Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Elizabeth High School

Private | 9-12 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $86,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2013

As a current student, I feel St. E has inspired me and encouraged me to reach new limits that I never thought possible. I love this school and the students and faculty within it. The themes of "family" and "community" are very big here. Both of my parents attended St. E, and many of the same teachers who taught them are now teaching me. Choosing to attend St. E has been the best decision of my life so far, and now I cannot wait to leave the school (though I will always come back) and spread the Viking spirit and Benedictine Pride that has been instilled in me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2012

When you talk to anyone who went to this school or have children attending now the one thing you hear over and over is the "family" feel this school has. All the Catholic schools in Delaware are outstanding but Saint E's is a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

Top notch, very caring and loving faculty, incredibly supportive...a place where a regular kid can make a difference. I have 2 boys in attendance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Very organized school. They know all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2006

This school is great. But every school has its problems. I would say that Mrs.Bounds is one of them. I think this school has gone down hill since she has become principal. Other then Mrs.Bounds this school has wonderful teachers and students. Its a great family of close-knit people and students here get an wonderful education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

The administration is phenomenal. I should say, Mrs. Bounds is phenomenal. She has 'made the school' in the last 30 years. I was a student there and now my children are/have been. I have seen the teachers and students come and go, but the majority stay. They are not afraid of making the students toe the line. They work with the students struggling and give them fair chances. If they exceed the limit of detentions or do something serious enough, they are not afraid to ask them to leave. I like this. They don't just talk the talk. The teachers are wonderful and keep us up to date. We especially are fond of the mygradebook.com program to keep us informed. The one are we are not happy with is that the academic areas are not tracked. They have honors, but the average is placed in college prep w/ low ones too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

Having attended this school for 12 years, there is really no way to explain what those years meant to me as a person. St. E's is truly a family. This close-knit school instills all of the values that are most important to parents today. You can trust this school to reinforce everyday what you teach your kids at home. They hold every student to the highest standard and make us alumni proud to say we attended St. Elizabeth HS.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 50%
Black 9% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wilmington
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Cedar St
Wilmington, DE 19805
Phone: (302) 656-3369

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Douglass School
Wilmington, DE



Padua Academy
Wilmington, DE


Ursuline Academy
Wilmington, DE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT