Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Belleview Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1009 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

Sorry to leave Belleview and remove our Honor Class Student, as the schools are far superior over many in the Marion County, and the teachers, support staff and office staff are all wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

This is school is way to political. One dean in particular only seems to care about "making examples" of certain students to further her own career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

This school and it's teachers really pushed their political opinions on the students during this election season. Teaching the students about politics is one thing, but don't tell them how to think and feel about candidates or political parties.


Posted August 23, 2011

the first one i completely support. its an very easy way to some up the school it is mean and rude. but really my fav teacher was mrs.watkins!!!!! you rocked even though your class was one of the most hard classes ive ever taken


Posted June 16, 2011

VERY upset and dissapointed in this school, it's Principal ,and my sons teachers! My son attended 6 th grade at Belleview Middle 2010-2011.The Office employees are very friendly and knowlegable,however the guidence office employees are RUDE and don't know how to guide you at all.Basically I found myself always playing detective just to get my son through each and every day .My sons teachers were RUDE and INTIMIDATING !They had NO IDEA how to teach and address children with the learning dissability of ADD/ADHD.My son was so intimidated by 4 out of 5 of his teachers.Making this entire school year just intolerable!Most mornings my child was in tears and sick to his stomach about what layed in store for him each day at this school.Only one of my son's teachers actually understood his dissability and treated him with love, care, and respect.She made him feel great about himself.YOU ROCK MRS.DONNA SMITH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

great administration; staff's respect, and effort to teach the children - especially by rewarding good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

If students would stop teasing and being bullys to other students, the school would probably rate a 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This is my daughters second year at Belleview Middle and up to this point the school has been terrific! The teacher's are involved with the students,and as parents we are encouraged to stay involved with our daughter's school work/homework on a daily basis. We also receive phone calls periodically to keep us updated on the school's information. The only concern is that during P.E. time , when the gym is in use, there is an absence of the air conditioner. There are separate weight/health class rooms that have air, just the gymnasium stays hot and stuffy. This should be reconsidered for the health of the students because of such a hot climate we live in. Overall, we are very pleased with the school and the teacher's care for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Parent envolvement,what you put in you get back! Needs more programs for art,music etc.Academic programs could be stronger in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

my kids have been attending the school for a couple years now. as far as i know there are academic programs available. my oldest has regular classes and does well. my second child doesn't do so well and has been held back and has remedial classes to help with reading and testing skills for the fcat. as far as music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities, I'm sure there are some. my kids only choose to show up to the fellowship of christian athletes meetings and that's about all they choose to do. they ride the bus to and from school so that also prohibits them from staying after school from additional activities. (unless its detention). as far as level of parent involvement, i've been on field trips with the kids and enjoy that a lot. i know there is a pta /committee type thing that is available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I love this school, my daughter went from a C and D grade, to A's and B's. She is happier about going to school, and comes home daily telling us this she had found out that she didn't know before. This school seems to have excited her about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

339 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

367 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

358 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 22%
Black 9%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%63%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10500 Southeast 36th Avenue
Belleview, FL 34420
Phone: (352) 671-6235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT