Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mayport Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 381 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

My child started Kindergarten here last year and I thought her teacher, Ms. Haines, was extremely organized and helpful. The classroom itself was very organized, clean and distraction free. My child moved along nicely and I could see her progress over the year to prepare her for the next grade. As a Kindergartener, she went on a dozen field trips as well! I was very satisfied with the school overall. They had a few events, like Family night and Sea Dads throughout the year to keep parents and children involved in the school. They sent home a weekly newsletter with important dates and reminders. They have an excellent media center, a coastal science room with an aquarium and touch tank, art, music and P.E. which all focus around coastal sciences. My only issue was that there is no recess. They went out, I believe once a week rather than at least once a day. I drove from base housing at NS Mayport to this school everyday (~5 minutes one way) for a whole year and I do not regret my decision to drive the extra distance to take her there. From my experience, I really like this school and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

I live in Texas before but because my husband job i had to move to JAX .I felt very concern that i wanted to find a great school for my son and mayport elementary throughout this year my child been there i do not regret my choice very good school in everything. It was awesome to have my child here he really enjoy this year know he have a lot of friend and he dont miss Texas .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

We searched long and hard to make sure we picked the right school for our child. We pondered on whether to send him private school or if there was a magnet school option that would fit his learning needs. We have been at Mayport for 2 years now. The first week of Kindergarten I walked into the Principal's office expressing some concerns I had. She very quickly addressed them. The teachers, staff and Principal are all very involved in our child's safety and learning experience. I truly believe they are there because they love their job. I can see the joy my son has when he comes home from school each day with the new things he has learned. They keep the parents informed on a regular basis with phone calls about upcoming events and weekly flyers. They have also been offering breakout sessions for us to learn more about other things like bullying or common core. We are truly happy with the choice we made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

I like the fact that our school offers programs for us on how to help enrich our children and help them to become great leaders of our world. My children have done very well and succeded in so many ways. We have great people that work here and continue to strive to get our students where they want to go or be. There is no price on what they offer. I am proud to say I am a Mayport Elementary Parent and Volunteer. Please keep up the Good work.. We love our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Mayport Coastal Sciences Elementary Acadamy is our school & we are PROUD to say that. We had our daughter come over in 5th grade with the Magnet Program a7 ended up with straight A's. This year we have a daughter in 1st grade plus kindergarten last year. An EXCELLENT school to have our children in,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I'm a former student from Mayport, I was there from Kindergarten to 4th grade when I was transferred to Washington State. Admittedly, Mayport is probably the best school I went to. My experience with the staff had been amazing, but as I read more, it's disappointing to see how long it has fallen.


Posted June 24, 2012

My child attended Kindergarten at Mayport Elementary. Being a military family it was hard for me moving here and not knowing what the schools were like but I hoped for the best and tried to make the best of it. My child was placed with a teacher that did not care to do her job she did not supervise the children and bullying was a huge issue for us my child lost interest in school and dreaded going to school everyday. I requested a move to another class and his new teacher was a godsend! She met with me and discussed how I can help his progress at home gave me tools to help get him where he should be academically and she really put forth effort to help each child individually which is very hard to do! By far best teacher in that school! My child was reading and writing and loved his new teacher! I do not recommend this school because it doesn't offer any programs, it has a foul smell when you walk in and the staff in my opinion lacks professionalism in their dress and the way they address us parents. Thank God for the magnet programs in FL my child will have the opportunity to attend an "a" school next year with great programs and a lot of teacher/parent/ community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

We were new to the area and of course I did a review on the school and I was pretty nervous about my children going here, but apparently this year they have a new principal and they are a Coastal Science magnet school and I absolutely love the school. My children are happy, they are learning a lot and doing very well and they absolutely love learning about the coastal sciences. I never once heard either one of my kids say that they didn't want to go to school, in fact, they get upset if they have to miss school because they are too sick to go. I am very happy with how they run things, I feel that my children are secure and safe, and from what I was told of the school before, I think they definitely stepped it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

This school was pretty good. My son was lucky to get an amazing teacher and that really helped his experience there. But overall it's a pretty average school with nothing special to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

From what I see the school has been on a downward spiral over the past three years by looking at the test scores.


Posted April 29, 2010

Mayport Elementary strives and does the best they can everyday to ensure that the families and the community is provided top notch education. The staff is remarkable and caring! They have a long history of supporting our troops and the military base which is wonderful especially since this is a military town. I am thankful and very appreciative to Mayport Elementary for all their efforts and I take my hat off to them for a job well done!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My daughter is in her second year at Mayport. While we have been very lucky to have 2 fantastic teachers, the rest of the staff and teachers are very poor. I am constantly witnessing teachers screaming and yelling at the children. Most of the teachers are not warm and caring but cold and unwelcoming. The principal is also very cold. She does not seem to know how to relate to young children and speaks to them as if they were robots. My daughter nor my son entering Kindergarten will not be attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

My son goes there and I am very happy and satisfied with his teachers and all the staff I've come in contact with. I am very grateful for the teachers he has that have helped him so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

This school has been very supportive of my children and my family! My son, a fourth grader, is excelling in every subject. My daughter, a first grader, adores her teacher and the rest of the staff. They really feel like they are part of a huge family! Thank you Mayport!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

There is a new principal at the school who is welcoming and inviting to parents, smart about the academic work and and clearly has a heart for kids. She has only been there since July but has already made some great visual changes and has challenged the teachers by making them step into the world of Web 2.0. She has also taken back the PTA, which for a while was being run by a limited few 'over bearing' parents who think that they have the right to push people around; this will give the rest of us a chance to be a part of this 'learning community.' I wish her all of the luck in the world and just know that she is going to do GREAT! She has a blog which you can check out (as do all of her teachers) at: http://duvalimagineer.blogspot.com/the school's website is: http://www.duvalschools.org/mayport/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

I went to this school. The teachers are great and I learned a lot.The principal wasnt so great. I know that there are a lot of bad reviews about her but shes retiring. She was to concerned about the childrens safety cause she didnt like the location. Thats why the fence is there. I would recommend this school for any one that wanted to be able to work at their own pace and have great teachers. The people in the clinic and front desk are great to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

The principal at this school is by far the worst one I have to deal with. The school as a whole doesn't really care for the children's education, if you have the opportunity to have your kids go else where by all means jump on it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

I have 3 boys going to this school. I was worried at first because I heard bad things. My boys having been going here for two years now. They make straight A's. Teachers are great and love the principle. They care alot about their students and what happens to them. Great School. I will recommend anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

I absolutely love this school! I became a volunteer with the school the year before (2006) my daughter started kindergarten here. All of the staff were receptive and apprectiative of me volunteering, which in my opinion says a lot about the openness and foundation of the school. Since my daughter has started kindergarten this year her teacher has been wonderful, helping her and guiding her along the way so that she would be fully prepared for 1st grade. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I have had the pleasure of being part of the Mayport Elementary parent community for 9 years with my 3 children. As a Navy mom I am sorry that more military families have not taken advantage of this school and because of this we have lost a lot of great teachers due to low enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Black 22%
Hispanic 9%
Two or more races 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%65%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. YVONNE M FERGUSON
Fax number
  • (904) 247-5990

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2753 Shangri La Drive
Atlantic Beach, FL 32233
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 247-5988

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori Tides School
Atlantic Beach, FL


Monument Christian Academy
Atlantic Beach, FL


The Seaside Playgarden Inc
Atlantic Beach, FL



The Beaches School
Neptune Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT