Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bartow Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 814 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

my school is horrible there is always cursing and smoking i would not recommend it


Posted April 9, 2014

My daughter is in 7th grade. This is her first year here. She hasn't had any issues at this school. As matter of fact she went to a school of choice up to this year and actually her grades are improved and in 3 advanced classes. This school has issues along with all the rest with keeping teachers however I'm happy with this school . Parent of a 7th grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

this school refuses to focus on the problem with teaching. they prefer to pass the blame on insignificant things such as the color of your childs binder. they are training drones and not teaching children. there is no talking at lunch, they cannot even sit with their friends during lunch, no backpacks, no organized binders allowed.....etc.etc. incompetence at it worst!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

This school continues to get worse every year my child has gone here. Not only has it become less organized but the way some of the administration and staff treat the students is unacceptable, it is bad enough to have students being bullied by other students but when adults are bullying students it's even worse. While there are some really caring and great teachers at the school the negatives definitely outweigh the positives. If you have a choice enroll your child somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Too many disrespectful, unruly kids there, looking to cause fights, do drugs, and lead others down the wrong path. Worst mistake I made was to send both my daughter, then my granddaughter there..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I am glad that my child is going to Bartow Middle because I went this School when I was in my eighth grade year and I had enjoyed it myself and I hope my Child will Like this School as Well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

Bartow has a wonderful office staff. They are always friendly and ready to help you with any questions or concerns. The principal keeps everything in line and organized which makes me feel at ease about my child attending Bartow Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

I think that BMS could do more for it's students. I think that there is too much focus on FCAT and not enough focus on teaching things outside of the realm of FCAT. I belive that Polk County School Board should think more about educating the students then just pushing them through. The parents need to be more involved in their child's education...you just don't see that anymore. It is sad for our children to be left behind this way. Our futures depend on them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

I think BMS is awesome!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2005

Bartow Middle School, known as BMS, is a wonderful institution of learning. The teachers there are caring and are very qualified. BMS has over 5 nationally board certified teachers, with more teachers obtaining their national certification every year. The adminstartion is also very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

it is a very good school with mr tucker and mr williams mr coplien and mr adams. The bmtv is very good to. my son almost got straight a but one b in mrs. james.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

287 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

267 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 26%
Black 23%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAMELA HENDERSON
Fax number
  • (863) 534-7418

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 East Clower Street
Bartow, FL 33830
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 534-7415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT