Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spanish River Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 2369 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2011

Excellent school!! My daughter goes there and she is really prepared for the university. She's been working hard, every day. The kids learn a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Our Son Attends Spanish River HS and let me just say we are so happy with the School, the Teachers and the Guidance Counselors have been fantastic as Our son attended a different Boca HS and was very unhappy, the kids were not welcoming nor where they freindly as in Spanish River he was Accepted and made some great friends as he came into the school in the middle of year back in 09 and Academically the other school was not challenging for him. He is very involved in their Business Entrepreneur Program and loves it..As far as Drugs go it was rampid in his last High School and Parents need to know it exists in ALL Schools. We Came from Another State and our children were in some of the best schools, and unfortunately Drugs were all over the School. We are very happy that we switched schools as Our son is thriving and couldn't imagine going anywhere else. We are very impressed with all the extra help this school offers students who need it, Ive had several meetings with the AP's and Guidance Counselors as well as my calls and emails returned very quickly. I would Recommend this school to anyone looking for a School that offers Students the chance to Succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

excellent school great teachers my daugther is advance clases good staff and diverse after school activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

I was very exited to send my son to SRH at first ,but little by little I become very dissapointed with the school, it is nearly impossible to get a meeting with the teachers, the principal's open door policy is somewhat questionable.Another parent wrote that if you are not of a certain religion or backgrund you don't get too much attention. I thin it is truly sad that students have to be of a certain religion and social standard to receive the education that every child deserves no matter where they come from
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Academically a Excellent school. Good kids who have great school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Excellent, best school in the area. The principal gets very involved and the teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Spanish River's Athletic Department is excellent. The coaches are caring and work hard to be good role models. Unfortunately, the academics are not as good. My child was a mid-year transfer student. He received no orientation. The guidance department tries to do a good job, but the school is very large (2000 students) and there are only 4 or 5 counselors. I have heard that they do a good job for accomplished students, but our experience was not good. I could not recommend Spanish River.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I do not like this school at all. I feel bad that my daughter had to attend and graduate from this school. Any parent who is thinking about sending their children to Spanish River High please think again, I'm sure you would rather have your child attending a better school than this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I am a student here, and its not the best school, but its not the worst. Most students come from wealthy backgrounds, so it can be tough to fit in. The guidance is very helpfull. But the administration spends to much time on punishing troubled students not helping. I
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

I am going to be a senior at SRHS and i think that all the parents that are bashing the guidance staff are very rude because i am in the bottom of my class and i am struggling to graduate, and the guidance staff has helped me the most so its not just all about the top 5% students that they care about so stop bashing them and grow up!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2009

I agree with the parent who posted on August 5 th 2008. I was disappointed to see that the principle can not make time to be at important school functions. This school is definitely for the have and not for the have nots and the students discriminate against students who are not of the same religious backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

i am currently a junior and I think that spanish river's teachers are mostly pretty good. But the students take advatage of the teachers alot and the school lets certain kids get away with skipping just so they wont drop out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

I am currently a sophmore at SRHS and I absolutley love it! The principal gets very involved and the teachers are amazing. Everthing is great about the school except the football team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

I am currently a graduating senior at Spanish River and I am positive I would have not received the same academic, athletic, and overall high school experience had I attended another school. Being reassigned to Spanish River my freshman year, I found the honors and AP classes challenging yet interesting. I quickly made friends and got involved in the school community. All of my teachers, with a few exceptions, have been wonderful and always willing to help as they are genuinely concerned for the education of the student. Those parents who complain regarding teaching need to reevaluate the academic drive of their own student. As for the classes, they are much more challenging than the private school curriculum from which many students enter SRHS from. Overall River is a fantastic school and I would reccommend enrollment to anyone ready for a challenge! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

After attending a charter school in the West Palm Beach area for all of 9th grade I transitioned back to my homeschool (SRHS) for the rest of my high school carrer. The teachers are absolutley excelent. SRHS has a long tradition of keeping teachers for years and years. One of my favorite teachers (biology, Mr. Adams) has been at the school since it opened! SRHS has prepared me for college in ways that I cannot even imagine. All the Advance Placement classes teach exactly like they do in college and it has really prepared me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2007

Academic Programs are a disgrace the 'teachers' give the notes and expect the students to learn. Do not misunderstand me there are a select few who are decent teachers. What can I say the music and arts departments have much to be desired we have this theater that cost the school millions of dollars and it is almost never used. They have about 5-8 music classes if that. This school focuses too much on the seniors to even care about the underclassmen. Parents don't even get me started they ask there children how their day was and thats the end of the story. Overall terrible school in a stuck up community
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

The school's okay. Not that easy to get into a click if you come in after freshman year. Guidence is poor, they don't seem to try hard enough to get classes right, took a month for me to get a class i needed for my grade level credit. It's not a horrible school, but I've been to better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2007

I just started and i love school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2007

Great school, high spirit level and many ways to get involved if the student has an interest to. Many levels of learning giving any student the ability to fit in and find a niche. Principal is uninvolved. Classes vary depending on teacher, but if lucky it can be a great experience! I would recommend any student to attend
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2007

My sister and I both went to Spanish River. I can confidently say, after completing an advanced college degree, that this high school thoroughly prepared me for the challenges of college and other aspects of life. Although Dr. McKee is no longer principal, many of the same teachers remain and the student environment is still positive and involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

555 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

545 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

551 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

574 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 22%
Black 6%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. WILLIAM LATSON
Fax number
  • (561) 241-2236

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Jog Road
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 241-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL



The Harid Conservatory
Boca Raton, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT