Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walter Caldwell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 630 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2014

the staff is rude and unhelpful will let my daughter finish this year and then will be moving her elsewhere I am one very unhappy parent with the way the teachers handle incidents and don't like the school nurse at all, pretty sure I've been talked about with staff and parents considering the treatment I get when I am there but that's fine won't be back .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I was very pleased with the school when my grandson attended, his teacher was very helpful and supportive. the office staff was very kind and helpful as well. one of the best schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I was a student at Caldwell some of the staff were very mean , I felt Like sometimes I was in prison more than school. I didn't feel like the teachers tried to help all of the students, I myself didn't even learn to read till I was going into second grade. Like other reviews said it's like the teachers are there for the pay check not for the children. Don't get me wrong there are some very good teachers there. So I would advise parents to just be involved and ask there children about there day daily.


Posted September 19, 2008

My children have been going to Caldwell for 2 years now and I am very pleased with the school as far as academics go. I am not pleased with the way most teachers and staff there are. I know this is suppose to be a 5 star school and it more then likely would be but with the staff being the way that they are I would rate this school a 2 maybe 2.5. If you child starts complaining to you that his/her teacher is being mean please listen to your child because 9/10 they are telling you the truth. Most of the staff is there to get a pay check and are not there for your Child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

This school is very unorganized, unfriendly staff, and geared toward testing and not teaching! I took my children out as soon as I could. Best decision I could have made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

My Children Have gone to Caldwell for 4 years. I have had some problems but not anything that I would say is very bad. I feel that some of the teachers try for the Children But most of them don`t seem to care about the learning prosses that the Children are needing. As far as arts and Music my oldest son seemed to like it but my youngest son did not seem to want it. I will say this to all of you ather Parents out there. Please be involved with your Children if they go to Caldwell. And always listen to what they have to say. Bottom line I think that the School is tring very hard alls they need is a few things that they need to change. Good Luck To all of you and your Family in the Future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

- caring administrators - knowledgeable teachers - challenging curriculim
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I did not have a very good experience with this school; in fact I took my child out as soon as I could. Most of the staff seemed unfriendly toward myself and my child. Lack of discipline is my biggest complaint about Caldwell. Other children were allowed to stay in the class and disrupt it, even though they were the same problem children over and over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

I am very pleased with walter caldwell, we came from orlando 2 years ago, And the teaching is 100% compared to the orlando schools. My kids love to attend school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I have two children that have attended Walter Caldwell Elementary School. This school has provided a very positive learning atmosphere that has boosted their self esteem and made volunteering a pleasure. The music and art programs provided a variety of opportunities for my children to explore their potential in a variety of performances and instrumental instruction. The principal and vice principal are kind, caring, and readily accessable whenever I needed clarification or assistance regarding circumstances involving my children or the school in general. I found the resource staff exceptional in keeping my ADHD child motivated and really liking school again. She progressed a whole year the 5 months she attended the first year and 1.5 grades the second year she was there.(she disliked her last school so much that she would make herself ill to avoid going.)Both my children couldn't wait to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

My daughter is receiving an excellent education at this institution. The cadre are top-notch professionals that truly love their profession and it shows. Having been a graduate myself, I highly recommend this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 26%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%66%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DERON WLLIAMS
Fax number
  • (863) 965-5473

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

141 Dairy Road
Auburndale, FL 33823
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 965-5470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Anchor Academy
Auburndale, FL


Immanuel Lutheran
Winter Haven, FL



Hartridge Academy
Winter Haven, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT