Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Odyssey Charter School 3

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
I have been pleased with the academic quality of the school, overall. The PTO is fantastic and attempts to keep parents informed as well as provide enriching experiences for the students. As several recent reviewers mentioned, the teaching staff is unexperienced as a whole and have difficulty with basic classroom and behavior management. This is particularly true of the Greek teachers. The administration is often reactive instead of proactive in dealing with issues and concerns which makes resolving concerns, frustrating at best.

Odyssey Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
PTO new leadership is doing a great job with all the new programs and keeping parents informed.

Odyssey Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Effective in teaching yes great, but classroom management and dealing with minor issues they do a poor job in general.

Odyssey Charter School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
I think they have great guiding principles so student to student yes. But staff to students no because if a staff member said something happens they never consider the students point of view.

Odyssey Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
They only care about keeping their numbers right to grow the school. I think the teachers try but administration no.

Odyssey Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Discipline isn't consistent and they want kid to be robots. The school sends check list and demerits all the time, once your labeled it's over in that school. They give demerits to children for lying? Seriously!

Odyssey Charter School 3

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
The educational portion is awesome. The parents are great and teachers are pretty good as well. PTO is also great and they raise a lot of money for the school. There isn't a lot of diversity in the staff out of the 50 or so teachers maybe 3 are of minority background. The discipline system is too harsh, they give demits for every little thing. Can you image a child being given a demerit for going up a slide the wrong way in the playground? Well it happens at OCS. Please don't be fooled by the glowing reviews, staff are encouraged to post on this site which is why their really are no bad reviews. Hands down the education is great, but dealing with administration is a nightmare never a straight answer. In general they are pleasant but will not resolve any of your issues. For that you will have to threaten to go to the school board or get a parent advocate. If you are considering sending your child to this school please check with a few parents before enrolling and ask of various experiences. Hopefully, this provides you with a realistic preview before making your decision.

Odyssey Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 23, 2016
- a community member
Tracie Principe, an adminstrator at the upper school, has been extremely helpful to me over the years.

Odyssey Charter School 4

Posted January 23, 2016
- a community member
The education is excellent. The teachers are responsive, as well as the administration. I am excited about the upcoming changes including a sports complex with a swimming pool. I would like to see a sports bus because getting to the after school activities is very difficult now, and causes my children to be excluded a lot. I also don't like that they must stay after school to participate in chorus and some other activities. Because the school is growing, however, parents and students both, have a lot of input. I believe the school will only get better going forward. My daughter has been in this school since third grade and I've been very happy with her education, so I intend to keep her there.

Odyssey Charter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
My child was teased by some older kids for his heritage in the hallway until I wrote to school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Odyssey Charter School
4319 Lancaster Pike, Wilmington, DE  19805
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (302) 994-6490
Last modified Odyssey Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top