Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,173 students|Alachua
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Fe High School 4

Posted June 28, 2012
- a student
I graduated from SFHS in 2010. There were good and bad sides to going there. Some of the teachers were rather lackluster and spent too much time focusing on the FCAT (in my 10th grade English class, we barely read any of the classic books the teacher said we would, and instead spent months working on punctuation, even though it was the highest level class), but I LOVED all of my AP teachers/courses, especially European History. I was in the band, which is a phenomenal program with an amazing director, and yearbook, which was also great, though the adviser has since changed. Not the best place for sports though, especially football. The principal was also amazing, and very focused on the students. I believe he just retired though, so hopefully they'll find someone that can fill his shoes.

Santa Fe High School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
Great school and teachers. However, the football team could use some help, so come in and play! By the way, our band is awsome, with I think at least 10 State Championships, the football with two.


Santa Fe High School 3

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
I am also currently attending Santa Fe and am about to enter my tenth grade year. There are a handful of excellent teachers who create motivation in students but there are also teachers who are rather ignorant of what they teach as well as how exactly to motivate students. The campus itself is improving as it is expanding. So, perhaps, the school will improve. Yet, the whole reason I arrived at this site is to see what other schools are near that I may wish to join.

Santa Fe High School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a student
I am currently a student at SFHS and I love being here. The classes are challenging and they make you think. All of the classes are not easy, if you work hard enough then you will get the grade you deserve. The focus on the FCAT a lot and because of all the preparation people pass the FCAT. SFHS is basically a great school. We don't have problems with drugs and it has a great school environment overall.

Santa Fe High School 1

Posted February 10, 2008
- a student
I am a student at SFHS and I hate it. I get A's and B's and classes are easy. But then again, how hard would you expect a class to be on 'how to pass the FCAT'? The entire school is geared towards passing the FCAT just to keep the school well rated, but there are ALOT of drugs being moved NOT SAFE


Santa Fe High School 4

Posted April 25, 2007
- a student
I went to SFHS as did my sister and I can say that I had a great education there. I was able to join numerous clubs and was in band for 4 years. I went off to a great college and had no trouble keeping up. It's a great country school.

Santa Fe High School 1

Posted June 25, 2006
- a student
I am a current dual enrolled student from Santa Fe High. I found the campus difficult to learn on with too much of an element on 'Pass the FCAT'. I feel that the faculty/staff put too much of a stress on that in order to keep the school highly rated in the 'school grading program'. I would not go back to the school from the SFCC Dual Enrollment Program because in that environment I felt unsafe, with poorly motivated teachers who could not motivated the students.

Santa Fe High School 1

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
Unsafe - violent campus. Heavy drug element on campus, frequent 'lock-downs' for canine / police searches. Student's personal items are often stolen.


Santa Fe High School 5

Posted March 24, 2006
- a parent
Santa Fe High is a 'home town' feeling school with a Quality Academic and Extracurricular programs, we have Parents involved long after their children have graduated.Teachers and other Staff are very approachable. I would recommend this school to anyone who cares about their childs education

Santa Fe High School 4

Posted February 04, 2006
- a parent
My child is in 9th grade and we have been happy with Santa Fe thus far. The teachers seem to be willing to help my child succeed and the athletic program has been great as well.

Nearby schools

Santa Fe High School
16213 Northwest US Highway 441, Alachua, FL  32615
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (386) 462-1125
Last modified Santa Fe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top