Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calusa Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 875 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

My daughter started K this year with Ms. Scharf. She is warm, kind and responsive to all of questions and requests. My daughter and her classmates LOVE her! I am very impressed with how involved the Principal and the VP are. I have not gone to the school ever without seeing on of them out and about. Mrs. Wyatt is out at the gate every morning greeting students and kids. She even does special rewards where she eats lunch with the kids. Mrs. Wyatt is on lunch duty everyday! That is serious dedication for a Principal! I cannot say enough about wonderful the school and it's teachers are. They have helped to set the stage for my child to love school! Thank You! You have made an impact on these kids that will positively effect them for years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

My child started kindergarten this year and I am overjoyed by how fantastic the experience has been so far. His teacher challenges him everyday, his math and language skills have skyrocketed, he is reading better than I ever thought possible at his age--and he loves going to school! There is an atmosphere at Calusa that is both nurturing and academically rigorous at the same time. It seems to be a terrific balance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

My son transferred there from a Montessori school in Delray and boy what a huge difference! The change is so much for the better! The Principle is great. the teachers are great and seem to like there work. A complete opposite of what we left. My son went from hating school, dreading aftercare and not doing very well academically to getting Honor role and really enjoying it. I am so thankful for Calusa!!! It goes to show what a difference a good school can make :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Calusa elementary is a well run school. The principal, Ms.Wyatt, knows every child and really cares about her students. My daughter has gone to Calusa since kindergarten and is going into 5th grade this year. Every teacher has been terrific and a great role model for her. The parent who feels like the school is run like a military fort obviously doesn't believe in good behavior and as far as the dress code I'm thankful she enforces it even thought it still falls deaf on some kids. We are truly blessed that we have been able to send our daughter to this school and will be VERY sad on her last day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Calusa is definitely the BEST kept secret in Boca Raton. From staff to parents, everyone works together to make this school an AMAZING place to be. The principal, Mrs. Wyatt, it very approachable and really cares about each and every student. The teachers are top notch and really do love their jobs and their students. my favorite thing is that they allow and encourage parent involvement. (I love being able to know what's going on at my kids' school). I feel very lucky to have my children attend the #1 school in Boca!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

WELL RUN AND DECENT SCHOOL. The Principal, Mrs. Wyatt, is so organized, just what kids need at this age. Mr Wotton, the Assistant Principal, is an asset to Calusa. Teaching kids is a talent and Calusa has managed to acquire precious gems. If your only complaint is the long car loop line then park your car and walk, you probably could do with some exercise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

Extreme disappointment. The principal runs the school like a military fort. You can often hear her barking orders at the students from her microphone while they eat lunch. She's more concerned with dress code than with promoting independence and self reliance in the children. Everything needs to be controlled and manipulated to her liking. Numbers are her importance and thus scores seem to be the only thing that makes this school tick. The students look miserable in the car loop line. Just disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

Great School! We unfortunately had to move so my children only attended one year. The principal Mrs. Wyatt is very involved. I loved that she had lunch with the kids as a reward for good behavior. The story book parade is soo cute during Halloween. Second grade teacher Mrs. Gabso and Mrs. Martin Kindergarten are awesome. My kids really excelled in this school. Love the Calusa High Fives!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

Calusa is the best kept secret in Boca Raton. The admistration is terrific. The teachers really care. We have been at Calusa for 5 years and my kids have a great bunch of friends, many who live in our neighborhood which makes it great for play dates!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

One of the best schools in Boca Raton. The student body is diverse and much like the real world. Great school if you want you child in a well adjusted down to earth environment. Something hard to find in Boca Raton
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

Great school!! The aftercare program is awesome, horray to Ms. Ostrow! The teachers care. My son is in the ESE program and I feel that he's receiving the attention and care he needs. The speech pathologist Ms. Barbra is very caring and friendly. We love Calusa!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This school has high ratings because their teachers do care about our kids! It's not just the paycheck thry are after; but the highest goals to be met for their students future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Fantastic public school! Both my son's LOVE it, they have great teachers who care. We moved from a local Montessori private school which was not up to par. Thanks Calusa for making my son's life better!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I have a child in kindergarten in this school and I love it. I must say that my son is very lucky to have Ms. Silvers this year. She is the Best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers show a great commitment to the kids' educational success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

They have a wonderful caring staff. They work very hard to insure a great educational experience for every student


Posted August 19, 2009

Calusa is student centered and provides several afterschool activities. Friendly and helpful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

First day of school. Kudos to Calusa and the PTA. Carline was very well organized and staffed. The morning went smoothly and the drivers heading eastbound on Clintmore were VERY courteous towards the drivers (myself included) making the u-turn moving from westbound to eastbound on Clintmoore. I can't wait to find out how the teachers are. School office folks are lovely too! Thanks to the school and parents :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

I Love it I am a student and I moved there in the middle of the year and about a week I felt like i've been their for years.Its awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2007

Excellent school. My son scored well on SATs grade of 4 in all areas. Teachers are caring and the best in Boca. Well educated teachers with excellent skills to help children do their best. Special programs for special students were provided when needed. Helped my son tremendiously He was able to go back to the main stream classroom within 1 1/2 years. Graduated on time and with his self esteem intact.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 20% 29%
Black 9% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%73%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star School (2007)
  • Governors Florida School Recognition Award for Excellence (2007)
  • National Learning for Life Academic Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jamie Wyatt
Fax number
  • (561) 989-7550

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • The parents and community are involved in every aspect of the school. academically they sit on our school advisory council with teachers and administration to make decisions about the educational programs. the pta is a very vital group to the school. they collaborate with the staff and administration on activities and support the educational programs through enrichment activities.
More from this school
  • Calusa is a community school committed to excellence. The school has committed to a new vision since the principal's arrival 2 years ago. Inclusive Education,Differentiated Instructional,and a student centered behavior management program(CHAMPS)have been implemented successfully. The goal is to use 21st century techniques to prepare the students for 21st century learning and living.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Omni Middle School
Boca Raton Middle
Don Estridge Middle
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2051 Clint Moore Rd
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 989-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL


Addison Academy
Boca Raton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT