Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whispering Pines Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 728 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

This is a great school that offers different extra curriculum activities. All the teachers I dealt with were always helpful. My son did great and received very a good education, what made an easy transition to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

My son has been here for 4th and 5th grade. He has just flourished at this school. His teachers have been amazing, the staff is very caring and are willing to go out of their way to help. I am actually sad that he will be leaving for middle school this year. Overall he has had a wonderful experience and has made lots of friends. This school is wonderful and I am thankful my son has enjoyed his experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

My child Bode, has been attending from K and is now in 2nd Grade. He has had Ms.Golumbe, Ms. Terrano, Ms. Modesto all are top notch teachers! Ms. Terrano even tutored him before class daily to improve his handwriting. He is ahead of target for his age and is doing well in school social and academically. The kids in class are well put together and come from nice professional families. I hate to give such a great review, because then all the snobby parents who lie about their addresses to go to other schools will rush to Whispering Pines. Currently it's not crowded and feels warm and welcoming - I want to keep it that way :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I am a teacher at Whispering Pines and find that a review to discredit the dedication of any teacher would be misconstrued as a teacher that makes little progress with the students. The teachers follow the process as set forth from the district to get students the help they need. If those that spend the most time with your children can't help and be appreciated than it is not the teaching that is the problem. Parents, teachers and the schools need to work together to get the children what they need! Whispering Pines has many families that go above and beyond to work with their teachers and the school to help their children, I wish more families could be categorized like this. The one family that can't appreciate it, will be sorry they didn't do more!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 23, 2012

My son started Kindergarten this year, and we are very happy with the experience there. His teacher is wonderful... warm and responsive. He has learned a great deal there academically, socially, and also independence. He comes home every day with a great sense of confidence and excitement. The administration is good and they are very involved and present. Good experience all around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

Great School. My son entered their 3rd. grade gifted program this year and I could't be happier with how fast he is learning. His teacher, Ms. Schuemann, is caring and seems to be firm when needed. Staff is polite and organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

MY KIDS WENT HERE FOR ONE YEAR. THEIR GRADES WENT FROM A, B C TO STRAIGHT F'S. THE TEACHERS ARE TOO GOOD TO PICK UP THE PHONE AND SPEAK, THEY REFUSED TO COMMUNICATE ANY OTHER WAY THAN EMAIL. HOW INCONVENIENT. NOT TO MENTION THE 2ND GRADE TEACHER OF MY YOUNGER CHILD WAS VERY ATTACKING TO NOT JUST ME AS THE PARENT BUT TO MY KID. ARE YOU SERIOUS? WE ARE HERE TO LEARN NOT TO TEACH MY KID NOT TO ROLL HIS EYES. IF I WERE IN HIS POSITION I WOULD HAVE DONE MORE THAN JUST ROLL EYES AT HER RUDE COMMENTS AND 2ND GRADE DEMEANOR. IN A MEETING I HAD TO ADVISE HER SHE SHOULD BE AROUND ADULTS MORE OFTEN AND MAYBE SHE WOULD STOP ACTING LIKE A 2ND GRADER. ANOTHER SPECIALIST TEACHER IN THE ROOM HAD ABSOLUTELY NOTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THE CHILD SHE THOUGHT HE WAS AWESOME AND WAS DOING QUITE WELL. SAYS HE WAS THE SUPERSTAR OF HER GROUP. SO WHICH IS IT? MY KIDS A BAD CHILD NOT WILLING TO DO HIS WORK AND PAY ATTENTION OR THIS WOMAN WAS SERIOUSLY TARGETING MY CHILD? NOT TO MENTION BOTH MY KIDS WOULD COME HOME WITH GRADED TESTS AND ASSIGNMENTS AND GOING OVER IT MYSELF AND CHECKING THE ANSWERS I FOUND ALL KINDS OF ANSWERS MARKED INCORRECT THAT WERE CORRECT. DO YOUR JOB IF YOU DONT LIKE IT GET A DIFF 1!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

The staff for Whispering Pines school is horrible! They are not conducive to both students and parents. The staff is very rude and not willing to work. The school is old and very disorganized. I fear for the safety of my child. The workers do not use common sense and are obnoxious. His teacher does not have much interest in the childrens work as well. My son has been to 5 schools and I have never seen a rediculous run school. Think twice before sending your child to this school and putting their education in the hands of these folks. I wish I could move him out of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

great school!...so far...my daughter is going in to 3rd grade and she is very smart...so they are doing something right!...:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

im in 6th grade and i just want to say that this school was the best school ever! i made friends i got good grades and this school they foucus on the tests and they teach us alot!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

I am now in 8th grade but I did love this school. Although the testing was focused on too much and very little extracurriculars, it was a pretty great school. My favorite teachers were Mrs. Winfield, and the Physical Education teacher, Coach Gotthoffer. I loved being a Kindergarden safety patrol. I loved all the little kids always fighting to hold my hand, and their compassion just to talk to me. Whispering Pines has made a huge impact on my life. Hopefully when I get the time, I will go back and visit.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2007

My son loves this school. This is his 6th and final year, and with the exception of two teachers has admired all the other 4. Feel Principal Messing is too focused on tests and letting parents, whose kids are car pick up kids, get away with breaking too many rules and doesn't always provide them with a safe situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

Academics are very important at Whispering Pines, but the safe and very nurturing atmosphere our children enjoy here says even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Overall, the quality of the school is good, but it is lacking in terms of extracurricular activities such as music and sports. There is too much emphasis from the Principal on FCAT and testing, and not enough on the development of the child has a whole outside of academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Whispering Pines has a strong ESE program and serves many community children with Autism. One of those is my son. He has been at Whispering Pines for four years. He has had some wonderful teachers and the school is a great environment for him. There has not been a very accomodating after-care program when it comes to special needs students, which has been disappointing for us. There is a good amount of parent involvement, but it is not an outstanding amount. The vice principal is a warm, caring and very involved part of the school. She makes up for a principal that is more down to business. The school provides a very safe atmosphere for all students, including special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Whispering Pines is a wonderful school. All three of my children have gone there for years and it has one of the best reputations in the county for academics and a wonderful extracurricular activities program. The teachers all have high standards and at the same time are very loving and caring. Mr. Messing the principal is especially caring yet a very good disciplinerian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

I feel there is two little emphasis placed on Kindergarten where reading is concerned. I have two children and this is true in both cases. I believe the kindergarten curriculum should most certainly be reevaluated so children are better equipped with skills necessary for 1st grade evaluations. This seems to be a Florida problem on a whole, and not so much school specific, but in any event, this should be addressed. The school is nicely kept and is a clean environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

An OK School which is well run by the new-ish principal, but is a little overcrowded. Caring teachers, and a clean environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2003

My daughter tells me all the time how much she loves going to school,I think that says a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 22% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%73%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9090 Spanish Isles Blvd
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 672-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

BRJLC LLC
Boca Raton, FL






Addison Academy
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT