Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Delaware Military Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

This school has molded me into an excellent marksmen. I used to suffer from annoying squirrels and deer playing my yard. Now I laugh at dinner as I devour venisontacos! Muy deliciouso!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

I have two sons in Delaware Military Academy and I have worked/volunteered at all the schools our boys have gone to so far and by far DMA is the best out of all! This school is all about honor, respect, professionalism, leadership, commitment and the entire staff really treats all cadets as family. The opportunities and connections this school has is more than any other school out there. To see my sons in uniform and to see there excitement after every achievement/promotion in rank is every parents dream for there kids. My oldest has earned so many medals, ribbons, pins, etc that he may run out of space on his uniform. It builds every kids confidence to be awarded for every achievement that they worked hard for and this school really goes to all lengths to show they care. The staff spends allot of there summers planning/going on excellent summer camps with the cadets that the school offers. I can't express enough about the opportunities this school has. It is by far an A+++++ school. It has truly made our sons more professional, respectful and leaders for entering into the working world now. I couldn't be more proud of our sons! Thank You DMA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

The academics in this school are wonderful, but as it is a military school I was surprised at some of the teachers. Many talented teachers have been let go in the past few years, yet one who calls students names and belittles their political views if they don't agree with his remains there. Are teachers even allowed to indoctrinate students into their personal political beliefs? There are other teachers who spend much of their "teaching" time on YouTube, having found a way around the school's server, many teachers who curse at students, and some who seem to still want to be kids themselves. It's great if all you care about is a military career, but it is not a well-rounded school.


Posted July 26, 2011

I have a daughter who graduated in 2009 and was under the leadership of Commadant Baldwin. I now have a son who is going into 11th grade and will graduate with class of 2013. I must admit that when Commadant Baldwin left and a new principle took over the school has gone down and is not the school it use to be when Commadant Baldwin was the principle. Amazing what the difference of a principle can make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

Bad school do not go here. Teachers do not help the kids, and the school doesn't prepare you for college.


Posted December 2, 2010

Excellent program, strong academics, caring teachers, dedicated commandant (principal), instills and demonstrates the importance of citizenship, scholarship, and leadership in every cadet, tolerates NO bad behavior or poor grades, continuing to grow and thrive....the best school choice possible...really the best thing that has happened to Delaware
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I was a little apprehensive about sending my son here .Academically he struggled through middle school and had some behavioral issues.It was the best decision I've ever made! The teaching staff ,military involvement & commitment to the students makes this an exceptional school with much to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

I am so glad I made this decision to send my son to this school. The student teacher ratio is small and I honestly admire the teachers taking great individual care of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

My son graduates this year from DMA. He is an Honor Society member and Honors student. DMA brought the best out in him. The entire staff truely cares about the students and IS ACCESSIBLE. When I call for a chat with the Commadant, he picks up the phone!!! How many parents can get right through to their child's principal? I love this school and so does my son. We will miss it so much next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

My son made the decision in junior high to attend DMA for high school and it's one of the best decisions he's ever made. From academics to leadership to community service to citizenship, this school, the Commandant and its dedicated staff are changing the Education environment in Delaware and the rest of the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

I'm a Senior at DMA right now and I've been here for three years. Having spent my freshman year in a public school, I can honestly say that DMA is a superior school to be noted. If you want your child to get a good head start in life and a leg up on others then consider DMA as their high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

The best thing that ever happened to Delaware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

DMA= Best desicion I've ever made! This school Changed my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2007

What a great 4 years! Our son graduated with honors and was accepted to all the colleges he applied to. Kudos to all the teachers. It was the best decision our son made to attend this school. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who is remotely thinking of joining the military though that is not a requirement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

my son started the first year this school opened. he will graduate this year. it has been the best experience for him. I feel that the school itself with its teachers and principal have given my son a place to belong and a want to become someone that can some day make a difference. I have only thank you's for all the staff that make the delaware military school what it is... thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I86%
Special edn/a
Regular ed88%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I90%
Special edn/a
Regular ed91%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I94%
Special edn/a
Regular ed94%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status89%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I91%
Special edn/a
Regular ed91%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students59%
Female50%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status53%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Title I59%
Special edn/a
Regular ed59%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 50%
Black 6% 32%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Middleboro Rd
Wilmington, DE 19804
Phone: (302) 998-0745

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Douglass School
Wilmington, DE






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT