Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,008 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Olympic Heights Community High School 4

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The OAPA program gives the kids a forum for high academic achievement. There are many good teachers in all subjects but they need more talent in their science and math departments.

Olympic Heights Community High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Deborah Posner is a top notch English teacher who stands out among her peers. Not only does she prepare her kids for 5's on AP exams, she is engaging and fun! To ice the cake she truly cares about the kids she teaches and they love her for it. There were many other good teachers along the way but Mrs. Posner wins the award for best teacher in all 12 years of my daughters education.


Olympic Heights Community High School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
It's excellent!! I would highly recommend it for any child. My kids have great experiences here.

Olympic Heights Community High School 4

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
i would like to know more about this school, I would like to know if the school test grades are getting better now that they have a new principal

Olympic Heights Community High School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
[Olympic Heights is a great school] The teachers are super helpful and they love to see their students succeed.


Olympic Heights Community High School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a student
I think that Olympic Heights is a great school and I'm in 2 AP and 2 Honor classes; I find that my school is suitable and I fit in very nicely.

Olympic Heights Community High School 2

Posted December 18, 2013
- a community member
Guidance counselor who is in charge of T-Z is absolutely terrible. Lacks interest and commitment in students and seems to lack any motivation for her job. Administration seems to be far more into the money making business than the education one. They prioritize making sure that no fundraiser disrupts the cash flow of their vending machines than helping students. Olympic Heights is the only school in the Boca Raton area that lacks a PhD in the teaching department, which I believe is because they are paid extra. Instead the money that could go towards adequate teachers is going towards more money making electronics which seem to be unsuccessful and a nuisance. Yet there are many positives to this school as well as at least half of the teachers are actually there for the students well-being and truly want the child to pass. The other half are the type of teachers who just give out worksheets and sit on their desks.

Olympic Heights Community High School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
Olympic Heights is a great school. My daughter is a freshman enrolled in an Academy, and loves school. She is doing very well with her AP class and all of her other Honors Classes. She is in the Marching Band which is very demanding but she really loves the band. Band may the transition to High School very easy as she knew other students from the mini camp in June, and the full camp in August. The band is wonderful experience. She has learned organization and how to set her priorities while still having lots of fun. The band director is amazing as well as all of her teachers. The administration is excellent and friendly. The diversity of this school reflects real life and only adds to the HS experience. I would recommend this school and their advanced programs to anyone. My only negative comment is that I wish more parents would be involved in the school supporting what their children are participating in.


Olympic Heights Community High School 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
My son loves this school. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. We are new to the ares but they made us and my son feel welcome. The registration process of my son's intake was swift and efficient. The only one snag is that it took them awhile to get the bus sorted. But I am not going to degrade their outstanding service for a bus. They have excellent programs for children with disability. The specialist teacher is excellent - keeping me abreast of my son's progress and how is settling in his new setting. This school is more that 5 Star!

Olympic Heights Community High School 2

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
My son hates the block schedule and I agree. How can you expect a teenager to sit in each class for 2 hours. We all know that it is almost impossible for a teacher to teach straight for 2 hours. Most of the kids get bored therefore putting there heads down. Not enough classwork is given to keep the kids occupied for 2 hours. DO AWAY WITH BLOCK SCHEDULE. New principle has no involvement with students

Nearby schools

Olympic Heights Community High School
20101 Lyons Road, Boca Raton, FL  33434
(561) 852-6900
Last modified Olympic Heights Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top