Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Omni Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1403 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2007

Great school academically with strong parent support. Administration is very willing to work with students and parents. For the most part, teachers are well versed in their subject and have a deep concern for their students. Materials and books are plentiful and my son felt part of the Omni family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Omni Middle is a wonderful school! The academics are challenging and there is plenty of available help if students need it. They teach kids to have a strong sense of community service with some amazing programs. There is a great feeling of school spirit on campus. My child was very well prepared for high school after leaving Omni. My second one is still there, and enjoys every day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

It was my first year at omni. overall i didn't like the school at all. The teachers don't care much about the students. Many of them don't help you succeed. They don't explain the work. Many people of the staff are rude. Im so glad im moving. And people should not consider this school as a great one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

Bulling, incompetence, are a few of words that comes to mind when I think of Omni middle School. I am removing my child from this environment. I am afraid that if I do not, this well mannered A student is going to be transformed into someone unrecognizable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I had my son (8 grade) in a charter school. Now he is in Omni. Omni has made him a different person. I wish I had put him in 6 grade. The teachers are great. Both my son and I love the school. Sorry that he will be leaving after this year for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

I am a student, graduating this year from Omni (Thank GOD!). I don't know what to say. The teachers have good days and bad. With some teachers it is just all bad days. The school is a mess - poorly funded - and a ton of the students are bullies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2006

My child is currently in the ESE program. I am very upset about the 6th thru 8th grades being taught in the same classes. They also fail to follow thru on disciplinary actions to the children that are causing an unsafe learning atmosphere. There is a big issue w/'Bullying'! They do not provide a safe learning environment for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My son was in the ESE program and his experience with the teachers was great. Big time Kudos to Ms. Sinclair! They really motivated him to excel. The administration was unfortunately not as proactive or involved as the teachers. They allowed my son to continously be exposed to unsafe conditions. I had to intervene each and everytime and ensure follow-up and action was being taken to ensure his safety. Needless to say the School Police Officer was quite busy this past 05-06 school year. Overall, not a good experience from a safety and discipline perspective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

the uniforms were a stress, but other than that it was good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I was a parent of a 6-7th grader, I found the school to be, over crowded, rough kids, uninspired programs. limited arts and extracarricular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

My child attended Omni 6th thru 8th and the family loved the school and staff. We will miss them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

The Omni Middle School gifted program is a very challenging one. The highly motivated, eager to learn child performs very well in this program. The teachers are very approachable and will answer your emails in a most timely fasion. Most post grades to edline on a regualar basis. Parent involvement is wonderful and rare for a middle school. The PTSA is astounding and the Principal backs it up 100%. The principal is up to date on current issues and is open to suggestions and concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

My daughter has been in Omni's gifted program for 3 years. She enjoyed it very much. They have a variety of electives that students can chose from. The gifted program has very helpful teachers and gave my daughter an enjoyable way to learn. Also, they had many levels of math on campus, so students can excel. My daughter learned to love the school and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

Omni Middle School is an excellent school. My daughter is in the gifted program and has been there all three years of middle school. I highly recommend the school if you are moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

My son likes going to school at Omni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

This school seems OK. My daughter is happier here, but I would say that the teachers don't put as much effort into working with the kids on raising their grades as her previous school. There are some minor discipline problems, but the administration deals with it appropriately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

This is the WORST school in Florida. Send your children here only if you want them to learn to hate school. Go to Omni...look in the bathroom...the conditions there pretty much sum up this whole school. Once you take away months of 'FCAT practice', movies with no educational value whatsoever, 'quiet time' or whatever else the 'teachers' call it, you'll discover that your child gets MAYBE 10 minutes of actual education in a week. If it's a good week. Omni Middle School is the epicenter of bad education and mismanagement in the state of Florida. And don't try to become involved as a parent; you're not welcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2004

This school is the worst school! My son had problems in this school and we talked to the principal and assistant principals and a lot more others and teachers and no one gave a care about anything. If I would rate this school as discipline and caring for students I would rate this an F. They dont care about our kids, they just want to get their money and be out and all those things about that we care about your children and stuff its not true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2003

this school is the best. my brother can not wait to go to school. all the teachers are great and very reasponsible. your children wont hate going to school. the band program is excellent too, i hear they have some great tubas!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

464 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

483 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

489 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

486 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

510 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 25%
Asian 5%
Black 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. GERALD RIOPELLE
Fax number
  • (561) 989-2851

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5775 Jog Road
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 989-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT