Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joan Of Arc School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Respect? These kids are SCARED of adults-- elderly school-marm types in particular. What they are absolutely learning is to fear questioning authority, and to not trust those in authority. That's too bad.

St Joan Of Arc School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
I feel like we are constantly learning lessons in unfairness and by group punishment. I suppose that's life.


St Joan Of Arc School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Although the school aims to follow the teachings of the Lord, no one is perfect I suppose. Some teachers at SJA have a difficult time teaching with kindness and fairness. They seem cranky and short and have little patience for young children. Some of the teachers at SJA would do better to teach in college where they don't have to deal with kids.

St Joan Of Arc School 4

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Meh. I should probably elaborate. Our children have been at SJA for many years. Some things about this school are good, some aren't so great. The curriculum is quite rigorous and our kids are excelling. However, classes are jam-packed with kids thus behavior problems run rampant and take up more class time than we'd like. We're not surprised then that teacher attrition is through the roof.

St Joan Of Arc School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Saint Joan has a program called "That's Not Fair!" where the students learn about current issues like racism and poverty. This is up and above their religion classes and regular mass.


St Joan Of Arc School 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
St. Joan of Arc School and Church is a welcoming and caring community. My two sons graduated and moved smoothly into Boca Raton High, enrolling mostly in AP courses. They left with solid skills in Math and English which helped them excel in the AP courses that have become the norm for college bound students. Last year's Boca High co-salutatorian is attending MIT. Another alumni, Vassar. My daughter is in the sixth grade and I'm impressed with the math, English and reading skills she has mastered. Even their library time is used to teach how to research subjects. But St. Joan also nurtures character, where children are treated with love and respect and they are respectful and kind to each other. Just walk through the school for a few minutes to experience this. My wife has been a homeroom mom several times and worked in the office on occasion. She always returns home with some story of something nice a child or parent said. Class sizes now are in the mid to low 20's. Every school has issues but I have always found that St. Joan works as quickly as possible to address these. We've been at STJ for 15 years and it has been our home away from home. Tour the school. You'll see!

St Joan Of Arc School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
I think the new principal, Mrs.Roberts, is working very hard to make St. Joan a best in class school. She has taken over from a principal who lend for 35 years. It's a tough job to maintain the old and introduce the new and she's doing a great job. Thank you Mrs. Roberts.

St Joan Of Arc School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at STJ must prove themselves. If they don't perform they are given help and the administration works with them. If that fails they are not invited back and in a few instances this may happen during the year. The teachers are loving and most are very effective. But that's at any school. Poor performance does not go on for long. The parents won't put up with it. It's Boca.


St Joan Of Arc School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
I had one son whose mind tended to wander at school. He came home with plenty of homework. The other son was a wiz, he got most of it done at school. It really depends on how determine you child is to stick to the task and "get er done."

St Joan Of Arc School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
STJ recently added a chapter for the National Junior Honor society. They have also added several enrichment programs like French, cooking and Toastmasters. The children are encouraged to move outside their comfort zone. Every year the perform a live Passion for the middle school. It takes grit to carry that cross.

Nearby schools

St Joan Of Arc School
501 Southwest 3rd Avenue, Boca Raton, FL  33432
(561) 392-7974
Last modified St Joan Of Arc School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top