Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Verde Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 849 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2011

Great school, my daughter is heading to 1st grade, just finished Kindergarten and it was a wonderful school year. Mrs. Lombardo is an excellent teacher. My daughter and i both love this school. I hope to be able to keep her in verde elementary till she's done with 5th grade. once again Thanks for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

This is a wonderful school! The teachers are dedicated and work hard to ensure that the students reach their goals. They strive to get students involved in extracurricular activities. Even the administrative staff are enthusiastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

I found Verde to be fair (6 on the rating scale) school. The teachers, while most are educated with a teaching degree, are for the most part inept at working effectively with children who need a little more. The school fails to recognize where a child needs assistance nor do they know how to give assistance if the child needs it. The IEP system at the school has been of no help. In addition, any assistance they did give was delayed for months. Their advice has had a negative impact on my child's wellbeing. Nor do they meet on a schedule that actually provides benefit. My child no longer attends this school, thank goodness. My child now attends a school (public) where the teachers and parents are proactively involved. The PTA meetings have over 100 parents. My child's grades have gone up 2 levels. Sadly, the rating for Verde is grossly overstated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Love this school and so do my kids. My kids teachers have always been wonderful, patient, and my kids have learned so much. I am so very pleased. Verde definately has recess and always has, it might be structured to some point, but my kids get to socialize and play on the playground everyday, they enjoy it. A+ school in my opionion and has been for the years they have been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I am extremely dissapointed with this school. They are militant with the children even in the lower grades. They no longer have recess and replaced it with "structured physical activity" which is structured and does not allow kids to socialize, let off steam or just be children. Going to this is a reward and my kids teacher doesnt let them participate and makes them "walk" instead. They are not even allowed to socialize at lunch. Had major problems with a teacher and was not allowed to change classes and the teacher would ignore my requests for a conference. The new principal and vice principal seems friendly and I have hopes they will fix the major problems at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This is very nice school! , my son loves it here , he has an IEP and he is being help and has made a lot of progress!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

I find Verde to be an overall good school, especially when compared to most other schools in the whole country. I find it unfortunate that the previous reviewer is upset with the changes. Although I found Dr Cornel to be a very nice man on various social occasions I was never able to speak with him about the school or my child, I was always handed off to Mr. Laurie who was always defensive and usually just talked in circles, but never really said anything. As far as the teachers go, the vast majority of them are absolutely wonderful, but there are also a few that should not be teachers. So far I think Mr. Margulies (new principal) is very nice and seems to be very involved, I have not had the pleasure of meeting the new vice principal yet, but I wish them much success!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

i have to say that i attended this school from kindergarden to 5th and my son has now done the same.it was great the staff knew who i was along with my son. most of the teachers he had were really good.but 4th and 5th grade not so much. there isnt any parent/teacher communication. isnt that what its all about? they had the best staff of principal/vice principal and now they both transferred out im glad this is my sons last year at verde without them. ms corcoran is the best teacher in the whole world! its been great at verde but its time to move on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

t hink its a great school my oldest son loved the schoolhe is now in middle school. Now my youngest in there and we are both very happy .His teachers are great they are truly the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

This is my son's first year in kindergarten and I couldn't be more pleased with the school, his teacher, and the level of parental involvement and PTA support this school has. We were considering private school but wanted to give public education a chance first...and I feel the education and support my son is receiving here is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

I moved to this area specifically for this school. I am totally disappointed. The Vice Principle is impossible to talk to. I was told on two occasions that he does not have time to talk to me. My son is in 3rd grade and hates school and I was told by his teacher there is nothing she could do. I wish I had the money to send him to private school. This school is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

No problems until my child entered 2nd grade. The teachers have unrealistic expectations of the children. Also the teacher/parent communication is terrible. Cant wait to move on to Middle school. Very dissapointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

Academically sound, however it is very resistant to family and volunteer involvement. Children are not allowed on campus even for evening activities. I for one can't afford nannies or a babysitter and as a result can never attend parent teacher conferences, volunteer orientations, curriculum night, PTA meetings etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

There were some serious communication issues with the teacher. Too much homework and lack of resess
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Although the school has taught my children and they both get great grades I am disappointed with the direct communication from teachers and vice principle. I am never able to get a straight answer they always get very guarded and circle the wagons on the tuff questions. But the office staff, cafeteria staff and janitorial staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Verde is a great school.. the teachers are great. My son loved it. After school program is very good also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

Verde is a great school. My kids love the school, the staff, even the cafeteria staff are great, and majority of the kids are well mannered. I am proud to be a mom with smart Verde kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

What a great school. The teachers art top notch. There are no slackers here. Its no wonder they have the highest test scores for a non gifted elementary school and top 5 overall in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Verde is the best school ever! The staff really cares about each child as if they belong to them. I am so happy my child gets to attend Verde Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

i love this school they me with everything so i'm so proud to go to this school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 35%
Black 5%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%73%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. SETH MOLDOVAN
Fax number
  • (561) 218-6850
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6590 Verde Trail
Boca Raton, FL 33433
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 218-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Addison Academy
Boca Raton, FL


St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT