Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waters Edge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 810 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2006

I think Waters edge is doing a great job with the kids, the teachers really seem to care,and the school is considered an 'A' rated school by State standards. My child is in the 'gifted' progam, depending on your teacher, the homework load is too much, often spending up to 3 hrs doing homework. A little consitency with the other teachers workload seems appropriate. However,with that said, my child is blossiming into the real world, time management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My son has attended this school since 2nd grade. He is in the gifted program and has experienced a tremendous amount of growth. My only concern is there wasn't any continuation from 2 to 3rd grade. A tremendous amount of emphasis was placed on writing in 2nd grade and hardly any in 3rd. By the time my son went to fourth he almost had to start over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Great elementary program, good, caring teachers, facilities are more than adequate, many after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2004

I just finished 5th grade last year. It is a good school and from my two years spent there I say that the Strict but nice Mrs. Milano helped prepare me well for middle school. It is so easy now M.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Although we have only been at this school for one year, we are very happy with the teaching staff and our daughter's progress. They have been wonderful with fulfilling our special needs as our daughter has diabetes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Close by to our home, that's a plus! Our teacher was fairly new at the school, gaining experience. Other school related activities ran very smoothly, and the front staff is great and extremely helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

We moved to Florida from NJ. This school is horrible. My son entered the 5th grade and we pulled him out in the middle of the year. The school is extremely overcrowded. There is no money even for portable classrooms. Palm Beach County is supposed to be one of the best school districts in Florida...hah! All they do in Florida is study for the FCAT. There is no computer program and no room for alot of other learning due to the need to teach to the test (FCAT). And frankly the private schools stink as well. We are moving out of this state because we care about our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2003

A phenomenal school led by a great principal and teaching staff. Every teacher is dedicated to providing the best for our children. Unlike the other review I think the gifted program is beneficial to our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2003

Dedicated administrative and professional staff. Clean, safe campus, consistently 'A' rated school. Strong parent involvement. Best elementary school in Palm Beach County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

Overall a very good school. Unfortunately like most FL schools their main focus is to 'teach' the students how to do well on the FCAT exam. Gifted program (this is a school district issue) should be replaced by enrichment classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 19% 29%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21601 Shorewind Dr
Boca Raton, FL 33428
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 852-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT