Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Andrew's School

Private | PK-12 | 1280 students

We are best known for educating students in mind, body, & spirit.
 
 

 
 

Living in Boca Raton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

teachers child is always prior than your child, this is the rule. believe or not, just take a look 1st and 2nd grade you will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2014

Maybe the education is good (not great!) BUT the people who are attending this school.....If you want you're child to be surrounded by people who think they are better just because they have more money, this is the place to be. They learn that having money means you got more respect. The frase "do good, don't look back", they still have to learn that. Another person already said this: snotty people. The education and environment is very strict, the child isn't respected as child. They can't be themselves, they are turned in to what the school and the parents with influance (read money) think is good. The rule by fear. They are really very very nice to you when you are concidering this school, after admission....you are on you're own! Find another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Saint Andrew's School is a warm and nurturing environment where teachers take a personal interest in their students. I have been a parent here for 6 years, and my daughter loves school; she loves her teachers, her friends, the campus, the lunch. :) The programs are enriched, and we particularly enjoy the global perspective of the school. I am happy to have my daughter in a safe school with a vibrant curriculum and dedicated teachers. I am a working Mom, I get help with tuition, and I'm grateful to be part of the SAS family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

This school is full of very snotty people who hold people of low socioeconomic status at a very low level of respect. The admissions staff were initially very nice, but once they found out my daughter would need financial aid to attend they were very rude and eventually just stopped helping us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I have attended Saint Andrew's since sixth grade. My journey here can be described as a life-changing experience. This school has provided me with a rigorous program that focuses on mind, body, and spirit. As a college-bound senior, it surprises me that some individuals have complaints about this wonderful school. Teachers are almost always available for extra help and the campus is expansive and scenic. I highly recommend Saint Andrew's to any student who would like to receive a first-rate education while being part of an incredible, diverse student body. GO SCOTS!


Posted February 2, 2013

I rate my personal expierence with the institution as unsatisfactory. As a boarding student, I the program is incredibly overpriced for how underdeveloped it is. The dormitory is quite tarnished, and the daily van runs are quite repetitive. The expierence of living with individuals from arond the world can be quite interesting. specially since everyone brings a different culture to the table. The sad thing is that all of our cultures that makes us unique are all supressed into a linear, black and white thinking. The teachers only percieve black and white, and all students who see colors in between are often segregated by the authorities themselves. education is the same as in a public institution, just with fewer students. This is definetly not a school for liberal arts, and I would strongly suggest any boarding student to think twice before enrolling in such a school. The institution may have a good reputation, but t is nothing like its pedigree.


Posted December 18, 2012

I attenten St. Andrews in it's very earily years graduating in 1966. I have watched this excellent institution grow into the amazing place it is today. This post isto all of those, who many years ago, gave us the building blocks we now stand on. To all the earily students, thank you for your friendship and brotherhood. I was a bording student and enjoyed it very much. To all the current students, enjoy your experience now and I promise you you will cherrish it forever. To the parents, thank you for your commitment to your childs education you will never regret anything. Now to everyone Merry Christmas,Happy New Year,and GO SCOTS!!!


Posted August 15, 2012

I went to St. Andrew's for Upper School and had an amazing experience. If you work hard and want to do well academically, you will thrive. I will be attending my first choice school this fall. If you slack and do not try in your classes, yes you will end up at FSU. Money has a strong influence in the school; however, it did not hinder my academic or athletic success. My parents did not donate a significant amount to the school and I still had a lot of great opportunities and unforgettable experiences.


Posted January 19, 2012

If you want to attend a school on a beautiful campus with beautiful buildings this is the school for you. After that there are inflated egos, a stiff presence and no real discipline. I have never seen students be so disrespectful to teachers and walk around with such a sense of entitlement. They have a student body filled with issues and they have no idea how to handle it because there parents donate a lot of money. I have transferred my child to another school and I honestly can't believe the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I attended St. Andrew's for all of high school. Here, I received an excellent education that truly prepared me for college. I am now a senior in college and will be graduating as a member of phi beta kappa with a 4.0 gpa and will be continuing on to medical school. I contribute all of my academic success in college to the solid academic foundation that I received from St. Andrew's. Attending this institution is an honor as well as privilege, and has provided many with great rewards!


