Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olympic Heights Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 1972 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

i would like to know more about this school, I would like to know if the school test grades are getting better now that they have a new principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

[Olympic Heights is a great school] The teachers are super helpful and they love to see their students succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

I think that Olympic Heights is a great school and I'm in 2 AP and 2 Honor classes; I find that my school is suitable and I fit in very nicely.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2013

Guidance counselor who is in charge of T-Z is absolutely terrible. Lacks interest and commitment in students and seems to lack any motivation for her job. Administration seems to be far more into the money making business than the education one. They prioritize making sure that no fundraiser disrupts the cash flow of their vending machines than helping students. Olympic Heights is the only school in the Boca Raton area that lacks a PhD in the teaching department, which I believe is because they are paid extra. Instead the money that could go towards adequate teachers is going towards more money making electronics which seem to be unsuccessful and a nuisance. Yet there are many positives to this school as well as at least half of the teachers are actually there for the students well-being and truly want the child to pass. The other half are the type of teachers who just give out worksheets and sit on their desks.


Posted October 16, 2013

Olympic Heights is a great school. My daughter is a freshman enrolled in an Academy, and loves school. She is doing very well with her AP class and all of her other Honors Classes. She is in the Marching Band which is very demanding but she really loves the band. Band may the transition to High School very easy as she knew other students from the mini camp in June, and the full camp in August. The band is wonderful experience. She has learned organization and how to set her priorities while still having lots of fun. The band director is amazing as well as all of her teachers. The administration is excellent and friendly. The diversity of this school reflects real life and only adds to the HS experience. I would recommend this school and their advanced programs to anyone. My only negative comment is that I wish more parents would be involved in the school supporting what their children are participating in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

My son loves this school. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. We are new to the ares but they made us and my son feel welcome. The registration process of my son's intake was swift and efficient. The only one snag is that it took them awhile to get the bus sorted. But I am not going to degrade their outstanding service for a bus. They have excellent programs for children with disability. The specialist teacher is excellent - keeping me abreast of my son's progress and how is settling in his new setting. This school is more that 5 Star!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

My son hates the block schedule and I agree. How can you expect a teenager to sit in each class for 2 hours. We all know that it is almost impossible for a teacher to teach straight for 2 hours. Most of the kids get bored therefore putting there heads down. Not enough classwork is given to keep the kids occupied for 2 hours. DO AWAY WITH BLOCK SCHEDULE. New principle has no involvement with students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

This school actually deserves less than a star. Everyday I see this school from three points of view. The Regular, Honors and A.P classes. The A.P classes are great, the teachers understand what their teaching, the help the kids move along and the kids who are not up to the challenge are removed from the class, so as not to disrupt the kids that are there to learn. The Honors classes are the same thing. Positive environment and progresssive work, no class clown causing the whole class to stay after school in a detention. The Regular classes are HORRIBLE. I truely advise that if you're a student or a parent of a student that is not above average (which is completely normal, they may not excell academically) please do not send them to this school. The kid will not learn any thing, the students are disruptful and selfish.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2010

This a wonderful school. It is the best kept secret in Boca Raton. The principal and administration are excellent. The school is an "A" rated school. The staff is wonderful and the school is incredibly safe. I know that when I send my son to school he is receiving a quality education in a safe and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

As a current student at Olympic Heights, I would not recommend sending a child there. The tainted reputation has returned as the school dropped a letter grade. As far as the students go, few are on the road to success. Many children are exceedingly disrespectful to not only peers, but staff as well. The administration is often rude and barely helpful when dealing with students. Drugs and fighting are prevalent in the school. Overall, not a good environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2010

I am a grandparent of a student at Olympic Heights. My grandchild chose to stay at Olympic Heights even though she was accepted into an academic program at Spanish River. She is a very good student and wanted her academic studies in an atmosphere that was not filled with social status seeking. Olympic Heights seems to be that place, but that is not enough!!!! Why can't Olympic Heights become an 'A' school ? Why is on the brink of dropping to a 'C' ? Somethig has to be done to spark this school forward.


Posted November 10, 2009

Teachers are very nice, administration is run quite good, and the principal is very involved in everyday affairs. The students there are very good, and the staff makes you fell safe. Dress code is lenient, and that's a good thing, they don't freak out over minimal dress code issues. As far as learning, my FCAT scores have considerably increased since I joined Olympic Heights. I'm currently a sophomore, i cant even explain how great the school spirit is, and every year there are several fundraisers, and blood drives come at least once every 2 months, i strongly recommend Olympic Heights over any of the schools in Boca Raton, FL.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

I studies in this school all my four years and I absolutely loved it. This school went from being a very 'low grade' school to being an A school in a matter of one year. The staff is great and the school spirit is incredible. Thae really try to stand out by helping out (raising money for Cancer research) every year. Overall I had a great experience and so did my youger brother who still attends it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

This is the best public high school I have ever been to! OH is a second home to me! I would love to come back and teach here one day!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

Olympic Heights is an excellent school for your child. It did have a poor reputation at one point but it has got better over the years. I love olympic heights, im only a freshman and i love it so far. The teachers are very helpful and they really do care about your learning environment. They do take control and will love to see you successful. I would choose Olympic over any school in Palm Beach County. No school can compare, literally. So don't pay attention to the reviews from years ago. Read the recent ones :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2009

OH is fantastic, I actually can call it my second home now! I am involved with numerous activities and always support my school. The pep rallies home games are alot of fun and I feel that we are the most spirited school in District 10.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

I think this is a a beyond 5 star rated school because their is so many great extracurricular activites and so many opportunites you can make here. The guidence department is like your best friend there. They will help you no matter what and the school spirit is susplendous. Everyone is wearing their school motto,sports shirts from the school, having pride, and we have great pep rallys with cheerleading, hip hop team, band and more. We have some of the best sports players here including my brother who ranked 1st in the state out of all schools in tennis and many more people who became successful here.They allow you to use lockers, have a nice drama department, honor society, and the principal is fully dedicated to making our school one of the best. Our school is one of the top five biggest schools in Palm Beach County and more and.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

I'm a Senior at this schoo, I moved here in the second semmester of my Junior year. The school has a friendly environment and grows to be a better school as the year progresses. I moved here from a different country and automatically fell in love with this schools tradition and ability to make a student the best they can be. The teachers really relate to the students on a one-to-one basis. The guidance department isn't the best but they do try their best. I give this school 2 thumbs up for capturing my heart and helping me progress into a better student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2008

we're an A school now. Because our students are dedicated, the teachers care, and staff support everyone. best school, hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

This school is wonderful. My children love thier school. The teachers are great, and my children are getting an excellent education. Tops in Boca because of it's caring, spirit, size, and excellent programs and academics. Best school overall in Boca, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

443 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

483 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

472 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

461 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

295 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

500 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
72%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

497 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

476 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 33%
Black 14%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%73%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVE CLARK
Fax number
  • (561) 852-6974

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20101 Lyons Road
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 852-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT