Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concord Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 210 students

We are best known for excellent Christian education.

 
 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $272,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

Both my kids are enrolled in CCA, and we are blessed to have such a great school near us. This is by far an excellent facility that prides itself in giving all the students a positive environment for learning and fun. The teachers and staff are supportive caring and good role models. The variety of courses and extracurricular activities are great, theres something for all. The student teacher ratio allows the teachers to get to know each student and support them throughout their learning process, which is why a big school didnt work for us. I can see the difference in my childs overall attitude toward school, and growth in areas they struggled before. Overall this school provides a safe environment, good communication and parent involvement. Do your homework if you are considering changing schools. If your childs learning and God are important for you, I highly recommend CCA. It is a treasure tucked away in North Delaware. Hope this helps give you a better view of the school, as the other reviews are not reality. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

My child has been a student at Concord Christian for the past several years. The experienced teachers, small classroom sizes, safer environment and better test scores make for a more positive experience in school. My child has benefitted from going to school with students from diverse ethnic and economic backrounds. Also, the school offers a quality academic program with over 90% of the graduates going to college. My child has greatly enjoyed being involved in a sports program where all students that want to play are able to participate. At a large school that is not always the case. The sports teams have been excellent the last several years winning their league many times. Of course as a small school not all types of courses may not be available, but the courses that are offered are high quality and have greatly helped my child academically. There is not a library or nurse, but I can use my local library and teachers do have first aid training. There are some things that Concord Christian does not have, but the excellent faith based education far outweighs the things that are not offered. As parents, we have also enjoyed the small family atmosphere of CCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

My daughter has been going to this school the last 3years. Next year I'm going to transferr her to a bigger school. In the earlier years everything is the same in terms of learning the ABC and 123. But the fact that there is no libarby, nurse, or even guidence counselor that becomes a real problem in later years. Not to mention diversity on the teaching staff. If the student population is 95% african american why doesn't the staff reflect that. I will say the kids are really loving my daughter has made some really great friends and I know she will miss the a lot when she goes to a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

its a terrible school to prepare your child,i dot think its a good place to let your children get a good education that's why i transferred my children to a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I believe Concord Christian is an excellent school academically and spiritually. My goal as a parent is to see my children live for the Lord by teaching them to make the right decisions and in public schools there are too many temptations for them to face. CCA works hand in hand with parents to enforce Godly characteristics and teachings. I have to be honest and say that I do have some concerns about the classes in high school being limited but I do believe my children will be well prepared for college unto graduating from CCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

This is an alumna rather than a parental review so perhaps it will offer a different perspective. I notice one of the other parental reviews is by a teacher at the school. I graduated overwhelmingly ill prepared for college. By the time my parents realized I was getting a poor education I was about to go into my senior year and did not want to transfer to a new school at that point. The Pace system (if they still use it) is substandard and allows students to get easy grades without applying themselves. Goodness, I practically did nothing my senior year except play video games because I had already completed all my coursework. I'm running out of space so I'll say this: if your child has goals other than being a missionary or pastor's wife, please consider an alternate.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2005

I dont think this school showed kids a true reality.When my children changed to a public school they saw a whole new world.It is okay for a school not to have dances, but not to have fun is a different story. Those are some reasons why i transferred my children. So i have some different thoughts about this school than some other parents do. This school provided a good education for my children. I think public schools in PA do better because they have to prep children for P.S.S.A . This makes them do a lot more work. The children learn more here. The fifth graders switch classes, the have a spanish class, they have a school chorus and singers,and they have library class. Some parents stereotype they think of chester as a bad place because some children are not as bright as others. That is not right.Chester schools are good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2004

My children have been at Concord Christian Academy for the past 11 years. I am pleased at all they have achieved spiritually, academically and socially at this school. I feel the education they are receiving here is superior to anything this area has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

As a parent of one student who has graduated and two to go, I find the teachers at Concord Christian very dedicated to their students and the Lord. The majority of staff members have been at Concord Christian longer than my children. My children will remain at Concord Christian through graduation, as long as the Lord provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 32%
White 36% 50%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Hispanic 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Liberty University
University of Delaware
Wilmington University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Delaware Association of Christian Schools Academic Competion Champions (2010)
  • Delaware Association of Christian Schools Music Competition

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jeff Bergey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (302) 475-6462

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Liberty University
University of Delaware
Wilmington University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2510 Marsh Road
Wilmington, DE 19810
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 475-3247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Talley Middle School
Wilmington, DE



St Edmond's Academy
Wilmington, DE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT