Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Del Prado Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 851 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2007

Good academic focus and excellent attention to development of student strengths and extracirricular interests activities. Parent communication needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Excellent. My child has been there and is in fifth grade. The principal and her staff and teachers have been excellent through all the years. I will be sad when my child moves to middle school, but am very happy about my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

We love Del Prado - we had a great year there and could not have goten a better education or experience if we had paid fora private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

This year was my child's second year at Del Prado. The office staff was always friendly and helpful. His teacher, Mrs. Antheil, was caring, energetic, and constantly challenging my son. I am very happy with the education my child has received at Del Prado.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

I am extremely disappointed with the school and all the staff that works there. When I address the staff at Del Prado with my issues and concerns they seem to just look the other way and ignore the issue. Overall I rate this school very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

I moved here from Buffalo a little over a year ago and informed my children that they will be ahead of the children in Florida as you here so many terrible things about Florida schools. Coming to Del Prado boy was I wrong. I am so thrilled to be apart of this school and how they work with the children is fabulous. They can pin point any child when and if they need help in a certain area and will work with them. Please understand this is a gifted school and by no means are my children in the gifted school program but the teaching skills, education to the children, closeness,caring and support is all there. I am so thrilled to be at this school and am glad they have helped my children in the areas that they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Rated through FCAT testing as Palm Beach County's top elementary school, Del Prado puts a heavy emphasis on achievement, and it shows. Del Prado has never received a grade other than an 'A' on FCATs, and is rated in the state's top 100 elementary schools. The parental involvement is awe-inspiring. The school runs a variety of programs and extracurricular activities, from parents serving as room moms and guest readers in the lower grades, to field day judges and parents working side-by-side with their kids on the twice-annual nature trail cleanup days. The PTA offers a variety of programs for parents as well as events that parents and their kids can attend together. All in all, Del Prado is a remarkable place that functions remarkably well and strives for continual improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

A great elementary school with major parent involvement. The teachers are terrific and are very approachable and welcoming to parents and students. a lot of emphasis on FCAT prep and testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Both of my children were in the Gifted program here -Mrs Breger is the gifted KG teacher--she is phenomenal!!!!She gives children joy in learning to read etc.My daughter loved her KG and wanted to go even when she was sick. Afterschool program with Lori Goldfinger was wonderful. I loved this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Overall I would rate it as a very good school but there is some disparity between the 'gifted' and regular classrooms. The regular classrooms could use a little more structure. The extracurricular activities offer excellent choices and are well run. The PTA leadership, although active and dedicated, is not as open or welcoming as it could be to allow even more to be done for the school. It would be helpful if they were more open to participation and forthcoming with information to all parents in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Nice school with warm and caring teachers. No problems with this school whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

Del prado had been great to both of my kids academically and socially. They have both had the kind of teachers that you remember as an adult, the kind that really make a difference. Both of my kids are in the gifted program and I feel that has contributed greatly to their experience at Del Prado. I know of other kids that are not in the gifted program and have not had the same experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

We moved from Texas where we homeschooled our children. We had heard that FL schools were not very good. We were very surprised. DP is an excellent school from all of our experiences to date. We have one 2nd grader and one 5th grader. Parent-teacher communication is excellent. Very structured environment. Teachers, though most are quite young, are very skilled and conscientous. Our children are gifted and are happy and challenged there. PTA is very active, although it is not very easy to get in to that group if parents work full-time. Overall, we are very happy with Del Prado.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2005

Del Prado is an excellent school with a fabulous gifted program and teachers who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

Del Prado is wonderful school that offers programs to meet a variety of needs. It is open to parent involvement and the staff is welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

This is my youngest son last day at Del Prado, so I felt compelled to post a review. I have only praise for this school, the teachers, the PTA, the parents and of course the students. My two boys enjoyed days at Del Prado that where enriched with not only academics but with diversity. Every child should have the opportunity to grow up in an environment where everyone really cares about them. Del Prado is a well rounded school that offers it all. I am so thankful that my children had the opportunity to attend Del Prado, to learn, to grow and to be happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

Very nice school. Good results, friendly, understanding. Children feel secure and supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I think the gifted program is excellent. it really challenges my kids. I am disappointed the music program is not developed to generate high interest among the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

Great school if you are a praetn who does not want to be involved in your childs education, parental involvement is discouraged. Events are planned during the working day when most parents cannot attend. Parents are excluded from award ceremonies, orientations (including pre term orientation) if they cannot be rpeent during the school day, pretty unfair and unrealistic in today's society. Seems they have American issues as well, Pledge of Allegiance is only said 'if we have time'. They fail on many levels in my book. Grades on paper are not the only things that count when children feel disconnected because family/parental involvement is strategically discouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

This is a great school. 100% parent involvement, interested,high quality, caring and loving teachers. They thrive for exlence and give there all for the students. The only down point is the constant request for monetary donations. It can get to be alot at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 24%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%73%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 Del Prado Circle North
Boca Raton, FL 33433
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 544-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT