Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boca Raton Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 3056 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2009

As a parent of a Senior and a Sophomore I am absolutely happy with Boca High. It's a great school, with a great team of staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

I'm a senior at Boca High and have gone here for about 3 years now. I have to say that I love the school and the majority of the staff. Most teachers are always helpful and provide a good learning experience. The teachers at this school want their students to succeed in getting an excellent education and getting into the school of their choice. I find that the counselors and college counselor are extremely helpful and really like what they do. Overall, I have been to many schools in the past and I have to say that Boca High is excellent and has a staff that loves what they do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2009

I'm a Senior at Boca High and I absolutly love the school. The teacher, the deans, our principle. Boca High is a great was to get with friends and learn at the same time. Everyone at Boca High is always so happy and whenever something happens at school Dr. McKee is right ontop of it fixing it to make it a better learing eviroment. Also, the teachers try there hardest to help the students reach a goal, such as passing the FCAT, now as a senior I can tell you from personal experience, being told that I didn't have to take the FCAT anymore I went up to my teachers and thanked them for all the hard work and patience they had with not just me but the whole class. All in all Boca High is a great school to attend and I love being there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I absolutely love this school. It makes me mad to see anything negative written about it. Dr. McKee is amazing and has done so many great things for the school, while the STEM program is great for students willing to take the academic challenge. The college and career center helped me figure out college apps and my grades. The deans and the teachers are wonderful and there are so many extracurriculars: drama, band, clubs, community service, sports and of course a new field. Oh, and by the way (to the parents who claim our new principal is not good), we are an 'A' school and the majority of AP students pass the AP tests.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2008

I love boca high it's amazing, are principal is amazing and are teachers are great too.We have brand new building and are weeks away to a new football field .I can't wait.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

i love going to boca high...its a great enviornment and i learn a lot...the teachers ar awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

My son has now graduated from BRHS. He got a terrific education and incredible guidance in getting into the college of hos choice, Univ. of Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

Boca High is a great school. Staff are easy to get a long with and make an effort to help you in most situations. No guidance for students who want to go to college? A section of an entire building is dedicated to just that purpose. - Student who got guidance on college
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

Even thoug i sometimes get frustrated with the recently changed dress code policy, i know it is for all of our best interest and I wouldn't change my school if I had a choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

boca high is an amazing school. there's a fantastic principal and all the teachers care so much about the students. every teacher would go out of their way to help a student to succeed in any way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

This is a fabulous school with a wonderful Principal and the most caring teachers in Palm Beach County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

There's no guidance for students wanting to go to college. This school is playing to the FCAT, nothing more. I'm thoroughly disappointed in the STEM program. The teachers try, but most are not up to the task, some are good at 'yessing' the principle. If there were a way to put my child in another school she would be, unfortunately no other school offers this math & science. Extracurricular activities, if interested in Christian prayer groups this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My sister was told that she was fine for graduating but it turns out she didn't reach the requirements. They told us this a few days before she was to graduate. She ended up going to summer school because the teachers and councelors were uniformative. The principal tries to throw his Christianic views on everyone. Most of the staff is rude and unhelpful. The art department has failed due to Dr. McKee's cutbacks on teachers because he doesn't get along with them. It just pisses me off so much. I hate this school with a passion. Nevertheless all my friends go to this school and I don't want to leave them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2006

This school has excellent teachers supported by an outstanding principal. Boca High, again, is an 'A' school under the leadership of Dr. McKee. In addition, their scores keep climbing each year.The students love their principal and AP's, and they are always available. I am extemely happy with all extracurricula activities and what I have seen this year! Morale is high...great school spirit, and warm atmosphere with excellent academics, caring teachers and staff, and happy students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

The Band program is excellent under the new director. The school's guidance counselors have all been dismissed or transferred. Without expert guidance counselors, helping with school selection, scholarships, and grant applications, students headed to college from this school face severe disadvantages. The STEM program has real potential but is lacking guidance at all turns. The teachers are working hard to deliver on their promises, but without real help from above. The principal consistently pushes a christian agenda in his public speeches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

this is a very nice school with an excellent staff and impreasive teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

I wish that I had something positive to add about this school. Its just okay. Too many program cuts, too much wasted money on programs that don't exist. Very hard to communicate with your childs ap/guidance counsler. My other child starts High School in August 05 he will be going to west Boca and yes I will be driving EVERYDAY from East to West and back. My older one will be a senior so She would like to finish with her friends. I also hear a large number of teachers are leaving! That is always a concern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

My daughter is graduating, one of the top 5 of her class. Prior to principal Geoff McKee it was a great school. He removed all the guidance counselors, there is no help with scholarships or preparation for college. Changing from the 4 x 4 block back to a 7 period day has been a fiasco. Very few will pass the AP classes this year. The teachers on a whole were great, although with the new principal, most of the really good teachers left for greener pastures. It is very, very sad that such a fantastic school has slipped this poorly in such a short period of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

This is my daughters first year at Boca High. She is comming from a Christian School in Boca. I can say so far it has been an excellent experience. We Absolutely love our old school and even have a daughter still there, however Boca High offers such diversity and real-world challeges that my daughter felt she needed to excell in her future college plans. The Principle is outstanding and very available to all. The schools scores have gone up accross the board and the problem reports have gone down. Awesome Leadership is what I see.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

693 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

711 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

708 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

727 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

478 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

657 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

593 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 22% 29%
Black 10% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%73%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 NW 15th Ct
Boca Raton, FL 33486
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 338-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Harid Conservatory
Boca Raton, FL




New Horizon Academy
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT