Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 680 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

I agree with everything the last poster stated. The woman running the front desk is so rude and disrespectful. I'm so disgusted with it all right now that I'm looking into other options for my kid. The first place they should start cleaning house though is reception.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

This school needs some mayor cleaning house. Starting with the staff at the front desk! They are always rude and treat the students and parents with no respect at all. The level of communication between parents , teachers and saff is disgusting. The quality of teachers is very poor. There are very few that take pride in being a teacher. It really is a shame and I would never recommend this school to anyone! There is a reason why they are a C school !!! The entire front office staff needs to be Fired!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

This school consistently underperforms, and their standards continue to slide toward failing. Look at the test results. Look at the misspellings of the parent comments in these reviews. Draw your own conclusions based on the facts. I'd wager most of these recent positive reviews were staff-generated. Time to clean house. Top to bottom, this school is failing the children, and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

I really love this school. The school principal is strict and wants every student to do great in their school and wants every student to do their best effort.The stuff are nice and try to help you the best they can! I give this school a 5 star
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Nice school, I loved it for my daughter 4th and 5th grade year. She did enjoy it as well. I recommend this elementary school to anyone, students are disciplined and teachers are interested in the students. Unlike, her high school Crooms Academy, which I do NOT recommend, due simply to the fact of their being so many troublemakers their, they have lead my daughter to drop out.


Posted May 30, 2013

I've now had two children, one boy and one girl, complete 6 years at Spring Lake, and I feel that over the years the school has continually done the best it can with the resources it's given. Demographics have changed with the changing economy, there's been a lot of construction nearby, and the school itself has been renovated, yet the staff continues to make due and tries to keep the kids focused. The gifted program is limited, but everything is limited... I wouldn't eat the school's lunch! Moreover, I have seen the "little things" that teachers here have done, things that they are not required to do and not paid to do, but they do anyway because it's who they are. I wish our tax base gave this school a sizable budget. Image what they could do then! Note that I give 5 stars for parental involvement because that indicates whether the SCHOOL does a good job with it. The parents here are not very involved. And a special shout out to Mr. Toth, the music teacher. He manages to engage the kids with so few resources. Everything I've ever seen him do is done right, from rehearsal schedules to music selection to the efficient manner in which he runs performances. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

I have a second grader and a first grader in this school and I think that their teachers are very good. I appreciate the fact that I am informed of my sons' progress. I also found it great that when my second grader was tested for being gifted and instead was found to be advanced, instead of keeping him on the same easy lesson planned, they offered him an opportunity to go to an advanced learning class throughout the week to push him. I have no complaints about this school and I am planning on sending my youngest to PK here next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

I would like to first off say my child loves going here and her teacher. It gets a little frustrating somedays with their rules/policies, but in the long run I do understand them. I do just ask that they supervise their safety patrol students more, it is a privilege and some of them abuse it. Lastly to the parent with the child that didn't eat, the make sure every child eats. All they do is send home a little yellow paper telling you there is a balance due. I purposely moved to this side of Altamonte to have my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I am still trying to figure out this school. I have just moved to this state and Spring Lake was the school choosen for my child. My child is 5 years old. I went to open house and registration and i was not told that my child had to bring money or her own lunch just to eat on the first day. My child went all day wwithout eating anything. She said she asked the lunch lady for some food and she told her no, that she should have came earlier. What kind of person turn a child down on food when they are hungry? What kind of school let a child sit in class without eating? Why they did not call me and say that she needed some food? It is hard for anyone to concentrate when they are hungry. I still have mixed reviews on this school. NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND my child was left out
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

disappointed over lack of communication from my son's teacher. Problem brought to the attention of the principal, vice principal and guidance. This year has been a waste of time for my son. He is special ed and I felt that he should have been moved to another class room. As a parent we should have the choice of which school to send our children but the so called school choice program is not honored by seminole county. I do not recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

As hopeful as I was enrolling my second grader to this school it has been much to my dissappointment. This school has a SERIOUS lack of communication problem. If this school is a great as some have indicated I certainly have yet to see it. Their website is pittiful and not always up to date. The teachers sites are poorly maintained. At best this school is mediocre which is very dissappointing after all the hype of "Seminole Public Schools being better than most other Counties" . Wake up Seminole here is a dud. Now my childs last school was lead very well, and had passionate and caring teachers, an awesone and ACTIVE PTA with tons of activities all year long. Communication was received daily about my childs progress or school events, class events etc.. The kids took pride in their school and in themselves. Not only were the kids pushed academically but in all areas of responsibility. We miss it VERY much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

My daughter came to this school in 1st grade, as the year went on my husband and I were more and more disappointed with the overall education and academics at this school. She thankfully had a great teacher who helped her excel in her reading, but as far as everything else..it was very disappointing. They don't teach proper handwriting, the don't have a good music class or PE class, they didn't have any type of recognition for the kids throughout the year such as awards or ceremonies. I'm so glad my daughter will not be attending this school next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

My son love it and i feel very safe in taking my son there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I think my kid is very hapy 2 be in spring lake and he has a nice teacher named ms.moore! KKK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I have had 2 and then 3 children attending this school in the last 3 years. I feel that the new principal has let school performance drop and I've been told by my 4th and 5th graders that the students do not respect the principal. There have been incidents at the school that have given me pause and going from an A to a B school has not given me confidence in the new leadership of the school. As such, we are moving into a better school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

My daughter's 1st grade teacher (Ms. Hartsfield) was excellent. Her other teachers have been mediocre. There seems to be a lot of underlying hostility among staff at this school. Parent involvement is low as parents are not really encouraged to be around. The lunchroom situation last year was unbelievable. I haven't been to the cafeteria this year to see if things have changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

My son attends the school. I feel it depends on the teacher. I also worked in the school and there is a lot of issues with the teachers and the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

My son went to Spring Lake from k-5 and had great teachers all years. I just wish he had a better principal, one who showed better leadership and was more caring for the students. The support staff was also awesome. We hope the teachers are as good in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

The teacher in the beginning of the year was very attentive and checked their homework. However since the beginnig of January the teacher has not shown interest anymore in teachinng. I believe the amount of students in a class could sometimes be overwellming. Principal needs to get more involved with teachers and families not just at PTA meetings. This school also lacks a lot of extracurricular activities and sportsmanship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My son is in 2nd grade at Spring Lake Elementary and we love the school! We have been very fortunate to have had some wonderful teachers who really care about the kids and enjoy teaching. We had considered sending my son to private school, but after talking with other parents and a few meetings at the school, we chose Spring Lake. The quality of education at the school is excellent. The school is an 'A' school and receives a lot of extra benefits due to Title 1 funding. The guidance staff is exceptional, as is the secretary, Pat Hauza. It is very easy for does a wonderful job and is always welcoming new members. The dividend program is great and is a wonderful way to help out. The library is very impressive, as are the librarians. Dr. Schmook is an excellent principal and the school is very well run.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 48%
White 25%
Black 20%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%53%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NOMIE KUNIAK
Fax number
  • (407) 746-1699

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

695 Orange Avenue
Altamonte Springs, FL 32714
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-1650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Annunciation Catholic Academy
Altamonte Springs, FL


Forest City Elementary School
Altamonte Springs, FL


Champion Preparatory Academy
Altamonte Springs, FL



Alternative Choices In Education
Altamonte Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT