Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Elementary Workshop Montessori School

Private | PK-4 | 60 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2012

This was a difficult school for us to afford, but it was so worth it. The teachers both my children had were amazing individuals as well as master teachers. The tools for learning are exceptional and the children learn in such a rich and nurturing environment. Both my children loved learning here as part of a learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

I needed to find a school for my son that would challenge him. He was falling apart in traditional public school. Within the first week I saw a dramatic change in him. I learned more about what he did in the first week he was there than I did all of his Kindergarten year! He has now been there a month and he still jumps out of bed every morning (which he never did before) and is the smart little boy I always knew he was. Finally a school/curriculum/teachers who see him that way as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

I would have to go with the previous review. Altough, I would say it is not necessarily the case that montessori is not for everyone, but surely THIS montessori school is not for everyone...They manhandle kids in the name of discipline and have absolutely no techniques to handle kids that do not always agree with teachers. And I am talking about 3 and 4 yr olds who do not really know what the social expectations are from them. We have taken our son out as we dont want to subject him to physical and emotional torture each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

EWMS is a wonderful school that feels more like a family than a school. Everyone is very supportive and nice. The kids learn in a fun way and want to come to school everyday. The fact that the class combines grades 1-3 is wonderful. My 1st grader sees what the 3rd years are doing and eagerly wants to learn the same things as well, making his skill levels way above 1st grade work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Love this school because of: caring, devoted teachers who love their jobs, Director is smart, amazingly accomplished and a good manager, wonderful mix of all ethnicities, academics (these kids are great readers and start math in preschool), field trips (kids go out on field trips, field trips don't come to the school), taking advantage of all the great things downtown Wimington has to offer (eg music and dancing classes at the Baby Grand, PE at the YMCA)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

My kids are respected for their unique contributions, personalities and learning styles. They have grown and progressed so well under the loving care of the teachers they are grades ahead of their public school counterparts. Each child works at their own pace and is challenged at their own level. It works!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I really love this school, and I wish more parents knew about it. It's amazing to me how much the teachers love and respect each child. The whole place is like a family - the parents, the teachers, the children all know each other by name, and all pitch in to support and develop each child. The academics are phenomenal. It's not cheap, but it's the least expensive secular private school in the county. I can't say enough good things about EWMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

It has only been two weeks but my son is enjoying the program. I was not aware of the 'quiet' philosophy around the Montessori program but it has been a good method of assisting in getting my 4 year old to use his 'inside voice'. The teachers are very good with ensuring that the children learn from all experiences and I really like the student teaher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

What a great school! After just five months at EWMS, my 3-year-old is throwing around words like 'quatrefoil' and my 5-year-old is reading books on a 3rd-grade level. Since the parents are so involved, my children also get the pleasure and benefit of interacting with lots of different adults with many different skill sets and points of view. It's a pleasure to find a private Montessori program that's also economically and culturally diverse. The best part is that the teachers truly love the children and treat them with respect and affection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

This school is a treasure tucked away blocks away from Downtown Wilmington. Particularly high marks for a wonderfully diverse student population, extensive parent involvement, and teacher/staff commitment to student well-being. The curriculum is impressive, creating and expanding basic math and language concepts in innovative and effective ways. Spanish and music classes are offered, and both early-morning and late-afternoon care are provided. The curriculum also includes thematic elements (this year, themes include Delaware history and North/South America) reinforced through assignments and activities during the year. Parents chaperone field trips as well as volunteering 25 hours each, providing a positive community feel and the ability to engage teachers and staff outside the parent-teacher conference. Students develop both independence and interdependence, and are able to both mentor and be guided by their peers, both important learning skills. The children enjoy being part of this wonderful learning environment - I'm very happy I discovered it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

As soon as I learned about the Montessori teaching method, I knew it's what I wanted for my children. Elementary Workshop Montessori school is truly a great school. The tuition is considerably lower than most private and other Montessori schools in the area, and the teachers and staff are talented people who love what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

Elementary Workshop Montessori School is the most wonderful place for your child to grow, I can not say enough good things about it! True strength and balance in diversity in student body and staff. Convenient downtown Wilmington location, near everything. For parents who want to be involved with your childrens' education, this 'co-op' school is the place! You'll be doing everything from assisting teachers to sweeping up to maintenance projects to driving on field trips (this school is big on field trips - and assemblies!) I had more experience with the Early Childhood teachers (age 2.5 to 6)- they loved and helped my child to grow in immeasurable ways. A great school value, but very much like a family or extended community. EWMS staff are devoted to true Montessori values and education techniques, with full training updates and all the learning tools. Terrific Spanish, art and music learning opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

I think the academics for Pre-K thru K are great. They have excellent teachers in this class. They learn alot and are involved in lots of filed trips. Parents have to volunteer 50hrs per year and drive on a least 1field trip. Cost is on the high side, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 50%
Asian or Pacific Islander 22% 3%
Black 13% 32%
Two or more races 13% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 13%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:00
School Leader's name
  • E. McCrae Harrison
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (302) 656-1905

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

502 North Pine Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 656-1498

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Reach/Cbip
Wilmington, DE







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT