Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Fe High School

Public | 9-12 | 937 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2012

I graduated from SFHS in 2010. There were good and bad sides to going there. Some of the teachers were rather lackluster and spent too much time focusing on the FCAT (in my 10th grade English class, we barely read any of the classic books the teacher said we would, and instead spent months working on punctuation, even though it was the highest level class), but I LOVED all of my AP teachers/courses, especially European History. I was in the band, which is a phenomenal program with an amazing director, and yearbook, which was also great, though the adviser has since changed. Not the best place for sports though, especially football. The principal was also amazing, and very focused on the students. I believe he just retired though, so hopefully they'll find someone that can fill his shoes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

Great school and teachers. However, the football team could use some help, so come in and play! By the way, our band is awsome, with I think at least 10 State Championships, the football with two.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2009

I am also currently attending Santa Fe and am about to enter my tenth grade year. There are a handful of excellent teachers who create motivation in students but there are also teachers who are rather ignorant of what they teach as well as how exactly to motivate students. The campus itself is improving as it is expanding. So, perhaps, the school will improve. Yet, the whole reason I arrived at this site is to see what other schools are near that I may wish to join.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2008

I am currently a student at SFHS and I love being here. The classes are challenging and they make you think. All of the classes are not easy, if you work hard enough then you will get the grade you deserve. The focus on the FCAT a lot and because of all the preparation people pass the FCAT. SFHS is basically a great school. We don't have problems with drugs and it has a great school environment overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

I am a student at SFHS and I hate it. I get A's and B's and classes are easy. But then again, how hard would you expect a class to be on 'how to pass the FCAT'? The entire school is geared towards passing the FCAT just to keep the school well rated, but there are ALOT of drugs being moved NOT SAFE
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

I went to SFHS as did my sister and I can say that I had a great education there. I was able to join numerous clubs and was in band for 4 years. I went off to a great college and had no trouble keeping up. It's a great country school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 25, 2006

I am a current dual enrolled student from Santa Fe High. I found the campus difficult to learn on with too much of an element on 'Pass the FCAT'. I feel that the faculty/staff put too much of a stress on that in order to keep the school highly rated in the 'school grading program'. I would not go back to the school from the SFCC Dual Enrollment Program because in that environment I felt unsafe, with poorly motivated teachers who could not motivated the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2006

Unsafe - violent campus. Heavy drug element on campus, frequent 'lock-downs' for canine / police searches. Student's personal items are often stolen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Santa Fe High is a 'home town' feeling school with a Quality Academic and Extracurricular programs, we have Parents involved long after their children have graduated.Teachers and other Staff are very approachable. I would recommend this school to anyone who cares about their childs education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

My child is in 9th grade and we have been happy with Santa Fe thus far. The teachers seem to be willing to help my child succeed and the athletic program has been great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My daughter is a senior at SFHS at this time and I can say, without any regret,that I am glad we decided to keep her there. All the support she has received from her guidance counselor, teachers, staff, and coaches has been incredible. With her being a 504 plan student it has been tough at times, but through the patience of her teachers and counselor, she is a very happy senior. Great job SFHS, keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

I am a former student of SFSH, and have to say: It was a pretty good school. Whatever academics we lacked, the teachers themselves always made up for. Keep up the good work, guys!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 27, 2005

Not impressed. After 2 years here, my child received mostly A's and yet has learned almost nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

279 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

264 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Black 17%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%44%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 10%2%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. ELIZABETH LECLEAR
Fax number
  • (386) 462-1711

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16213 Northwest US Highway 441
Alachua, FL 32615
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 462-1125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Genesis Christian Academy
Worthington Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT