Advertisement
Advertisement

Children's House Montessori

Private | PK-2 | 96 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $272,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2013

We were amazed to see how our child has developed over the past 2 years. We noticed him counting and sounding out letters only after 1 month! The teachers and administrative staff are great. Good curriculum and enough structure for the children. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

My daughter has spent the last year in Children's House preschool and enrichment program, and the changes in her have been amazing in such a positive way! She was very shy when she started, but the attentive teachers helped her feel right at home. I was shocked at how much she loves school and learning. Her older brother went to a different preschool and KG, and her experience has been immeasurably better. Now, my "shy" daughter is excited to tell me about her friends, her teachers, and the lessons she's learning. It all carries through at home. The teachers show a genuine passion for their work, and the kids spend a lot of time outside learning to appreciate nature. I can't recommend this school enough. It was worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

Both our children attended preschool through Kindergarten at Children's House and loved it. They were well prepared for public and private (they attended both) elementary school. We were very pleased with the staff members, academics, and the love, caring and support the staff showed towards us and our children. It is a very close knit community which we feel kids need at a young age. The director is a wonderful woman who puts her heart and soul into the school. She encourages parental involvement and feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

Sending our child to Children's House Montessori has been one of the best decisions we've ever made. Our daughter learned to help with daily tasks like preparing for work and cleaning up. Later, she learned responsibility through helping take care of the younger children in the school. The children are given the flexibility to choose how tasks/work is completed. Now, at 10 years old, our daughter has become very good at problem solving. She is also an avid reader. She's already finished reading more than half of the Harry Potter book series. The staff at Children's House is outstanding. Parent involvement with the school is the highest I've seen anywhere. The product they provide is well worth the investment. Thank you, Children's House.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

Incredible start on Academic life in a caring environment. We have had 2 children attend and both are in Advance learning programs in the public school system. Also, many of their peers in this advance program came from this same pre-school. There is no comparision for the academic headstart given through instruction on indepedent discovery, respect for others and how to learn. But more importantly, for any parent of a yount child the Children's House provide a very safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

Our family has spent the last 6 years at this wonderful school, from toddler through Kindergarten, with excellent success. Both children were fostered by the excellent staff to love school and challenge themselves. As others have mentioned, the school is a great little community where everyone knows your child and seems to have ever present patience and kindness. I just can't say enough good things! I know that both children were admitted into the BSD gifted program because of the curriculum here. As important, they learned how to be good citzens. Would recommend without reservation to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

CHMS is such a warm and loving environment. My oldest daughter was there for pre-K and Kindergarten. She is at CES now and one of the better readers in her grade thanks to her CHMS foundation. My son is going back for his fourth year, having spent his first year in the toddler room and the past 2 in pre-primary, he ll do another year in pre-primary to complete the 3-year Montessori cycle. He began reading this past year at age 4 which seems to be typical at CHMS. Both of my children have developed a strong sense of self-worth and independence. Thanks to CHMS our whole family has learned to be greener too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I can't rave enough about the staff and head of school. It has been such a wonderful experience for both of my boys. The school is smaller and feels like a community. Everyone knew my child and always knew what was going on with my kids schedules. They offer before care and after care for working parents and couldn't be more flexible with scheduling. I originally attended an open house when I was looking for a school to help my Pre-K boy with delayed speech. I wanted to be sure he would catch up to his peers. My husband and I were SHOCKED when he was reading in six months. We worked with him at home as his teacher suggested and she was right!! He went to first grade at public school and was reading on a third grade level. I have recommended this school to everyone I know with young kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Both of my boys attended Children's House from toddler thru 2nd grade. They are continuing to thrive in the public school system (BSD's Gifted Program) with the "love of learning" that was instilled in them at CH. Their love and sense of fun for math and science is equally matched by their enthusiasm for reading - not always a given with boys. And they still talk fondly about CH - their past teachers, books and artists they were introduced to, friends they still see and the sense of accomplishment -- "Oh I know that Mom. I learned it at Children's House!!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

Lost entire year here Student had to repeat entire year because of improper teaching techniques. Misrepresented child's progress. Lost an $8000 tuition. Would not even return deposit. Child advanced much quicker in public school. Save your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I love this school! It's been a great place for us. I feel like the education is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

Great school! Great teachers! Very close nit, and not in a snobby way. My daughter had a great first school experience there and my son loved his second grade teacher. We left because we moved out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 50%
Asian 20% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 20% N/A
Black 4% 35%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2848 Grubb Rd
Wilmington, DE 19810
Phone: (302) 529-9259

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Pilot School
Wilmington, DE



City Gates Academy
Wilmington, DE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT