Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Boca Raton, FL
Students enrolled: 2,369

4 stars
Based on 73 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


76 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a community member
I graduated in 1987 from this school and they were opened just two years. I see now they are more competitive than they were back then. While this school was more simple than the school I came from in New York where we took the Regents examination, I had a great experience there in my junior and senior years. I remember the graphic arts course fondly with the big giant printer and the huge developing room for 35 millimeter film. I know technology has advanced and they got rid of that stuff, but that is stuff you take with you outside and transfer it to new technology which I have. The school spirit back then was great with the pep rallies during the day as we cheered for the Sharks to win. Most of all, the kids I met there were very cool back then. Since everyone was new, no one dared to make fun of each other. A lot of us got along. If anyone is reading this from the school that attends, let new kids into your circle. It's hard enough being the new kid as it is and you probably knew your friends your entire life since you lived in Florida that long.

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Zero tolerance to bad behaviors , wide range of AP classes,Excellent teachers specially for APs .....We couldn't ask for a better school. For ounce I feel I'm getting my tax money's worth when it comes to education.
2 people found this helpful


Spanish River Community High School 4

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
My son transferred from Boca High, which is also a good school. He has had a good year so far. If you are lucky enough to get Jill Rockwell as a Guidance Counselor, your child is in good hands.
1 person found this helpful

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted November 10, 2013
- a student
This is a great school. Most teachers are excellent and care about their students. They all offer to help before or after class and during lunch. You can even email them anytime with a question. The PTSA and the school websites have all the answers a new student might have. As for the nasty creatures they could crawl into your house and this will not make it a horrible house. Most students are nice some are mean. SORRY MATE our school IS NOT HORRIBLE.
2 people found this helpful

Spanish River Community High School 1

Posted October 31, 2013
- a student
This is a horrible school. Most of the teachers and staff do not care about anyone and they're pretty unhelpful. The students here are horrible. The don't care about others and don't like to welcome new students into their "cliques." So, if you are considering moving here, I reccomened that you don't, you will regret it. Not to mention the gross campus and the nasty creatures like rats and cockroaches.
1 person found this helpful


Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
We can't be happier that our kids attend such an excellent school where they can be challenged in a real competitive environment. The Biotech Academy along with the Science and math departments are sure to prep our kids to take on any discipline anywhere they choose. Excellent caring teachers Dybas,Tuffo,Leeds,Lori Eaton ...to name a few.

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a student
spanish river is a great school. there is a zero tolerance policy that cuts down on bullying and bad behavior. the staff are very nice and are always watching the hallways. the teachers want to help you succeed and will help students in anyway.if your child wants to do journalism this is the right school. mr delaney teaches journalism and is very knowledgebul about it

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Having a great experience at this school! One child in 11th grade and one in 9th... they are both receiving a fantastic education and i know they are getting the best at Spanish River. Academics come first, the school is competive in the futures market, there is fantastic parent/student involvement with many great programs offered, and for the most part students seem happy to be there! :)
1 person found this helpful


Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Spanish River is a well rounded school from the teachers and Administration to the parent volunteers...this is the place to be. They look at the whole student and make sure that each student has what is needed to succeed both in and out of the classroom.
1 person found this helpful

Spanish River Community High School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a student
This is probably the most honest and straightforward review of the school that is unbiased. If you are the parent of a child that you would consider average, or demanding extra attention, this is probably not the school for you The school has amazing teachers but they are mostly in the AP and honors level classes so any regular student is not going to experience them. They have amazing teachers in that area and we boast the best AP exam scores in the area beating all the specialized schools with IB and magnet programs. On other notes our school spirit from what I have observed is lacking. Students are very involved in leadership and such but it is for academic advancement more than for spirit. The school is very very competitive in nature and any bright kid here can easily be ranked in the hundreds. Intelligence here is remarkable and the school always has students in the best Ivy league schools. On another note athletics are good except for football which is almost like a joke to watch now (almost all games from the schools entire existence has ended with scores such as 0-57). The guidance department is great the PTSA is amazing clubs are great and sanitation not so much.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spanish River Community High School
5100 Jog Road, Boca Raton, FL  33496
(561) 241-2200
Last modified Spanish River Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Spanish River Community High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. Top