Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,359 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
79 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 99 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spanish River Community High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 19, 2016
- a student
also a joke question cause the homework sometimes is like what, i have a job afterschool boo, are you gonna pay me? no youre not so why are you doing this

Spanish River Community High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a student
i feel like a good majority of this school is very unfair to the rest of the kids who arent those super smart all A kids, those are the kids that theyre scared will sue the school, or atleast thats how they act. everyone else it is immediate punishment you dont even get a chance to talk


Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
Our daughter attended Spanish River H.S. and received an excellent education preparing her for college. The teachers truly care about the students and their education. They are easily accessible for counseling and classwork. The school has a great curriculum, with numerous AP classes, sports, etc. It was a great experience, not only in her education but in developing many great friendships. When selecting a high school, we researched the schools in the area and Spanish River was highly rated and highly recommended. When our daughter graduated she was accepted to several universities. She continued her education at one of the top universities in the country, due to the excellent educational background she received. Highly recommend this school!!

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter perform very well due to the overall environment, wonderful teachers and peer group...we were always keep informed of her progress and needs...she commented that considering her friends at other local schools she thinks her Spanish River experience was superior...her grades and acceptance at top colleges seem to support her conclusions...she did work very hard to achieve these results since learning did not come easy for her

Spanish River Community High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
this excellent learning environment starts at the top and I wish to thank the principal for setting the high standards


Spanish River Community High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a student
I attended Spanish river high school last year and I can tell you from an honest prospective that this school is a horrific school to attend. They call it a college prep school which when I asked what that meant to my teachers they said that it meant we treat you as if your an adult, which I soon learned that this resulted in teachers being able to give you a lot of work with out teaching us the material and not be obligated to help you with it at all, just give you the grade. My AP "Assistant Principle" goes by the name Mr.Markwardt he doesn't go by the rules, he practically acts like he owns the place he will go out of his way to get you in trouble. I would never wish him to be apart of any school that has kids in it since it's obvious this man should not be around kids. It almost seems like his objective for the day is to pick on you and get you in trouble. He has even cursed at me in his office before and threatened me. The school officer just sits around all day with Mr.Markwardt doing what ever they please to do, those too people together are practically untouchable. The school favors its Advanced Placement program and leaves the kids in regular classes or intensive classes with no funding what's so ever. I had multiple teachers each year that do not teach you a single thing and if you call up to complain about it they simply tell you "They have been here for over 10 years so there's nothing we can legally do about it" knowing that that's the response you get about a teacher not doing their job should instantly get you an idea about what kind of school Spanish River High School is. If I can give any helpful advice in my life it would be to save you or your child from going to this horrific place they call a "School" please take this into consideration cause I wish no one to make the same mistake I made when choosing what school to go to. Call the women that work at suit A for information about the school and just by the way they treat you, you will know what I mean by when I say this school isn't a school you would wish on anybody to attend.

Spanish River Community High School 1

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
You either have money and belong to the cool group with showoff expensive cloth or your looked down upon. Too much homework in each class that keeps my son working tell 12 or 1 am and then getting up by 6 am. Worst part is that education is not all that and the teachers don't care about you. Very clickish school. not impressed, go some where else.

Spanish River Community High School 1

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
This is one of the worst schools I have ever encountered. Rare are the teachers that care for the development of the young person. There are a few great teachers here, but not the majority. The parents are like a crazy club that wants to recreate their own high school. The PTA collects money relentlessly for their own social events, and very little goes into the education. The kids are mean to each other, unless their parents are wealthy. You need to invest in the top designers for your kids' wardrobe, and they are proud of this fact. The level of drama amongst the student body and the parents is unbelievable. The front office staff often do not know what is going on, and are rude to parents and students alike. We survived, but it was a nightmare.


Spanish River Community High School 1

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
This is the absolute WORST SCHOOL IN THE WORLD. the administraters don't care and they barely help your child prepare for college. The teachers are rude and the campus is filthy. Don't even get me started about the women at the suite a help desk.... By far the most vile disgusting women I have ever come to contact with. I DO NOT recommend this bratty school.

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
We couldn t be happier with Spanish River. My son is a freshman, and has had so many opportunities to get involved in clubs, and sports. He has enthusiastic teachers, an excellent guidance counselor, and a great group of friends. Why would anyone look at private?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spanish River Community High School
5100 Jog Road, Boca Raton, FL  33496
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 99 reviews. (561) 241-2200
Last modified Spanish River Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top