Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calusa Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 877 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2008

I Love it I am a student and I moved there in the middle of the year and about a week I felt like i've been their for years.Its awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2007

Excellent school. My son scored well on SATs grade of 4 in all areas. Teachers are caring and the best in Boca. Well educated teachers with excellent skills to help children do their best. Special programs for special students were provided when needed. Helped my son tremendiously He was able to go back to the main stream classroom within 1 1/2 years. Graduated on time and with his self esteem intact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

My child is attending Calusa for the second year now. I do have to say that the drop off in the morning is starting out so much better than last year. It is so much more organized. I also like when picking up my child from aftercare the school is no longer open for anyone to walk through. It is a good system and it works well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Our child just started K in Calusa. We had an excelent impression about her teacher. This teacher is very organized. She treats the kids with a lot of love and respect. We can see that she loves her profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I am new to the area but coming from the Midwest I am used to great schools. My son started attending Calusa at the end of the year and most of the staff with the exception of the teacher (she was great!) did not make him feel comfortable. Drop off and pick up are a nightmare! The monitors yell at the parents to keep moving and their system is confusing, I got a bad impression of the school by the way I was treated by staff. I worked 12 years in the School District in Green Bay Wisconsin so I know first hand about the challenges of working in a school. We were always reminded to make parents and students feel welcome and always have a good attitude. I am looking for other options but it seems that the only choice to receive quality education here is private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

I totally disagree with the response that says Calusa is not 'student centered'. This school is rare in that they are so wonderfully student centered. Each and every staff member, principal, ap, teacher, aid, parent, student, etc. are highly involved in student success and community involvement. This school is truly a family within our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

The school is a good school. Many people look at schools and rate them unfairly. Calusa has over 700 students and they all have differences and needs. The 40 or 50 teachers there do a great job with the kids not just my own. They work hard to do all they need to for the kids and prepare them for testing. We need to look at what the school does and rate it fairly. They have an impossible job and still work at it daily. My kids loves the school and is learning. That is enough for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Coming to Calusa from private school has been a very eye opening experience. Pros: obviously, cost - (using savings to pay for music lessons, tutoring, science camp, etc.), extremely close to home, diverse mix of children. Cons: introduced myself on second day of school to principal - he couldn't have cared less! I reached out to shake his hand, he did so, almost reluctantly and barely made eye contact - terrible first impression - I gave the benefit of doubt and tried a couple more times throughout the year - same reaction - leadership starts from the top down!; I'm also disappointed by the lack of 'Good Morning', 'Good Bye', 'How Are You?' etc. that the teachers aids and assistants at car pool display - most of the time they are standing in little groups with each other chatting. Hitting my word limit - Calusa needs to be more student centered!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

Small and personable, with no overcrowding problems. Has been through several principals so went up and down in rankings and performance. Now seems to be leveling off and performing well. Good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I am very happy with the overall Calusa school team. Their staff are caring, well educated 'educators' that understand that each child has individual needs/learning styles. We'e had very bad experiences w/ 2 other local public elementary schools that were clueless to my sons needs. We feel that Calusa is an 'A' school for many reasons!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This is my daughters second year in Calusa and I've been happy with her progress. Didn't have much parent involvement with her class even though I volunteered on every list possible. I would like to get more involved with my daughters class, and hope the teacher or class mom takes care of that. My daughter loves Sports, and after school activities. (Daisies and cheerleading). I'm in PTA to help and hope there is more 'structure and control ' over the meetings this year. I'm glad to see the school is providing more security measures, I was very dissapointed with that last year. Anyone could have walked into that school. Still could use more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This school has an excellent feeling of community. If you have an issue, the staff is more than happy to speak with you. Communication is a two-way street. If you feel you're not getting enough info, contact the teacher. They also have email addresses through the district if calling is difficult. Pick up and drop off are always a nightmare so the bus and aftercare are the best solutions if possible. The PTA is a big presence and has a core of hardworking individuals. I feel more parents could be involved at this level. Many parents volunteer every day or every week. Attend a classroom event and a good dozen parents are always there. Be flexible this year with a change in principal and SACC director. This is my choice for elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Calusa is a wonderful school with a great family feeling of community... the academic program is strong as the majority of teachers have been there many years.. the PTA is a strong presence in the school and supports many events, fundraisers and meetings to make this a better school for the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Poor communication of what was going on within the classroom and also other areas of the school. I knew more about what was happening with PTA 'activities' than anything else. Parent envolvement poor. Never met the principal. Tried to help a couple of times, never contacted. I was dipleased with school orientation. We never left the classroom. I expected to at least hear what the children would be doing for the year or something about the teacher and philosophies.P erhaps even had a chance to ask questions and meet other staff members. Drop-off is a nightmare. I'm sure it's better than some scholls in the area, but I'm not thrilled with it. Public Schools need to have higher standards-and I'm not talking about meeting 'FCAT requirements!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

Overall, a very mediocre experience. Very poor 'PR' (parental relations) and poor home school communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

My daughter had a great experince in this school. The administration was very responsive when I had questions and concerns. The teachers went out of their way to enhance my child's experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

We have had a great experience with Calusa. Many parents who can afford private schools prefer to send their kids to Calusa. The teachers are excellent and the staff is enthusiatic, although at times they get a little bureaucratic. The parking situation isn't great and drop offs in the morning can be a nightmare, so put your kids on the bus if you can or aftercare (even if they stay only 1/2 hour you will avoid the huge waiting lines. The aftercare program is great, my son loves it. The academic programs are good although I havent' seen anything out of the ordinary. Parent involvement is high. There is a core group of extremely involved parents who are in the classrooms daily and do a lot of volunteer work. Other parents arent' involved at all. There is a wide socioeconomic and ethic/cultural religious diversity - makes for a nice mix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Great school, what more can I say?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

This year has been okay , but having moved from the chicago area recently we are not overly impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

There is no question that, overall, the staff and faculty are qualified and dedicated. However, the school seems to be slow in identifying specific, and varying degrees of learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 20%
Black 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%73%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star School (2007)
  • Governors Florida School Recognition Award for Excellence (2007)
  • National Learning for Life Academic Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. JAMIE WYATT
Fax number
  • (561) 989-7550

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • The parents and community are involved in every aspect of the school. academically they sit on our school advisory council with teachers and administration to make decisions about the educational programs. the pta is a very vital group to the school. they collaborate with the staff and administration on activities and support the educational programs through enrichment activities.
More from this school
  • Calusa is a community school committed to excellence. The school has committed to a new vision since the principal's arrival 2 years ago. Inclusive Education,Differentiated Instructional,and a student centered behavior management program(CHAMPS)have been implemented successfully. The goal is to use 21st century techniques to prepare the students for 21st century learning and living.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Omni Middle School
Boca Raton Middle
Don Estridge Middle
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2051 Clint Moore Road
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 989-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL


Addison Academy
Boca Raton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT