Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waters Edge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 811 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2010

If you like teachers that only teach to the FCAT, yell and demean children, and teachers that for the most part do not utilize Edline and do not communicate, then this is the school for you. The new Principal has his work cut out for him that is for sure. He really needs to clean house, because the last Principal did not back her students or parents and allowed bad behavior by teachers that would get kids in big trouble. Teachers that use foul language and refer to other teacher's kids as animals is another example. Don't let an A grade for any school fool you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I was just reading the latest posting about a child receiving an intentional head injury and was totally stunned. The same exact incident happened to my child at Waters Edge back in October and I had to involve the police and my pediatrician as wekk because the principal at that time did nothing. My child continues to be bullied and the bullies have actually started to verbally attact my other children there. So much for our children feeling safe at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

This is a school that is completely focused on their 'gifted' program as well as keeping as clean of a record as possible. My child received an intentional head injury from another student and the school did nothing until I reached out to the Police and our pediatricians. If you are not in the gifted program or are faced with any degree of bullying that is alive and well here, you are done!! There's a lot of smoke & mirrors here so don't let the 10 on 10 rating fool you like it did me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

The teachers are awesome!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

We are new to this school and while am impressed by many things, I am heatrng too much about FCAT and not enough about learning. Hopefully this will change as the year progresses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

I have two kids in 2nd and 4th grade and the tearcher are fantastic specially Mrs. Ososkie from 4th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

went to visit the school for kindergarten and was dissappointed at the sterile and coldness of the school. The principal was more worried about what my pre k kid should know before entering kindergarten than what she was going to teach my child. I want to re-think my options before going there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

We have been at Waters Edge for 10 years now with two children progressing through the program. The school has won several awards and has many good points. However, communication between the school and home is lacking at times, the children are often overwhelmed with hours of homework each night and all they hear is FCAT, FCAT, FCAT. The students work very hard here and deserve recognition BUT enough is enough. 4th and 5th grades especially are so focused on results and scores that they seem to forget about the overall well being of the kids. Nothing is perfect but in our past decade at WEE, we have noticed ever increasing classroom stress and emphasis on achievement that, while present in all schools, is predominant at WEE. All nose to the grindstone and no joy makes for stressed children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

2008 National Blue Ribbon of Excellence Award! (Only 13 in the entire State of Florida!) 'A' Plus school last 4 consecutive years. Principal, Accredited Teachers, Staff, and Parent Innvolvement is examplary in every area. Students are well prepared for Middle School! I have my 2nd Child at Waters Edge. My 1st attended W.E.E. from Kindergarten through 5th grade, whom is now off to High School. Palm Beach County Schools have been constantly improving through the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

Sure, the school rates well on the FCAT and earning a blue ribbon. However, the emphasis on performing well for tests overtakes the curriculum - with incredible amounts of homework that's truly detrimental to home life. The stress level is very high to perform - there is no joy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

i loved going there for my 5 years of all great teachers and the excellent food they cook in the cafeteria i wish i can go there again but now i`m off to middle school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

We recently moved from out of state and I am disappointed with this school. The principal is more concerned with political issues and FCAT scores, than with her students and their best interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

Waters Edge used to be a great school. We as parents are very unwelcome upon entering. We are the only school in Boca to have these very controlled guidelines. These strict rules are imposed by our Principal. The FCAT preparation is out of control and consuming the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

This school only teaches to the FCAT. They seem to not be interested in making education a well rounded experience. There is however great kindergarten teachers and good after school activities. The parents are involved alot, which is good. Too bad the principal never addresses any issues fully. She will 'Yes' the situation and then let it fall by the way side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Excellent School! Friendly staff, good kids!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2006

My child has attended both Waters Edge and DelPrado gifted program. Waters Edge seems to follow the philosophy as an accelerated learning rpogram. Del Pardo follows and enrichment learning program. Home work and stress level is lower at Del Prado. Waters Edge has a committed PTA. We enjoyed our time time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

We just moved out of state and had a child at this school. I tried to help the PTO and if you dont do it there way, they dont call you back. Its a shame. Overall it was a decent school. Im glad I am leaving Florida. The schools are not great and the PTA women deserve each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

I have two children @ Watersedge, for the most part I am pleased with their development, especially the 4th grade honors program. I do wish the teachers would keep up with edline, so I as a divorced father could keep up with their assignments, maybe too much to expect? I also wish that the teachers in 4th grade honors wouldnt demand so much homework,gives little time for them to be kids. I do like that they challenge the kids in the honors( gifted) program , it is very good prep for middleschool, and the FCAT grades show that. My only problem is with the second grade, non gifted program, we as parents need constant feedback from the teachers on our kids weakness' and strenghts, however,considering Watersedge is a public school, I cannot complain, in all honesty, I feel the school is better than most private schools I am aware of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

My two children have gone to Waters Edge for 5 years and I could not be happier. The teachers are terrific and it is very well run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

Excellent parent involvement this school which helps make the academics quality high. Safe secure nurturing environment. Morale among teachers not as good this year as it was a couple years ago, but teachers appear dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 6%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21601 Shorewind Drive
Boca Raton, FL 33428
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 852-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT