Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Albert Einstein Academy

Private | K-6 | 56 students

Our school is the premier Jewish Day School in the Brandywine Valley.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $270,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2013

Albert Einstein helps children grow to be caring, responsible, respectful citizens, while also installing Jewish values. The academics are engaging, the setting intimate and the creativity ramped. There is a perfect mix of academics, community and arts! My child has thrived while attending AEA! The addition of Rabbi Winaker was the perfect choice to lead the school into the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Albert Einstein Academy is a warm, close-knit, intimate K-6 school. Teaching both a Jewish and a secular curriculum, AEA is innovative, creative and rigorous. The children have unparalleled opportunities to develop leadership skills, building self-confidence through numerous school wide productions and assemblies. They are challenged to grow both academically, culturally and religiously. AEA kids become invested in their community and learn the importance of giving back. I always say that walking into AEA is like walking into a hug.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

My children have been THRIVING in this school, it is the most warm and nurturing learning environment possible. It is amazing and gives SO much to our children in so many ways. Please give them the Moolah!!:))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I learned about the Albert Einstein Academy when we moved to the area and the local public school was not up to par. I enrolled my son and he was befriended by the other students immediately.He was challenged by his teachers and excited about going to school each day. The following year I was thrilled to join the staff as a teacher. It was my fifteenth year as a teacher, yet I knew that AEA would stretch my skills more than any other school had. The caliber of the teachers and other staff members was very high. Best of all, we worked together as a team, knowing every child in the school, team teaching, and spreading the warmth of a community that became a family. Albert Einstein is an exceptional school that provides both Jewish and secular studies. to the Greater Wilmington area, It has been a privilege to serve the Albert Einstein Academy as both a parent and a teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2013

Stellar K-6 Elementary Jewish Community Day School. Academic excellence with partial immersion Hebrew language program. Award winning Arts program that produces confident and inquisitive learners. Dynamic and innovative dual curriculum with integrated Jewish themes with an annual school-wide yearly topic. Small class sizes allows individualized attention from a nurturing faculty. Students with some of highest achievement scores in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

AEA is a tiny school in Delaware where teaching is done with creativity and with passion. The teachers teach to each student's strengths. The students graduate and go on to have great success in middle school, high school and beyond. Parents are encouraged to take part in their children's education. The school is warm and welcoming. The children learn to think independently, analyze thoroughly, respect themselves and others and lead confidently.


Posted October 5, 2008

We are really happy here - the academics are challenging and the teachers are wonderful. This is a great school for a family that wants to feel a part of a community. We are an interfaith family and feel really included at AEA. Even one of our chidlren who doesn't go here is always invited to participate in school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

We had our children in the Brandywine School District and made a move during our son's second grade year to AEA. What impressed us the most about AEA was the challenging ciriculum that was taught in a fun manner to our child. To catch him up the first year his teacher met with him during winter break to get bring him up to speed with the rest of the class. The staff has shown over and over again, that their job does not end, just because the final bell of the day has. It is empowering to see teachers who still want to teach our youth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

Albert Einstein is an incredible school with unbelievably dedicated teachers and staff. With a longer school day than other area schools, sometimes I can't believe how much my children are learning - and a dual curriculum! But the best thing I can say about Einstein is the quality of young adults who come out of the school. I've known quite a few and they are bright, caring and strong individuals. They give back to their community, excel in middle school, high school and college and become leaders in the community. What more could a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

Fantastic teachers and small classes made Albert Einstein the right choice for our daughter's education. We initially planned to enroll her only in Kindergarten since we live in a good public school district in Pennsylvania but were so impressed with the quality of the teaching that decided to keep our child at Einstein. Einstein is strong in academics but most importantly it provides a very loving and safe environment for children to learn to become compassionate and caring human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

Academics are amazing! Parent involvement is encouraged and is as much as desired. Music, art, sports programs are all in place and everyone enjoys. This is an excellent school! The dual curriculum provides our children with a wonderful educational experience that cannot be duplicated in any other school setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 50%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 32%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 13%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Hebrew
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • TalAm
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hebrew
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Garden of Eden Road
Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone: (302) 478-5026

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


City Gates Academy
Wilmington, DE






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT