Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

413 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atlantic Beach Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Atlantic Beach Elementary offers the warmth and welcome of a neighborhood school while providing the rigor and challenge of an Advanced and Technical Magnet. We have toured different counties, schools, programs, charters, and officially decided on ABE. We have never looked back. The school offers a comprehensive learning experience for all students. Children from older grades read to younger grades, students share planting and harvesting in the garden, and children from all ages walk the hallways with respect and pride. We are so happy to have 3 of our 4 children attending. We hope to have all 4 attending soon!

Atlantic Beach Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The students are proud of their school. More importantly, the children respect and admire the staff and teachers. This breeds and instills honesty and integrity.


Atlantic Beach Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I want to say Thank you To Everyone. The School Leader, The staff, the teachers, the students, and the parents.

Atlantic Beach Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! My children arrive home more determined than me. They speak about the planets, the lunch conversation, and the fun things they learned at music!

Atlantic Beach Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
We have experienced children reaching out to others who have tripped and fallen as well as those who reach a hand out to someone who may not speak their language. It is a community.


Atlantic Beach Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
This school has been such a wonderful choice for our very active son. The fact that it is smaller gives has helped him to not get lost in the group. The outdoor track, shaded play area, and extra PE teacher have been such a blessing in a time when so many schools are getting rid of outdoor exercise during the school day. We have had 2 years of fantastic teachers who truly love and cheer for our son's success. There is a great sense of community at Atlantic Beach Elementary, and we are enjoying watching our son blossom there! -Parent of 1st grader

Atlantic Beach Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
Atlantic Beach Elementary is a wonderful neighbhorhood school. Fantastic faculty, staff and principal. We are a new family to the ABE community and have been really impressed with this school.

Atlantic Beach Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a community member
Substitute Teacher. This is by far the most enjoyable school I have worked at in all of the DCPS school system. I was able to network with teachers and actually teach the entire lesson plan. The students did their work. They even got the answers correct as a whole group. My time there was filled with encouragement directed towards the students. Special activities used as motivational tools designed to add balance to the work schedule. Let them cut loose for a bit. Then give them work. It is completed and then one to the next group. I was able to make connections with students who had problems then solve their problems and watched them smile back at me. It was like a picture perfect movie down to the maintenance of the school. Even the janitors went out of their way to make a perfect stranger smile. This is what I was hoping for in my line of work. Only bad thing about ABE is now I am cursed by its beauty and must go to other DCPS schools and daydream about returning to the beach to see the next generation that I want to take care of me in my old age, and vote in elections, be my doctor or lawyer. Teach my kids, possibly just run into at the store and say Hi. Send your kids to ABE


Atlantic Beach Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
We are Midwestern transplants coming from terrific Blue Ribbon schools. We were moving to Atlantic Beach and we were very concerned with the reputation of the public schools. We prefer sending our children to school with neighborhood kids but we were willing to do whatever it takes to give our kids a great educational experience. We spent considerable time researching the private, parochial and the public school opportunities for our children and after interviewing parents and faculty who seemed equally committed to great education (and who raved about ABE), we chose to send our daughter to Atlantic Beach Elementary. It was a very good decision for us. She continued getting straight A s, she scored 5 s on the FCAT and was elected to Student Council. We are very satisfied with our decision and thrilled to be a part of such a dynamic community. MH

Atlantic Beach Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Excellent teachers, strong parent involvement/PTA, beautiful facility. I really like the after school enrichment classes offered, which include art, tennis, oceanography, math, yoga, crafts, and more.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlantic Beach Elementary School
298 Sherry Drive, Atlantic Beach, FL  32233
(904) 247-5924
Last modified Atlantic Beach Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Atlantic Beach Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top