Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spanish River Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 2369 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2006

The school is ok if your in the top 5% or if the student is a self motivated learner. Guidance is weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

Okay school, but the guidance conselors are poor and uninterested in any student but the top 5%. Some of the teachers are great. Not the best place considering it wins awards all the time. Makes me think they are simply better on paper than in reality. They do have potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Having moved down from NY, I was nervous about the schools. I was very pleased and surprised with Spanish River. THe kids are great, the teachers car and the parents are involved....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

I go there, and it has the most elite and competitive student body in the boca raton area. I know students from all over, and have been to many schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2005

Disappointment. Being known as one of the best schools in county, I expected more. My child is not really happy with teacher's willing to help and teach. They feel like teachers are just waiting for the day to end... My child, straight A student, does not know principal's name after two years in the school! Comparing it to other schools in the district, it is still better...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

This school was a nightmare. My daughter had a hard time adjusting to the clicks and everyone trying to out do each other. They offer all of the extracurricular activites that most public high schools have yet the parent involvement was low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

My experience was so horrible at SRHS, I transfered my child out of it! When trying to do so, the staff was nothing short of uncooperative and rude! I found that from the principal, was very unconcerned when my childs grades plummited down to all F's! I have since moved my son into a private school where he is once again on an A + b level!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

I think this is an ok school, it has alot to offer students such as sign lang., my son has enjoyed his years out there. The teachers are good and knowledgable of what they teach. keep up the good work sharks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

It has very good academic programs;academics are extremely advanced for a public school. Great clubs and sports programs. Very worthwhile for you child to get a diploma from this well acredited school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2005

This school provides little assistance for parents of a child who may be having a difficult time with fitting in. Peer pressure was immence going from a 'dress code' environment to 'anything goes'. Guiding my son toward a college course was what I was expecting, however I was told by the time my teen my child was heading down the wrong path, failing 3 out of 7 classes I was told it is 'only 3' and if I came in and saw them in person maybe some grades could be change! I was appalled! I would not suggest anyone to send their child to this uncaring school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

This school is extremely poor, guidance is poor. Several children within my Community have Become dropouts even while achieving A's previously, due to poor guidance and administration. I feel the teachers need to become more involved with their students. Teachers are not properly teaching lessons and many just hand out quiz's without teaching the subject matter. We moved to this district on account of spanish rivers 'A' rating. This is false, This school deserves D due to their dropout rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

Although Spanish River High School is a well known school in the district, the children there need to be more vocal in speaking out about the poor teaching methods throughout the school. Half the teachers do not teach full lessons, and then expect us children to do well on their impossible exams...a bit ironic since we don't understand/know the full material.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2004

Safe environment and excellent reputation but my daughter's teachers are not challenging her in honor classes. Worst of all guidance counselors make themselves unavailable. School is overrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

555 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

545 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

551 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

574 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 22%
Black 6%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. WILLIAM LATSON
Fax number
  • (561) 241-2236

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Jog Road
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 241-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL



The Harid Conservatory
Boca Raton, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT