Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

318 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (17 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (16 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (16 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (16 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (23 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (19 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (14 responses)
characters left.
There are 232 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I am extremely grateful my daughter goes here!!! The staff at this school is so caring. My child has even had the new teacher two years in a row and we still couldn't be happier. This school truly feels like the community of a private school. The faculty and staff know my child and my family. Sometimes I do wish they had school dances or some other "standard" public school events, but I'm thrilled and blessed with what we have. Even the small school feel is such a blessing. If you message the principal, they will respond, and very quickly. Your child is not just a number here!!

Somerset Academy Boca East
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Stephanie Trew, our son's first grade teacher! She has been so caring and has taught our son so much this year. She has a patient and caring heart along with a gift for teaching. We feel blessed to have had her this year. Thank you for pouring so much into our students, they all love you. We love you too! Thank you for being such a great first grade teacher!


Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
-Please parents, to blame the teachers for your child's behavior. -I've been at this school for 3 years, they have never demanded money, it's always optional, you choose to send your child to a charter school you need to understand how it works, if you don't, then go to a public school. If you cant volunteer or pay for the volunteer hours, if you cant afford uniforms, then a charter school is not for you and will have to go to a public school and follow their curriculum completely. -If you think too much homework is too much then you're setting your kid to be "average", again, stay at public school. -Communication is a must, between parents and teachers, between parents and kids and between kids and teachers, if you don't set a good example your kids wont follow. -my child is very smart, ahead of others, but she started kindergarten think it was still preschool, so the teacher had to be hard and demanding. Now, she follows rules, she listens to instructions, understands consequences. They are not in day care anymore!!

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
It has been a great experience for my 7 year old son at Somerset, as well as for us parents. This is a great school with fantastic staff in all departments. Ms Chase is an excellent teacher always opened to listen and discuss with parents anything necessary for the benefit of the students development.

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Somerset Boca receives a "great" rating, because of it's friendly and personable atmosphere. Normally, in a public school setting, you and your child are just another a common face and a random student number. At Somerset Boca, the teachers and administration know the faces, names, personalities, and strengths of their students and it shows. They take the time to get to know the school families. Specifically, they slow down and listen, learn, and care about what is going on in the lives of their students and their families. Additionally, they make a concerted effort to make learning fun for the students with unique activities and events that you won't find at the other local public schools (such as Talent Shows, Wildlife Animal visits, and so much more!)


Somerset Academy Boca East
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Bader is a great teacher. She is strong, patient and very nurturing. My son adores her.

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
We are extremely happy with the school. My son is doing amazing and we will be sending out other son there when he starts kindergarten.

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
As our son approached Kindergarten age, we began to look at local schools for him. We wanted our son to be in a school where he was not lost with the numbers…we really like the small school feel with the top rate education. We live near a school, however, it is large and it has maintained C-rating for years. When you are planning your child’s education, you want the best. We turned to choice schools and Somerset Boca was one of the schools we visited. We fell in love with it. It was progressive, innovative and small. We applied and got on a waiting list. It was some very stressful few weeks until the day we got the call – our son got in! The joy and relief we felt knowing our son was going to Somerset was amazing. This is his second year in the school. He is now in first grade and is reading above his level, he loves school, has an amazing teacher, great classmates and is growing so much academically and personally. Because it is not a large school, everyone knows him. From the office staff to the other teachers. We love that. Parents are very involved and everyone gets along great. We work together to make the school the best it can be. Our son is thriving at Somerset and he is happy. It is a great feeling to see our son excited to go to school and everyday at pick up when we ask, how was your day, he answer is “Great!” His happiness, coupled by his academic advancements, is our confirmation that he is in an amazing school and we feel fortunate to have him at Somerset Boca.


Somerset Academy Boca East
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I could never thank Mrs Ferranti enough for all she has done to help our daughter transition into a new school. In addition, my daughter is very high spirited and Mrs Ferranti has demonstrated a great deal of patience and understanding working with my daughter. I feel that my daughter would not have made the progress she did this year if it wasn't for her.

Somerset Academy Boca East
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Teacher feedback about how are children are doing at school and with their class mates demonstrate that their concerned for the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Somerset Academy Boca East
333 Southwest 4th Avenue, Boca Raton, FL  33432
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 232 reviews. (561) 393-1091
Last modified Somerset Academy Boca East is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top