Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ruth K. Broad Bay Harbor K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1265 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

This school is GREAT. High academic level, teachers extra dedicated an excelent option in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

Esta es escuela tiene muy buenos profesores, muy organizada, se preocupan mucho por el nivel educativo de los estudiantes, Mi hija esta en 4ta grado. She is happy in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

my school is awesome ,i say my school but my grandchildren going i so happy great teacher ,communication ,motivated class ,i neirborght for many year so happy


Posted July 22, 2012

We are very pleased with this school. Our son will be going into 1st grade and he can't wait to start this year after a great kindergarten year! Wonderful principal, great communication, wonderful staff and parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

We are very pleased with the school. Our daughter has been there for three years and will be starting fifth grade this fall. She had a wonderful teacher last year, Mrs. Bucalo, who inspired and motivated the class throughout the year. The administration and principal are well organized, vigilent and caring about their students and the community. My child has recently started counting the days until school starts; now that's a good sign!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I have been extremely happy with this School. My daughter came from Brazil in the middle of the school year, and the teachers / staff have been so wonderful and helpefull to her. They are great and I'm very please with all that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2010

i have been going to this school since i was in kindergarten. i graduated from 8th grade last year. i have to say that i got the best education and teachers every year. the staff is very nice and you learn a lot with the teachers. every staff member and teacher at this school knows what they are doing and does their best. a lot of the teachers at this school have been teaching here for over 20/30 years.


Posted November 18, 2010

Ruth K. Broad is a needle in a haystack.. This is an extraordinary school. I know this because I go to many schools in Dade-County to do lectures. I have seen it all. This school is one of a kind. Some parents don't understand this because they have not seen the other schools in the county.. They are overcrowded. The children don't even have their own classrooms.. They are separated not by walls but by a blackboards. Our school is haven for learning the teachers are outstanding and the PTA is none to surpass if your child is in this school say a blessing every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I love Ruth K. Broad Elem. because it is a joy to come and teach. I have supporting administration, parents, and colleagues. I can't say enough for my parents. They are concerned if I need anything or if there child is making progress. I can sit anad talk and discuss solutions if needed. The school is school friendly. The P.T.A. is outstanding. I have my materials to teach with and if not I am provided with them. The atmosphere at my school is (mulicious) that means good. I get an extra bonus by coming to my school because I cross the bridge and see the ocean. Great scenery that allows me to have peace sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

This is a wonderful learning evironment for our kids. The principal, staff and teachers are very caring and supportive. This school is a model for what all public schools should be like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

This is an awesome school with great teachers, involved parents, and a supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Great school, awesome teachers!!! The Best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Because it provides a great learning experience to my little brother!


Posted September 29, 2010

They cares about my kids and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

This is a tremendous school. The principal is loving, caring, compassionate. The teachers are superb and hard working. The PTA is sensational... always there to lend a hand whatever way they can. A child is fortunate to go to schol at Ruth K. Broad Bay Harbor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

RKBBH K-8 is an excellent school. I am a teacher there and my child attends the school as well. We have been an "A" school for many years and we won't stop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Great school with a very active PTA always there to help! The principal is the best! Teachers are top quality and have a group of volunteers always willng to lend a helping hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

The teachers, parents and administrators all care about the success of the school and its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

the involvement of the community in the school is outstanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

The classes are challenging and fun at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 29%
White 41% 42%
Black 3% 23%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%58%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1155 93rd St
Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 865-7912

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph's School
Miami Beach, FL



Yeshiva Elementary
Miami Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT