Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olympic Heights Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 1972 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2008

one of the best schools ive walked into.The teachers and guidance counserlers are the best you can find, the should make more schools like this one


Posted November 25, 2007

I love this school i have triplets and all three of them are intrested into diffrent areas of studies. The school has all the oppurtunities that a scholl should have and many more things that i didn't have when i was going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

I have two children attending OH and every year the school adds more to make it better. The Principal Mr. Licata is wonderful and very accessible. He has really done a lot to raise the school spirit. The teachers (most of them)seem very dedicated, especially the Choral & Drama dept. They really do a great job. We moved to Boca for the schools and have been very happy overall. Of course you can't please everyone. There are always some parents or teachers that are negative. Many of the kids are snobby and spoiled, but you can't blame the school for that. I think they are doing a great job for the most part and have been very helpful to me personally when I needed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Awesome!!!!!!! love this school soooo much! would come back for 4 more years!!!!!!!!!! oh-h, oh-ten!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

I have lived in Boca for 15 years. My older child graduated from Olympic in 1998. My younger in 2006. Both of my children received a very good education from Olympic Heights. Both continued their education at UF. Olympic Heights always had good, caring teachers. I feel the level of education and caring has increased dramatically in the past year due to the current Principal, Peter Licata. He is truly concerned about his teachers, students and school,which results in a wonderful learning environment. There are plenty of extracurricular activities--drama,chorus, band, sports, clubs, etc. Parent involvement could be better. It's mainly the same parents that have been helping out since kindergarten! If I had another child they would absolutely go to Olympic Heights High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

Great quality, truly a best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2005

The teachers are wonderful, and the choral department is phenominal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

The school is truly a great. Not only is the principal absolutely marvelous, but also the kids. My child has been going to this school for 3 years now and has nothing but good things to say about it. Classes are small so each child can receive individual attention that he/she direly needs. Truly a best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

This is a school that has a different story every year. Boca is changing and growing by the minute, so it is hard to give a review that will be relavent in a year. Academically the school is very average. The kids tend to be spoiled and snobbish, but then we are in Boca, aren't we?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

I'm not a parent but I was a student at Olympic Heights until we moved the middle of my senior year. If you are new to Boca Raton I'll be honest it takes a while to make friends. I moved to Boca Raton from Plano Texas in the start of my 8th grade year. I had an overall good expercince at Olympic Heights, some of the teachers could have shown a little more intrest on how their students were doing but overall its a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2005

My children are very happy at this school. They have learned a lot so far, and the children that attend are very nice, respectful human beings. Olympic Heights clearly creats a great learning enviroment, and contains a fantastic music program, along with spectacular theatrical performances. I have also noticed that there are numerous extracurricular activities, with many, many participants. The children that go to this school are noticably talented, wheather its in academics, performing arts, sports, ect. My children are certainly having a great experience at this school, and will continue to have even more to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I have had so many bad experiences at Olympic Heights that I would go way over the 150 word limit if I went into detail with each one. The bottom line is this school is a complete dissapointment to not only the parents but the students. The administration have absolutley no respect for the students. They talk down to the students and are extremely unhelpful and unknowledgable. My child is an honor roll student and I guess you can say I am lucky enough not to have any major issues but the times I've had to deal with schedule changes or other matters that should be very simple have turned into nightmares and frustration. All I can say is it would be in your childs best interest not to attend this high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

This school is a huge let down. I moved to Boca for the schools and found that they are well below what i expected. The B rating is so off. The teachers give it the I dont care attitude. The kids cant get to the guidence dept. as there is never a good time. Im truly sorry I ever put my kids in this school. And the drop out rate is much higher then what they post. Bad school. Put your kids in private.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

443 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

483 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

472 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

461 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

295 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

500 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
72%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

497 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

476 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 33%
Black 14%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%73%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVE CLARK
Fax number
  • (561) 852-6974

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20101 Lyons Road
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 852-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT