all applications to coleges and other programs and the teachers are always happy to write a reccomendation. The Ursuline reputation means my daughter gets looks from colleges that knoow the Ursuline program an understand that the students graduating will be prepared for college. While my daughter certainly wasn't looking this far ahead when she chose a high school, we are both extremely happy and less stressed about the college process. The new principal is accessble and friendly, and many parents volunteer ther time, an example of the Serviam attitude that surrounds the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

My daughter is finishing her second year at Ursuline. Academics, sports, 'serviam' and arts programs are admirable. Teacher and principal availability and communication is outstanding. The majority of children are polite, competitive, motivated and friendly enough but the parents can be a little click-ish. Overall I would rate it an excellent choice and although we struggle with the tuition we deem it worthwhile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

Excellent! Small enough for individual attention, but big enough to feel right at home!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2005

Ursuline Academy is a school known for 'excellence without exception'. Their excellence shines through in all areas including; Academics, Sports, Fine Arts, and Spirituality. The faculty and administration are very helpful, skilled, and love the school as well. It offers a warm and friendly atmosphere where parents feel welcomed. My daughter has been at the school for two years now and absolutely loves every aspect of her day! I am proud to be associated with such an outstanding institution and look forward to returning in September!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

I have had one daughter of mine attend this school, and from experience, this school did not meet our expectations. Overall, the school was lacking a spontaneity -- something unique. Each day, my daughter would come home from school, complaining about the monotonous studies and the dissatisfying administration. Although there were a few members of faculty and administration my daughter and I took a liking to, the lot of them were rather distasteful. And as for the dance and music programs, most of them were just dressed up with superficial attempts to gain interest from parents and such -- in actuality, the programs themselves were mediocre. The sports program at this school, does however, make up for some of the school's deficiencies. Parent involvement wise, things were somewhat okay. And in my child's opinion, what made the school tolerable was the occasional friends she made -- but that's it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

My daughter attended grades 7 through 8, so commentary is limited to only those grades. Teaching staff was exemplary. Course work was demanding with 2-3 hours of daily homework. Teachers were seemingly always available and, in general, helpful. Class sizes were 15-20 girls. Laptops were well-integrated into the curriculum with full support of school & faculty. She loved her time at the school; teachers were excellent, especially in the sciences. Luckily she also had the same high standard English teacher as well. Extracurricular activities were fine, considering this was, in effect, junior high school. Facilities were well maintained. Only drawback was lack of diversity and the strength of cliques. Weaknesses were preyed upon, so that may qualify as a character building component.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am a graduate of Ursuline and currently have two daughters attending, one to start in a couple of years. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants their daughter to have a top notch,high quality, nurturing education. I have found it to be a very loving and friendly atmosphere which helps my daughters to enjoy and crave learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I have twin daughters attending Ursuline for the third year. They are now in second grade. The environment is friendly and warm. Teachers are excellent! They are also very nuturing. Parents are very much involved in the school. My children love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Merit Scholars (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jefferson Awards (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cathie Field Lloyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (302) 658-4297

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Montessori
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Technology
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Art club
  • Batik Club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Flexibility for new clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Jefferson Awards
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The most important part in selecting a school for your child is to go out and visit each school. We welcome parents and students throughout the year to come for a tour and meet the teachers and students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1106 Pennsylvania Avenue
Wilmington, DE 19806
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 658-7158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ursuline Academy Lower
Wilmington, DE



Padua Academy
Wilmington, DE


First State School
Wilmington, DE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT