Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1067 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2014

The teachers are good for the most part, you definitely need one that does not stick to the horrible curriculum that Seminole County bought. Go Math is atrocious. Reading Street is no better - unless you have teachers that think outside the box (and break the "rules"). It's a shame that common core and the ridiculous amounts of testing that come with it came along and I miss the old principal. It hasn't been the same since she left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

My daughter was diagnosed with a learning disability and language disability. At Bear Lake, she gets 5 days a week push in with the LD teacher working with her. It works out great because she stays in class and doesn't miss any instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

School is bad because of the teachers and lack of rules. Lots of laziness and waste of potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

We have had two children come through Bear Lake, and we love it! The school is like a big family for us. The teachers are the best, so knowledgeable and caring! Our Principal is kind and enthusiastic, positive, caring, and full of great ideas! The parent involvement and opportunities to serve through PTA, SAC, and Dividends are numerous, and we have high parental involvement. The front office staff is friendly, and parents and children feel welcomed and appreciated. Bear Lake is a fantastic school, and exemplary in any arena, public or private! The school offers challenges for all students academically, and we have lots of clubs and activities to meet student interests, too. Our music teacher is especially amazing with the Bear Lake Sound Ensemble. Running Club is a huge, positive, challenging program. The Reading program and Technology are amazing, as is our award-winning Robotics Club. I cannot say enough about this wonderful, happy place that both my children have loved attending!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

I have had at least one child in this school continuously for the last 21 years. We even stayed at Bear Lake when the area was rezoned many years ago. We love Bear Lake!! The staff truly treats the students like one of their own..all the way down to the cafeteria manager,(Teresa you are great!) The school went above and beyond when we were going through some tough times in the last couple iof years.. I cannot say enough great things about this school..I will certainly miss it when the last of mine finish this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

As with any school there are different types of teachers. We have had two amazing teachers, two great teachers, and one teacher that I would have liked to drop kick. lol But the school itself is great. Great after and before school activities. The schools scores are one of the top in the area. We moved here from out of state and I know that it is extremely hard to pick a school and an are to live in when you are hundreds of miles away. You will not go wrong living in the Bear Lake district. Teague Middle and Lake Brantley High are also great schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

I am an employee as well as a parent of two sons who went through Bear Lake for all of their elementary years. Of course, I am biased since I am an employee here; however, I can tell you that Bear Lake is as fantastic both from the 'outsider's' as well as from this 'insider's' perspective as far as quality, academic/extra curricular offerings, special education support, before/after school tutoring, counseling support, administrative leadership, and lastly, quality employees throughout. Bear Lake has been an A school more often than not and has been the receipient of the 5 Star School award consistently for years! Many employees have found a home at Bear Lake and have remained for 20, 30+ years. By the same token, new teachers bring fresh ideas, perspectives & energy to this well established school. As a parent & employee, I sing the praises of the great things happening here!


Posted July 18, 2009

Excellent school with wonderful, caring teachers. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

Awesome Elementary School! Great teachers & wonderful parent participation. Positive in learning and manners as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Go Mrs Mora!!-1st grade- You are a GREAT teacher..This is the best school my kids have ever been to.They actually love going to school now.Good job. AC-parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I have been with the Bear lake Family For 18 Years Yes 18 and I am very proud to say having a 1st grader and starting all over with the caring offfice family The Teachers the best teachers in all of Florida The Best Kitchen famiy They look out for our childern!! They are childern not numbers at Bear lake,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

The attention that teachers at Bear Lake give to their students is outstanding! My son was having a hard time learning in kindergarten and Mrs. Sievers went above and beyond expectations in helping me realize that his vision was what hindered his learning abilities. Together with Mrs. Lyons, my son has been referred and tested by an eye specialist. He now has the proper glasses and has shown much improvement. I have been thrilled with Bear Lake and the teachers since my oldest daughter began several years ago. From Mrs. Hunter (now Mrs. Mora), Mrs. Sievers, and Mrs. Kelly, I could not be more impressed or satisfied with my children's learning and how they continue to amaze me daily. I cannot thank this school or the staff enough (especially the teachers mentioned). My respect always, A VERY happy parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

My oldest son went all 6 years and my other 2 also attend. Coach Horne is great with Running Club. Mrs. Hart, Ms Henderson, Mrs. Hertlein, Mrs Klote and Mrs Mitchell were wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

This school was great when I went there. I received a great education and the teachers were exceptional.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 23, 2006

A fine elementary school. It has one of the top music teachers, Dr. Almeida, so if your child is musically inclined, he or she will have a great resource in her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

It is a very organized, reliable and safe school for the kids, teachers are friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Impressed with the parents involvement and the expertise of the teachers and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Our son has been going there since kindergarten and he is now in 3rd grade, our experience has been wonderful, the teachers are excellent. He loves changing classes now that he's in 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

Bear Lake Elementary is an absolutely excellent school. Children love the teachers who seem to try to go the extra mile to make it special for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

Bear Lake Elementary does an outstanding job of developing each child's abilities. My son in completing the 3rd grade and I was very impressed with the ability-based groupings for math, english, social studies, and science. He is very high in english/ss, and average in math, so it was very helpful for him to be able to be challenged in his higher area. He also enjoyed moving from class to class. I am very impressed with the administration, especially the office staff and the principal, Jo LeBlanch. When there is a parental concern there is access to the teachers and a response back within 24 hours. Overall we have been very impressed with Bear Lake Elementary. Even though it is one of the bigger schools in Seminole County, it is also one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

181 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 25%
Black 9%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3399 Gleaves Court
Apopka, FL 32703
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-5550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Champion Preparatory Academy
Altamonte Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT