Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Boca Raton, FL
Students enrolled: 849
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 66 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


69 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Verde Elementary School 1

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
First, no parent concern is silly. Changes in classroom placements are major changes that impact academics. The principal/assistant principal do need to learn how to manage their emotions in a professional environment. It is not what they are saying in so much as the tone of how they are saying it. And yes, covering up the tattoo is considered professional (not silly) in a work environment. It is a school, not a bar. The school is old/overpopulated and the security fences are an eyesore. The car rider line is a nightmare and downright scary and dangerous. Some of the teachers, not all, need to improve their tone as well. If you want respect from the kids then you have to set an example. And no, the principal does not always speak in an appropriate manner to all students. I think time could be better spent in listening to the parents whose tax dollars fund these schools to determine how to make improvements versus tooting your own horn "here". Lastly, homework policies need to be reconsidered - research says that homework has no academic affect in elementary school. That time could be better spent on real learning or playing/relaxing/family time after a long school day.

Verde Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. People write more when they have bad experience and represent a vocal minority. The silent majority loves the school as do we. Great school, great facilites, great learning environment.
2 people found this helpful


Verde Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a community member
This school is Big dissapointment!! Dirty,old,nasty!! I thought it was suppose to be so good. Huh? They act like a wanna be military school? They talk to the children so rudely sometimes,yelling at them,little kids are crying. They act like bullies to the kids,there is NO fairness there at all. Especially administration! Principal is clueless as is the ass't principal. Children get lost because there teacher forgets to bring them back inside from recess and they are wandering around clueless. Just Horrible

Verde Elementary School 4

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
At one point I felt the same as others a month ago. However, I dealt with my situations head on (respectfully) and was very pleased with the quick response/resolution. As a former teacher from another State, I have great respect for this principal in the way he handled not only my situation, but in the way he interacts with children. He is kind, understanding, and very involved, and I have NEVER seen him speak crossly to a child. I can tell he really cares about the children in his school and about their safety, as does the AP. I'm sorry to see parents upset about the reorganization of classrooms, but there is a law here about how many kids can be in a classroom and you don't always know the final numbers until weeks/months into the school year because of late registrants. And since they are not allowed to turn zoned kids away at any public school, it is what it is. It's not just Verde that goes through re-organization, so it's silly to get so upset. Try teaching a class with 25-30 kids! Trust me, the slight inconvenience is better for the children and teachers in the long run. And cover your tattoos? Really? Such a silly thing. But then, I have one too, so...
3 people found this helpful

Verde Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
School is nice, but not happy with how things are handled and some of the staff. Not been very nice and understandable in the process of reorganizing classroom as they had too many students in more than one class. If you are lucky to not deal with admin things, is a great place to be, but once you have admin issues to solve good luck.


Verde Elementary School 2

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
Fully agree with new post. School is just ok. School is too big, very overpopulated. Sad to have trailers at an elementary school. Overall condition of the school is not very good. It looks like a prison now with the new security fence. Car rider line is a nightmare. Front office staff could be nicer. Would be professional to cover tattoos. My child was assaulted on the bus and at one point kids were 4 to 5 to a seat. In previous years they dropped off my kindergarten student early and no one was at bus stop. Imagine leaving a 5 year old to wonder around alone. Homework is busywork and too long. Teachers are fair. Some are nice and some are rude. If your kid is advanced but not gifted they just sit there. Gifted program is only part time and I think they pick/choose who to let in there. Agree there is a lot of gossip in front office. You wait while they talk among themselves about people. At least they have a nurse. Communication could be improved. It is hard to get phone calls returned. Also, they have opt out of uniform which they do not disclose. Old principal was nice but not effective. Not sure about new one. He seems a little cold and too young.

Verde Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
I am a teacher myself at a different school and can say that so far my child has had 3/3 great teachers. They are well educated, enthusiastic, and go above and beyond. The standard is appropriate for their age and the school spirit is very high. Teachers here know that an inappropriately high standard can cause low self esteem. Almost all kids at Verde love Verde. That's a good testament. The negative testaments below are unfortunate. A bad experience is possible anywhere. The upper teachers being concerned with FCAT is a state problem not isolated to Verde alone. As for being concerned about tattoos on an employee, it's as irrelevant as hair color. Both employees with tattoos are more than competent at their jobs, so to focus on tattoos is not productive for people looking to choose a school. My daughter wants to be a kindergarten teacher after her kindergarten experience, so I feel badly for the other kid who's parent reviewed below because her child didn't want to go to school. Usually it's a social problem when that happens. Just my experience as a teacher. Overall, great school, doing it's best in a mediocre school system with FCAT requirements.

Verde Elementary School 1

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
I had both my kids at Verde and especially my last one had a big problem last year. It was her last year teaching at Verde and she was really impatient and most of the time really rude. The teacher would not return emails, phone calls, and notes most of the time, she sent me important information about test only the same day. My daughter was telling me that almost every day that a kid was crying in her class because of her. This year she is in 6th grade and she discovered that the teacher didn't teach them many important things, for example in Math the division with the decimals. The desk were full of ants, and the kids found Roaches many times.They had big problems with head lice every year. I can tell you many story's about the school and the after-school but I rather not say it. I hope that who is in charge there will change how the things are going, be more friendly with the kids and parents,it is not a big deal and if the kids feel comfortable they can speak more about their problems in school. Thank you.


Verde Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
**** It is my opinion that the PTO efforts are 5 Star. Open House was fantastic! The effort placed by parents and students was impressive. Tremendous school Spirit. T-shirts, shorts, calendars and Verde folders are innovative ways to raise PTO funds. Pizza was for sale! The Info desk was great! It immediately lessened any anxiety about moving to a new area and utilizing a new school. Congratulations Verde! Nice Job!

Verde Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
This is the 2nd year my child is attending Verde. I've met the new principal Mr. Moldervan and so far he is WONDERFUL. Very approaching as well as Vicky in the office. Last year I was very unhappy with the teacher (ruschmeier-1st grade), this year I'm thrilled so far with the teacher in 2nd grade. Also, the new PTA president is a sweetheart and will hopefully return the PTA to a place where other parents want to be involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Verde Elementary School
6590 Verde Trail, Boca Raton, FL  33433
(561) 218-6800
Last modified Verde Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Verde Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top