Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boca Raton Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 360 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

My son's kindergarten teacher was truly wonderful. The xmas concert was great!! However, there was a real lack of communication from the school so we moved him this school year. I also felt that the school has decided to teach "to the test" at the expense of creativity/problem solving. Also, we were new to the county and surprised of the lack of field trips. That may not be the school's fault though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

My son is in Kindergarten at Boca Elementary and I have been so happy with our first year there. My son adores his teacher and loves going to school. He has learned so much, it has been incredible to watch his progress. i have been fortunate to have time to volunteer in the classroom throughout the year to see first-hand how loving, encouraging, patient, and creative the teachers are in the Kindergarten program especially. Every teacher and staff member I have encountered is friendly and helpful and seem genuinely thoughtful about e students there. The principal and vice principal know all the kids by name. Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive. We are moving to northern Florida for work and so sad to leave Boca El but I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

My grand daughter was taken out of Morikami Park Elementary School to attend her home school, Boca Raton Elementary. The frosting on the cake was seeing Mrs. Elf as the schools new principal! We loved her leadership, availability and values at MPES and know she will bring the same attributes to Boca Raton Elementary. The first two weeks of school have been amazing. My grand daughter is thriving. The only negative I noticed was the lack parents at last nights open house. This school is the hidden jewel in Boca Raton!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

I Love this school. Have been through all the grades with 3 different children. Teachers are very involved and caring. Class sizes are small. The school itself has the very latest high tech equipment. Very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

This school is great. I have been very pleased so far with the teachers, the tuition and the class sizes. They have a very active PTA and the school itself is clean and new with lots of computers available for the students. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Wonderful teachers, small class sizes, small school in general which I really like. Very happy so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

unsatisfactory.Teacher can t even handle the student that they have from in boundary let alone students coming in on the choice program. Old and new administration has done nothing to improve this school. Definitely not a school I would recommend. Not many people trying to get into this school anyway. If you are applying on the choice program you should not have a hard time getting in. Nobody else wants to send their children here.


Posted October 25, 2009

This is a very good school. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The teachers are very experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Nice city school. Friendly office staff and the teachers are great. I would recommend this school to anyone applying for lottery. Aftercare can use some adjustments however I still would not recommend the aftercare @ Boca Raton Elementary. Other than that a nice school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

My son has been attending there for 2 years now. He loves it and so do I... But be ready for the 'Boca' parents and attitudes. I think the after care program is horrible. the teachers hes had were great. He's learned a lot...the principal could be warmer and the vice principal is not on sight or visible. I think the teachers need to be closer to the parents in working together...Over allif you can handle the stuck up 'boca' vibe there, youll be ok...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I regretted applying to this school through the High Tech Magnet Lottery system. I subsequently transferred my child to another school in Boca. This was a big disappointment as he was doing great in private schools and had to change schools because of low expectations and not enough 'technology' opportunities as stated in the Magnet Program description. I hope not to be disappointed down the road with Don Estridge Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

Not happy with the school. Mediocre after care program The teacher is mediocre too. I wish I had decided on a private school instead, I feel my daughter is wasting her time there instead of learning and using her time constructively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

My daughter will be entering her second year at Boca El as a first grader. She loves the school and so do I. Very personable and attentive staff which is really what teaching is all about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

I have had 2 daughters come through this school with flying colors. Excellent teachers, & curriculum both academic and otherwise. My youngest, 9 yrs old is in grade 4 and has been in the school since grade 1 and is a principal honor roll student. Congrats to the school. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 23%
White 31% 42%
Hispanic 26% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%73%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Renee Elfe
Fax number
  • (561) 544-1750

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

103 SW 1st Ave
Boca Raton, FL 33432
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 544-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joan of Arc School
Boca Raton, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT