Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

318 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (17 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (16 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (16 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (16 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (23 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (19 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (14 responses)
characters left.
There are 232 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
It has been a great experience for my 7 year old son at Somerset, as well as for us parents. This is a great school with fantastic staff in all departments. Ms Chase is an excellent teacher always opened to listen and discuss with parents anything necessary for the benefit of the students development.

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Somerset Boca receives a "great" rating, because of it's friendly and personable atmosphere. Normally, in a public school setting, you and your child are just another a common face and a random student number. At Somerset Boca, the teachers and administration know the faces, names, personalities, and strengths of their students and it shows. They take the time to get to know the school families. Specifically, they slow down and listen, learn, and care about what is going on in the lives of their students and their families. Additionally, they make a concerted effort to make learning fun for the students with unique activities and events that you won't find at the other local public schools (such as Talent Shows, Wildlife Animal visits, and so much more!)


Somerset Academy Boca East
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Bader is a great teacher. She is strong, patient and very nurturing. My son adores her.

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
We are extremely happy with the school. My son is doing amazing and we will be sending out other son there when he starts kindergarten.

Somerset Academy Boca East
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are great. My son had a great teacher for Kinder - Mrs. Baer, and now has Mrs. Trew, great, great caring and amazing teachers.


Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
As our son approached Kindergarten age, we began to look at local schools for him. We wanted our son to be in a school where he was not lost with the numbers…we really like the small school feel with the top rate education. We live near a school, however, it is large and it has maintained C-rating for years. When you are planning your child’s education, you want the best. We turned to choice schools and Somerset Boca was one of the schools we visited. We fell in love with it. It was progressive, innovative and small. We applied and got on a waiting list. It was some very stressful few weeks until the day we got the call – our son got in! The joy and relief we felt knowing our son was going to Somerset was amazing. This is his second year in the school. He is now in first grade and is reading above his level, he loves school, has an amazing teacher, great classmates and is growing so much academically and personally. Because it is not a large school, everyone knows him. From the office staff to the other teachers. We love that. Parents are very involved and everyone gets along great. We work together to make the school the best it can be. Our son is thriving at Somerset and he is happy. It is a great feeling to see our son excited to go to school and everyday at pick up when we ask, how was your day, he answer is “Great!” His happiness, coupled by his academic advancements, is our confirmation that he is in an amazing school and we feel fortunate to have him at Somerset Boca.

Somerset Academy Boca East
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I could never thank Mrs Ferranti enough for all she has done to help our daughter transition into a new school. In addition, my daughter is very high spirited and Mrs Ferranti has demonstrated a great deal of patience and understanding working with my daughter. I feel that my daughter would not have made the progress she did this year if it wasn't for her.

Somerset Academy Boca East
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Teacher feedback about how are children are doing at school and with their class mates demonstrate that their concerned for the kids.


Somerset Academy Boca East
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
My children come home and share stories (history) that they've learned at school which demonstrate the school sets high standards.

Somerset Academy Boca East 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I still remember the day we received the call that my kids had been accepted to Somerset Boca, I had heard so many great stories about the teachers there that I knew that I wanted that for my kids. Well, the actual experience exceeded the stories I had heard. My daughter went into the second grade while my son entered Kindergarden. My daughter's teacher went out of her way to help my daughter transition in her new school while at the same worked with her so that she could catch up academically with her class mates. My son's teacher challenged him early on and we were surprised how fast he was learning to read and complete math problems. Their teachers keep us constantly informed how they're doing in their class work, exams and what ateas we should work with our kids to help them improve with their math, reading or vocabulary. In addition to the academic aspect to the school, the teachers have demonstrated that they really care for the well being of our children. I feel blessed that are kids go there and I know many parents that have children that go there that feel the same.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Somerset Academy Boca East
333 Southwest 4th Avenue, Boca Raton, FL  33432
(561) 393-1091
Last modified Somerset Academy Boca East is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Somerset Academy Boca East Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 232 reviews. Top