Posted February 19, 2011

Our children are thriving at Saint Andrew s, and we are so happy with the education they are receiving. From the rigorous curriculum (including Spanish and Mandarin instruction, challenging math groups, an amazing science lab, and now International Baccalaureate) to the nurturing environment (including two teachers in each classroom, a virtues program, and an honor code), we know that our children are truly growing in mind, body, and spirit. Our children are in the Lower School, and we can only imagine the great things that await them in Middle and Upper School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

If you want high tuition, beautiful buildings, and your kid to go to Florida Sate as your reach school, this is the place for you. Academically inferior, highly inflated self views. Mind, body and spirit but low education. Want your kid to get attention, donate, donate, donate. OH, more attention paid to lacrosse than math program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

attended St. Andrew s for 4 years as a boarder and found the experience to be very fulfilling. Sure the boarding side is underfunded, and there is a little too much of a focus on material possessions, but I found the teachers to be very skilled and the facilities to be top notch. I cannot speak as to the quality of the lower and middle schools, but I would absolutely recommend the upper school to any rising student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2009

This school has an inflated opinion of itself. Their illusions of grandeur are astonishing. Saint Andrew's thinks of itself as a high class boarding school. Sure, it has the nice buildings that would be associated with such a school. But an academic institution is not about its buildings alone. There is absolutely no value placed on teaching in this place. The few teachers who are good are too stretched out to really show their skills. Sports are a priority, but there are no intramurals offered to teach students how to play them. In short, Saint Andrew's is a collection of beautiful, state of the art, modern facilities with no one inside who knows what to do with them. I wasted too much time here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2009

Such a good school, so much better than Pine Crest or any other private school in South Florida. Also.. people writing these reviews need to learn how to spell definitely. kthxbye
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I can only say the best things about Saint Andrew's School. Both of my children are in Lower School and have ONLY had positive experiences. The campus is one of the largest and most beautiful in the USA. The teachers and faculty share such a sense of pride and truly get to know your child as an individual each year. I have read the other comments about how the wealth of a lot of the families here at Saint Andrew's comes across in a negative way. That is completely untrue. I believe that no matter what school your in, everything stems from parent involvement in order to make your child's experience a great one. I would like to thank all of the families who have endowed Saint Andrew's and made it the wonderful school it is today!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I have been a student at Saint Andrews for 8 years. Saint Andrews is a good school but teaches kids to only value money. Also, it is extremely difficult to be placed in honors and AP classes in the high school. Last year I had all A-'s and B+'s so I was only able to be placed in 2 honors courses this year. Saint Andrews is hurting their students chances of getting into good colleges. I cannot wait to go to a different school next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

This school is defenitley the best school in Boca Raton. It offers the highest quality of everything. I would be so greatful if i were able to attend this school.


Posted October 17, 2008

My daughter just started in the JK program and SA has exceeded our expectations already. It's really a unbelievable school with a beautiful campus and most importantly excellent teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

This is the best school in south Florida. My child has gone to the Lower, Middle and is now in the Upper School. It has been an amazingly positive educational experience. The upper school is living up to it's outstanding reputation and my child is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Pennsylvania
Vanderbilt University
University of Florida
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Peter Benedict
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (561) 210-2007

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Investment Club
  • Junior Achievement
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer at Special Events
More from this school
  • Saint Andrew's School, located on a picturesque 80-acre campus five miles from the Atlantic Ocean in South Florida, offers a rigorous, college-preparatory program with honors, Advanced Placement, and the International Baccalaureate coursework. Three full-time college guidance officers are available to provide one-on-one counsel to our students through the competitive college process. Saint Andrew’s is proud to be one of six schools in the United States selected to the Round Square Association.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 01, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$19000 - $40000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Pennsylvania
Vanderbilt University
University of Florida
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Jog Rd
Boca Raton, FL 33434
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 210-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Addison Academy
Boca Raton, FL





The Harid Conservatory
Boca Raton, FL


Omni Middle School
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT