Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Omni Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1403 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2011

An outstanding school. The quality of education, staff and administration is superb. The PTSA is the best in the county, winning PTSA of the year for seven straight years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Omni Middle School more than adequately prepared my daughter for High School. The parents are involved and the teachers are very qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

My son just started middle school this year and I must say we were worried about the transition from Del Prado Elementary. We heard there would be lots of homework and there are always the fears regarding bullying. He is in the gifted program and loves it. Everyone of his friends loves it, too. He hasn't seen any bullying, likes his teachers, and isn't spending any more time on homework than would be expected of middle school (less than an hour a night). I have been pleasantly surprised by this GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

I have an 8th grade student at Omni and have been extremely pleased with the classes and extracurricular activities. The variety of class levels (regular, advanced, and gifted) seem to offer a right fit for him depending on each specific class. I find the teachers to be very receptive to communication and very organized in posting the grades and curriculum on edline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

My daughter is a 7th grader at Omni, and I believe she is receiving a great education that will prepare her for high school and beyond. I am very happy with her teachers, the amount of homework she receives, and the overall quality of the school. Omni is a GREAT middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

Omni gets kids prepared for high school better than any of the other middle schools around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

As a parent of a 6th grade student at Omni I can tell you that the transition from Elementary to Middle has been fantastic. The Administration, Teachers, Staff and PTA are all very active and genuinely care about the school/students. PTA is open and inviting to new parents. Notifications are emailed every week with upcoming events and volunteers opportunities. Mrs. Elfe- the new Principal is involved with the school, keeps an eye on the kids and she is making positive changes. The teachers are open with communication and are happy to help the students. I'm also happy to say that my kid has NOT had any issues with bullies- which is amazing in middle school (i have one in HS so I've been through this before). I don't have any safety concerns when I drop off my child- teachers and administration are always visible during drop off and pick up. The school also offers several sports and clubs to keep the kids busy. The only negative would be the amount of time spent on car line during pick up but that happens at all schools. Overall, this school year is going very well and we are so happy to be a part of Omni. Thank you to the entire Omni staff and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

What a fabulous school!! Dedicated teachers make Omni a great place for kids. I have taught for 14 years, and I can honestly say that Omni has exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2011

I'm new here, but I've heard wonderful things about Omni, and the staff seems very friendly and focused on serving each student's needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2010

This school is a great school. It has been rated the best middle school in the county, and it is definitely my favorite. I'm in the gifted program, our teachers are wonderful (I wasn't always in the gifted program, and even then, the teachers were great.) They are very involved, and many of the teachers also help administration. The teachers I have look at fun ways to teach, and while every school has some bad teachers; ours has more good ones!


Posted November 4, 2010

Omni encourages me to express my self


Posted April 28, 2010

My child just transferred to Omni from out of state. She is not being challenged academically, and the kids seem to do what ever they want in class including refusing to participates Mine spent yesterday showing a friend party dresses online! The bathrooms are filthy and this seems to be an accepted state to the administration. The campus seems derelict, and the library is depressing. I expected more and am disappointed I did such a poor job in selecting a school. I just relied on ratings which was a big mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I am very excited that Omni prepared me to get accepted into the STEM program at Boca High. It wasn't the easiest school (compared to my previous middle school) but I feel like I am more that ready for high school especially since I am leaving with 3 high school credits! Awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

I do not like this school at all. This is my first year here, and it hasnt even been a whole semester and i absolutely hate it here. It barely has a roof, so u will sweat alot if u go to this school. Its just overall the worse school i have been to. Although i have been doing better in math, but thanks to my science teacher, my grades in science have dropped completely. I am an A B honor roll student, i have a D in science...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Omni has serious problems. I moved to Boca from out of state a few years ago and attended Omni for only 8th grade. The middle school I previously attended was great, and I had high expectations for Omni. Unfortunately, I was incredibly disappointed. The administration at Omni was horrible. It seemed to me like it was run like a low security prison which I thought was odd considering the students were good kids. It really was hard for me to get used to the obnoxious administration and the ridiculous uniforms. Basically, the only advice that I have is if you are considering transferring to Omni from another middle school you like, don't do it, you will be disappointed. If you have never been to another middle school you will probably think Omni is ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

I really like this school the teachers are nice and quite helping yet bullying is quite a problem...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Omni is so great! The teachers are very very friendly and they help you out with everything you may need. I went there all my three years. Now in High School I have AP classes and Honors classes. Omni couldn't have prepared me any better. I miss you Jaguars. ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2009

This is my third year at Omni and I have really grown to appreciate the education that I have received. I am now taking 2 high school credit courses and I feel that I will be ready when I have to go across the street to Spanish River. I have wonderful teachers this year and I have some awesome friends. Omni Rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2009

I have to echo the last poster...my daughter transferred in 7th grade and is now in 8th. This was a huge step up in quality over our last middle school. She loves the school and has a ton of friends there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

My child just started this year in sixth grade. I have been very impressed with the administration, orientation process, and the teachers that volunteered on Saturday. After the first week, my child loves it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

464 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

483 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

489 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

486 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

510 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 25%
Asian 5%
Black 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. GERALD RIOPELLE
Fax number
  • (561) 989-2851

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5775 Jog Road
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 989-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT