Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
710 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Donna Klein Jewish Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Through the incredible community service program at DKJA, students are given the opportunity to help others. Developing compassionate, caring and empathetic students are all a part of the mission at Donna Klein.

Donna Klein Jewish Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
We have been very happy with the education our children have been receiving at DKJA. Not only do they focus on the academics, but also on social emotional learning and building positive relationships and social skills. Bringing in programs such as "The Leader in Me", and the ADL program "No Place for Hate" has shown us that there is an emphasis on educating the whole child at DKJA. Parent programs are offered on different issues such as cyber safety and raising resilient children which have been very helpful. There is a true partnership between the school personnel at all levels and the parents. We could not have been happier with our choice to join the DKJA family 10 years ago, and look forward to continuing at DKJA until our children graduate from the high school.


Donna Klein Jewish Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My children have been attending this school since they were in Kindergarten. The academic rigor, the solid Jewish education, the exposure to the arts, and the emphasis on developing compassionate leaders has made this school the ideal location for my family. The teachers are academically challenging while at the same time nurturing and supportive of varying learning styles and needs. For a "small" school, there are a tremendous number of activities ranging from athletics to the arts to robotics. The student services department is outstanding, led by Mrs. Siegel, who has always made herself available to our children and has gone above and beyond for our family when in need. Being aware of what is offered in the public school setting, or rather, what is no longer offered, I am amazed at how the students are exposed to all of the arts. I have enjoyed hearing from my children about special programs such as "Meet the Masters" which teaches them about art history. This is just one example of how the school emphasizes the development of a well-rounded student...not just one who is prepared for "test taking". Although I have always been happy with the school, under the current leadership, the school has demonstrated an openness to innovation; continuing to build upon the school's foundation to prepare students for the 21st century.

Donna Klein Jewish Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Although I think most, if not all, not the staff at DKJA deserve "thanks", I would like to acknowledge Mrs. Sydney Siegel. Not only has she addressed topics with the students that would make most others blush, she does it with openness, honesty and sincerity allowing for my children and their friends to feel comfortable addressing any questions and/or concerns...not always seen with middle school children. She has always been available for my kids and for us whenever we had a concern. She embraces her role and is truly passionate about making a difference...which she does!

Donna Klein Jewish Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I strongly believe that in addition to the outstanding education my children are receiving, they are also developing the skills necessary to be valued members of society. There is an emphasis on creating a culture that is open and safe. The school infuses character education throughout the subjects, and uses bullying prevention models to help educate students to stand-up for themselves and each other. The school adopted a program a few years back called "The Leader in Me" which further emphasizes the skills of honesty, integrity, and fairness in all their interactions.


Donna Klein Jewish Academy 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The overall school is fantastic, but what we’ve been most impressed with is the Judaic curriculum. The entire Judaic staff have exceeded all of our expectations and teach an enriched curriculum that emphasizes the core values of Judaism. Through their leadership, they have created an all inclusive environment that has allowed our child to truly connect with the Jewish community.

Donna Klein Jewish Academy 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
This school has the unique feature of offering an excellent academic curriculum, together with a strong Judaic program, while still maintaining a warm nurturing environment. Teachers form strong bonds with their students, and cater to a variety of learning styles. The administration are progressive and are always seeking to introduce innovative, creative and current initiatives. The athletics offerings for an independent school are strong as well. I strongly recommend this as one of the leading Jewish Community schools in the country.

Donna Klein Jewish Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Students are taught to trust their own judgement, they are encouraged to try again when they fall short of reaching their goals. They learn from these experiences to remain motivated and determined in life skills.


Donna Klein Jewish Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Students are taught from a young age about charity, giving back and kindness. Along with these traits, respect is brought to the forefront in all areas of their learning.

Donna Klein Jewish Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The warm nurturing environment that this school offers, along with themes of respect and kindness, allows students to develop these same values and qualities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Donna Klein Jewish Academy
9701 Donna Klein Boulevard, Boca Raton, FL  33428
(561) 852-3310
Last modified Donna Klein Jewish Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Donna Klein Jewish Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top